ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-17-2010, 12:59 PM   #1
steinline OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Oddometer: 49
Any ideas on how much to add TPM?

Looking at some used and new bikes, and I kind of want that feature (I know there's a lot on here that would say, forget it, but I want it)
steinline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 01:53 PM   #2
blatant
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: az
Oddometer: 530
what are you talking about? This isn't a Harley forum?
blatant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 01:57 PM   #3
itsforrest
Ugly bag of mostly water
 
itsforrest's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Cardboard box by the beach
Oddometer: 330
WTF is TPM

Ten Pretty Mirrors?

Toilet Paper Mod?

Tin Pirate Mask?

Tiny Pillow Mints?

???
__________________
The urge to buy terrorizes.
itsforrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 02:02 PM   #4
SbHelms
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Orange, CA
Oddometer: 26
Tire Pressure Monitoring

TPM is short for Tire Pressure Monitoring. Has a different name in the catalog. My understanding is that is difficult to add after the factory. My dealer said that it had to come from the factory. I was fortunate and had TPM on my unit.
__________________
2010 f650gs (aka f798gsa)
SbHelms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 02:06 PM   #5
itsforrest
Ugly bag of mostly water
 
itsforrest's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Cardboard box by the beach
Oddometer: 330
Ah, that makes sense.
__________________
The urge to buy terrorizes.
itsforrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 02:17 PM   #6
GeorgeinVA
Beemers Uber Alles
 
GeorgeinVA's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Manassas VA
Oddometer: 604
RDC is the other name. How much is it worth to you. Personally $0 but I am not buying or selling.Some the have to have it and will pay dearly for it, look at the price of after market set ups.
__________________
Beemers Uber Alles
9248 Mike Garcia Drive
Manassas Va 20109
(571) 318 2472
Indie BMW Maintenance
www.beemersuberalles.com
GeorgeinVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 02:41 PM   #7
TastyPants
Harasshole
 
TastyPants's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 226
Talking Points Memo? Thats what I know as TPM.

http://www.talkingpointsmemo.com/

EDIT: oops I was a little late. Had this thread open before a meeting and missed a couple resopnses. HA.
TastyPants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 03:12 PM   #8
LukasM
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: On a RTW ride - currently Central Asia
Oddometer: 5,379
The install of the actual hardware is very straightforward, especially if you are doing a tire change anyway. The problem is that the retrofit is not officially supported by BMW NA, so you will need to find a dealer who is willing and able to reprogram the computer. I have heard of other people having it done, and Joel Wiesman's regional BMW rep knew of several as well. We were never able to figure out any details, though.

http://f800riders.org/forum/showthread.php?t=31999

The parts are about $600 from BMW. If you want to give it a shot, I have both sensors and the control module and will sell them for half that. Don't need them any more as I put spoked wheels on my F650GS twin.
__________________
Currently going RTW on a KTM 690 Rally, trip blog: https://www.facebook.com/AroundTheWorldWithLukasM

Tracker: https://share.delorme.com/LukasMatzinger
LukasM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 08:24 PM   #9
GeorgeinVA
Beemers Uber Alles
 
GeorgeinVA's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Manassas VA
Oddometer: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by LukasM
The install of the actual hardware is very straightforward, especially if you are doing a tire change anyway. The problem is that the retrofit is not officially supported by BMW NA, so you will need to find a dealer who is willing and able to reprogram the computer. I have heard of other people having it done, and Joel Wiesman's regional BMW rep knew of several as well. We were never able to figure out any details, though.

http://f800riders.org/forum/showthread.php?t=31999
His bike had the RDC as a factory option and was adding the alarm.
To the best of my understanding (I was until May 1 2010 a BMW master certified motorcycle technician at a top 5 volume dealer) the RDC can only be added to a very small vin range. You are correct it is not currently supported by BMW. However if you have a bike that falls in the vin range and you have a dealer you keep the old GT1 program discs they can scrub the current version software out of the GT1 and reload the old version. From the point the operation is fairly straight forward. If you bike is outside the vin range you will need to hack into the GT1 software to allow the insulation.
If there is another way I would be very interested in how it has been done.
__________________
Beemers Uber Alles
9248 Mike Garcia Drive
Manassas Va 20109
(571) 318 2472
Indie BMW Maintenance
www.beemersuberalles.com
GeorgeinVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 03:19 AM   #10
JRWooden
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The great state of confusion
Oddometer: 4,204
I talked to the master tech at my local dealership and he said he'd try but offered no promises....

Then he told me that the battery in the wheel sensor units can not be replaced and that when the battery dies you have to buy a new sender unit for ~$200 USD. The batteries last 3 - 5 years based on use.

While I like the idea of the RDC/TPM and really would like to have it integrated into my dash... I'm kinda glad I didn't get it now.

I'll probably get one of these when I have time to focus on it:

http://www.webbikeworld.com/r4/tiregard-wireless-tpms/
JRWooden is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 07:35 AM   #11
GB
Mod Squad
 
GB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Oddometer: 55,809
I have this TPM on my 800GS:

www.doranmfg.com it works perfectly and is transferable to other bikes rather than sold with the bike.
__________________
ADV decals, patches & flag? Here
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 07:57 AM   #12
Nictrolis
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Nictrolis's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Dedham, MA
Oddometer: 204
What about these things?



Little pressure monitors, $5 each? Anybody tried them? I was going to buy a couple and see how well they work, but I can't remember what the recommended tire pressures are!
Nictrolis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 08:31 PM   #13
paladinwest
Been Around
 
paladinwest's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: BC Interior
Oddometer: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nictrolis
What about these things?



Little pressure monitors, $5 each? Anybody tried them? I was going to buy a couple and see how well they work, but I can't remember what the recommended tire pressures are!
They work great and I had those on all my vehicles until I changing brake pads on my K100RS. I was cleaning the rotors with brake clean and some of the brake clean dripped onto the pressure monitor valve cap, within a few seconds the plastic cap came loose from the metal part and the tire went flat in 30 seconds. I thought about the cap breaking loose on the road and decided that I would go back to the old valve caps.
__________________
'14 R1200 GSA - 20, '08 HP2 Sport - 10,000+, '08 R1200 GSA - 100,000 (gone to a new home), '90 R100GSPD - 100,000, '86 K100RS - 152,000
paladinwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 09:57 PM   #14
hammick
Beastly Adventurer
 
hammick's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Oddometer: 1,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gadget Boy
I have this TPM on my 800GS:

www.doranmfg.com it works perfectly and is transferable to other bikes rather than sold with the bike.
I have the Doran unit on my GSA and agree that it works great. I can get the pressures without having to move or ride the bike. The true lazy man's tire pressure system.
__________________
2015 R1200 GSA
2013 F800GT
2013 KTM 500 XC-W
hammick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 08:51 AM   #15
Nictrolis
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Nictrolis's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Dedham, MA
Oddometer: 204
Does the Doran unit take temperature into account? Or are you basically just waiting until you have cool tires to get a real number, and using that TPM as an OH $#!^ gauge any other time?
Nictrolis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014