User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-06-2010, 11:18 PM   #1
Daily Rider OP
It is what it is

Oddometer: 117
Shoei RF 1100 VS Arai RX-Q

My current helmet is well over a decade old. I have started doing some research into a replacement and have narrowed it down to the above two. I am leaning towards the Shoei mainly because I have no experience with Arai. Is the Arai worth the extra $??? I commute daily on a sport tourer so I need a good all rounder. Any input
Daily Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 04:53 AM   #2
JohninVT
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 501
Testing conducted by independant labs has shown that many inexpensive helmets perform just as well or better than expensive, top of the line helmets. In some cases what you're getting for the extra 3-400 bucks is nicer finish, graphics and better plastics in the venting. While that may make those helmets "better", that does not mean they are any safer(despite what someone who believes Arai's ad copy says and who is more than a little proud of the fact they laid out 700 bucks for a helmet).

If you find the fit of a particular helmet suits your head especially well and it passes the standards you find important, that is the helmet to go with. Everything else is window dressing.

BTW-I have current Arai, Shoei, AGV, HJC and Bell helmets in the closet and I wear each for different reasons. My Shoei TZ-R is my favorite helmet because it's the quietest but it sucks in cool weather because it turns into a terrarium. My HJC CL-SP is a great cool weather commuter helmet because it vents well but the shell is large and on my Moto Guzzi 1200 Sport I get buffeting at 75mph on trips with it. They all have trade offs.

JohninVT screwed with this post 08-07-2010 at 04:59 AM
JohninVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 07:46 AM   #3
tremor38
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,420