ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-19-2013, 07:20 AM   #3556
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 4,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeeede View Post
Hey Sanjoh,

Just noticed that the lenses on both of my Model 44's I bought about a month ago have cracked. Any way to get replacement lenses?

Have you been getting roosted

Please contact me at sandjoh@gmail.com
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 01:16 PM   #3557
Number6
mad as hell
 
Number6's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: the road- currently Mendocino Interior
Oddometer: 30
weight and complexity

If you mean the headlight guard, it came on the bike.

And I figure the more weight over the front wheel the better right.
__________________
#6
06 DR-Z400s
95 KLR650- Sold
75 CB550K1- Too far away to ride
76 850T-3- Sold
Number6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 06:30 PM   #3558
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 4,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Number6 View Post
If you mean the headlight guard, it came on the bike.

And I figure the more weight over the front wheel the better right.
Well in that case, go for it. I thought you were purchasing the guard.

I find the front end a bit heavy on the Z, I ride mine in the sand often. The front end tends to push, unlike other bikes that I have.
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 06:55 PM   #3559
Mike Honcho
Got Beaver?
 
Mike Honcho's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: 90 MPH down a dead end road...
Oddometer: 2,363
Christmas is right around the corner.... a set of M60's are on my list. Just waiting on a "sale".

Love my 30's..... ready for my 60's.
__________________
The secret to a long relationship: Keep the fights clean and the sex dirty.
Mike Honcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 07:51 PM   #3560
SoilSampleDave
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: The Delta Ghetto, GA (aka PTC)
Oddometer: 1,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjoh View Post
Well in that case, go for it. I thought you were purchasing the guard.

I find the front end a bit heavy on the Z, I ride mine in the sand often. The front end tends to push, unlike other bikes that I have.
Keep a fresh knobby on the front and a worn one on the back...should balance the push out.
__________________
Don't drive like my brother!

'13 350EXC-F
SoilSampleDave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 08:16 PM   #3561
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 4,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoilSampleDave View Post
Keep a fresh knobby on the front and a worn one on the back...should balance the push out.
Usually just ride the 300 2t, it doesn't care what surface it is on
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 09:30 PM   #3562
Number6
mad as hell
 
Number6's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: the road- currently Mendocino Interior
Oddometer: 30
Or you could put a 4.50 x 18 rear wheel on the front and back like the PO of my DRZ. Not sure how it performs in sand though, as I am properly landlocked. I was surprised at how well it handled in rutted dirt. But back to the thread at hand:

Are there pics of the Yamaha replacement of original headlight? I think even better than a 62, I might be able to mount a 60 and a 61 in the stock headlight space in place of the original headlamp.

And then they'd be behind the guard for all the roost I will be getting.
__________________
#6
06 DR-Z400s
95 KLR650- Sold
75 CB550K1- Too far away to ride
76 850T-3- Sold

Number6 screwed with this post 09-20-2013 at 12:58 AM Reason: to better explainiate myself
Number6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 07:00 AM   #3563
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 4,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Number6 View Post
Are there pics of the Yamaha replacement of original headlight?
Drilled hole in plastic headlight lens.


Opened up the rear of the stock light housing using a dremel to fit the threaded section of the light through. The curvature of the stock headlight reflector did not allow LED light to sit flat, so only a few threads reached the rear of the headlight. I added some quiksteel to the bed the light on the interior of the headlight reflector, used a bit different heatsink than standard.



The stock headlight housing is tiny, just over 2" tall, I didn't think the light would fit so I'm happy with the outcome. Especially after riding in the dark last night
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 03:59 PM   #3564
max384
Disgruntled Student
 
max384's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Sugar Notch, PA
Oddometer: 3,220
I just bought a model 60 to go with my two model 30s. The model 30s aren't on a relay and are controlled with a separate switch.

For the single model 60, I'd like to wire it so that it only comes on when the high beams are on. I don't want a separate switch for it. Basically, I want that to become part of the high beams. When the highs are flicked on, I want this on, when they're flicked off, I want this off. I didn't buy the dimmer switch with hi beam bypass because I don't want/need that feature.

Can I just splice into the high beam wires?

Or would I need some sort of relay?

Could anyone draw up a wiring diagram for me? All of the diagrams I've come across aren't for my situation. Thanks.
__________________
'09 Suzuki SV650, '02 KLR250, CRF70 and 80 for the kids IBA # 56419

Newfoundland 2012

James Bay 2014
max384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 11:39 PM   #3565
George 99
Studly Adventurer
 
George 99's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman, Arizona
Oddometer: 772
Max, If it were me, I'd take the power from your high beam switch to toggle a 30 amp relay then feed the output to power both your headlight high beam and John's W60. Use 14 ga. wire from your battery thru a separate 30 amp fuse into the relay and 16 or 18 ga. to each of the lights. Easy enuff to wire up.

Keep us posted.
__________________
George
Sometimes in Kingman, Arizona
George 99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 11:44 PM   #3566
George 99
Studly Adventurer
 
George 99's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman, Arizona
Oddometer: 772
(John, on a side note, I wired my 60 direct thru my high beam switch and the 44 thru the dimmer. Each is operated thru a 30 amp relay. I found the cut-off from the dimmer, no diode in that piece of wire.)
__________________
George
Sometimes in Kingman, Arizona
George 99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 06:38 PM   #3567
max384
Disgruntled Student
 
max384's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Sugar Notch, PA
Oddometer: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by George 99 View Post
Max, If it were me, I'd take the power from your high beam switch to toggle a 30 amp relay then feed the output to power both your headlight high beam and John's W60. Use 14 ga. wire from your battery thru a separate 30 amp fuse into the relay and 16 or 18 ga. to each of the lights. Easy enuff to wire up.

Keep us posted.
I'm pretty ignorant when it comes to 12V wiring that is more complicated than wiring something directly to the battery. I'm pretty sure this isn't a complicated wiring job... But it is for me! Is there any way that you (or anyone) could draw up a schematic? Sorry to be a pain!
__________________
'09 Suzuki SV650, '02 KLR250, CRF70 and 80 for the kids IBA # 56419

Newfoundland 2012

James Bay 2014
max384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 06:44 PM   #3568
Jnich77
Studly Adventurer
 
Jnich77's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Orlando Fl
Oddometer: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjoh View Post
Drilled hole in plastic headlight lens.

Man, that is awesome!!
Jnich77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 07:47 PM   #3569
SteveO
Huh???
 
SteveO's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Land of Disenchantment
Oddometer: 1,188
Wiring Schematic

Quote:
Originally Posted by max384 View Post
I'm pretty ignorant when it comes to 12V wiring that is more complicated than wiring something directly to the battery. I'm pretty sure this isn't a complicated wiring job... But it is for me! Is there any way that you (or anyone) could draw up a schematic? Sorry to be a pain!

Here is a schematic I just finished for hooking up a couple of LED lights, and integrating switches and LED lights into an HDB Top Clamp.

__________________
.................................................. ....................................
NMOHVA.ORG - Help to keep your trails open!

Life is a mist in the wind, here today and gone tomorrow; know who you are and where you are going after you pass through death's door.

SteveO screwed with this post 09-24-2013 at 07:13 AM
SteveO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:29 AM   #3570
George 99
Studly Adventurer
 
George 99's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman, Arizona
Oddometer: 772
SteveO, that's a great diagram. I'm doing similar to my DRZ right now. My diagram is pencil on paper. Did you set up a negative system? (Just kidding. on my diagram, my head lights are on the left. :) )

Your wiring in the next pic looks similar too. Rat's nest! So far, everything works tho.

Max, wiring is just another skill. Either learn how and pay thru the nose. I'm cheap. (Plus, I've worked with low-voltage, house-hold, aircraft and telco wiring since 1965. I don't claim to be a pro at any of it (now retired) but muscle memory seems to get me thru the process.)

SteveO's diagram is good if complex. (Not complicated, there is a big diff.) Just isolate out the part ya need and work from there.

Most relays (which you will want to put in, trigger thru bike wiring and toggle switch; load to the lights direct from a fused lead from the battery) have a diagram right on the side. You'll only use 4 terminals, trigger + and -, load voltage in and out. "Far" side of the lights go direct to ground.

The load requirement on the LED lights is small enuff you could probably get along without a relay, but doing it right the first time is just better.

Hope this helps a little. Keep us posted.
__________________
George
Sometimes in Kingman, Arizona
George 99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014