ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-26-2004, 12:23 PM   #1
fire_strom OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
fire_strom's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Durango, CO
Oddometer: 1,258
A Thumper wants a Tach

I’ve googled my head off on this one and haven’t come up with much of anything. Has anyone added a tach to their LC4 or any other thumper? I know many out there are thinking why bother with a tach. Well I have no real reason except that I like them. And find them useful on occasion. The closest thing I have found is a Pro-Cycle from Auto Meter or something like that. I is cost prohibitive at over $200. They make many small cheap ones for cars that would be fine but they all specify that they work with 4, 6 or 8 cylinders. Is there a way to trick them into usefulness on a single?

Scott
fire_strom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 01:29 PM   #2
KTMRyder
throttle jockey
 
KTMRyder's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: KC
Oddometer: 3,817
Maybe something off of a go kart would work?
I used to race them a long time ago and you could get a tach with cylinder head temp or exhaust gas temp. they were digital or lcd at the time and worked pretty well.

Not sure what it would cost or if it would work, might be something to investigate.
KTMRyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 03:09 PM   #3
RideAbout
Mentally Retired
 
RideAbout's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Oddometer: 1,660
I got the optional Tach added to my KLR when I bought it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fire_strom
I’ve googled my head off on this one and haven’t come up with much of anything. Has anyone added a tach to their LC4 or any other thumper?
Snip...

Scott
__________________
West - "Oeste Sanchez"
RideAbout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 04:08 PM   #4
creeper
Still alive...
 
creeper's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Puget Sound
Oddometer: 10,718
Well lets see... There is "Tiny-Tach":

http://www.tinytach.com/tinytach/gasoline.php

and then there is Shindy Products:

http://www.shindypro.com/catalog/eac...ype.key24.html

Between these two companies, you should find something that suits your needs.

Creeper
__________________
So... how's tricks?
creeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 04:58 PM   #5
Norman Foley
Devotee of the Husqvarna
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: New York... the upstate part
Oddometer: 278
Husky TE610E comes with a tach standard.
Norman
Norman Foley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 05:07 PM   #6
fire_strom OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
fire_strom's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Durango, CO
Oddometer: 1,258
RPMystery

RideAbout what do you mean option on the KLR? I thought that was one of the good things you could say about KLR’s, that they had a tach, oh and a big tank. Anyway Creeper the shindy ones look pretty good. I would like an analog one if possible. To bad those ones go so high. I’d be fine with one that goes to 8-10k. Any idea on what they cost? I know many bikes come standard with a tach, mine doesn’t, hence the question. Thanks for the thoughts all. Any other ideas?

Scott
fire_strom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 06:11 PM   #7
dagwood
Banned
 
dagwood's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver, Not! BC...
Oddometer: 35,427
Start looking or calling around Motorcycle salvage yards and look fo something off any old thumper. KLr, old XL, TT's, Xt's old FMF harleys.
I did a search one time over at KTMTalk.com and came up with a few options new but most were digital and the analogs just went up in price. I think Siemans electronics? had the best analog but spendy. they are realy Digital converted to Analog display so you pay extra for the needle.
If you find a good mach give a yell, I'd like one too.
dagwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 06:29 PM   #8
dagwood
Banned
 
dagwood's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver, Not! BC...
Oddometer: 35,427
try this list...
moto salvage dealers
dagwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 08:16 PM   #9
lvdukerider
Las Vegas Nevada
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Oddometer: 523
Duke II comes stock with a analog tach that should work on any other LC4.
lvdukerider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 09:46 PM   #10
dagwood
Banned
 
dagwood's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver, Not! BC...
Oddometer: 35,427
Du'h WTF didn't I think of that.
Great idea. now to see about price.
dagwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2004, 12:10 PM   #11
fire_strom OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
fire_strom's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Durango, CO
Oddometer: 1,258
good thing it wasn't a snake

The Duke Tach! Of course. Did you get a price on those Dag? I haven't seen it, how big is it? I wondered if the ADV would be a donor, never thought of the Duke. Where would it hook in?
Scott
fire_strom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2004, 06:30 PM   #12
dagwood
Banned
 
dagwood's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver, Not! BC...
Oddometer: 35,427
99 DukeII
;



Cyclehutt KTM.
Quantity Item Number Description Price Extended
Click here to delete this item

58714075000 TACHOMETER DUKE `99 130.78 $130.78
Total: $130.78
That work? thumb...it's on my list.
dagwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2004, 06:42 PM   #13
dagwood
Banned
 
dagwood's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver, Not! BC...
Oddometer: 35,427
If you want to go all out the instrument cluster is ;

58714075000 TACHOMETER DUKE `99 130.78 $130.78
58714057100 SPEEDOMETER MILES DUKE `99 128.79 $128.79
58714070000 INSTRUMENTS COVER DUKE `99 14.44 $14.44
58711051000 INSTRUMENTS BRACKET DUKE `99 8.02 $8.02
58714067000 FOAM RUBBER RING 92X110X15 `99 4.50 $4.50
Total: $286.53

I bet it bolts right up and almost positive the tach wiring plugs right in. couple vacant plugs under the headlight mask. ;nod
The wiring harnes looks the same in the book to the DukeII
dagwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2004, 08:10 PM   #14
fire_strom OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
fire_strom's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Durango, CO
Oddometer: 1,258
Hats off to LVDukeRider and DagWood

Good work Dag, that might be the perfect answer. It is cheaper and better (for me) than some of the aftermarket dig tachs. I wonder if I could spin the odo to match the true miles? Oh and Dag I like the avatar but once when my wife walked in and yours was the only one showing she thought I was up to something naughty!
Scott
fire_strom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2004, 08:20 PM   #15
dagwood
Banned
 
dagwood's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver, Not! BC...
Oddometer: 35,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by fire_strom
Good work Dag, that might be the perfect answer. It is cheaper and better (for me) than some of the aftermarket dig tachs. I wonder if I could spin the odo to match the true miles? Oh and Dag I like the avatar but once when my wife walked in and yours was the only one showing she thought I was up to something naughty!
Scott

Just thought of something...the Duke has 17 inch wheels so the speedo would have to be recalibrated. (there are shops(or used to be) that do that) But the tach just runs off the coil, no biggiie. analog tachs all work the same, pulse generated

I like my Avatar too. My wife always wants to know who's sitting on my face "Why you dear, of course"
dagwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014