ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2007, 10:55 AM   #181
Kawidad
Beastly Adventurer
 
Kawidad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Central Coast, Cal
Oddometer: 4,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by toolfan
The pressure in the tank shouldn't matter. Plus the tank is vented, so it shouldn't build up pressure.
The petcock has a diaphragm in it, when the engine produces vaccum (is on). You can make it work by sucking on the hose that goes from the carb to the back of the petcock. (Not the fuel hose, the other, smaller one) It sounds to me like yours is working correctly, but it sounds like your floats are set too high and they let too much fuel into the bowls
Or the needle and seat on the carb are worn and not shutting off the gas, allowing fuel in the line to overfill the carb.
__________________
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes? - Juvenal
(Who watches the watchers)
Kawidad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 09:14 AM   #182
quint7
I don't need a title
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Finger Lakes (Rochester) NY
Oddometer: 480
Videos of starting for Steve

Steve, I hope this works. I took two vids, one of me starting the bike cold (a good day.... day and a half since I last rode it) and it running at high idle/ full choke. The second vid is it at half choke (same idle speed as no choke) and the engine up close and running. I hope that this helps you!
Cheers, Jason

OK....... after looking for 15 minutes I cant see how you post videos like the guy earlier did.... or even just attach them to the message or PM.
if someone can give me a heads up on this. The vids are less than 350kb each, in 3gp format/ quicktime from my cell phone.
quint7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 11:34 AM   #183
SteveBroskey
Teach me this knowledge
 
SteveBroskey's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Oddometer: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by quint7
OK....... after looking for 15 minutes I cant see how you post videos like the guy earlier did.... or even just attach them to the message or PM.
if someone can give me a heads up on this. The vids are less than 350kb each, in 3gp format/ quicktime from my cell phone.
http://video.google.com/
"Upload Your Videos" in the top-Right
sign in and upload.
Or go to Youtube and do the same.

After uploading, view the video and click the link that says "link to this video"
Copy and paste the html code here
SteveBroskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 12:34 PM   #184
quint7
I don't need a title
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Finger Lakes (Rochester) NY
Oddometer: 480
emailed Steve

Steve, I emailed you about the videos. Should say jason from Adv. in the subject line.
quint7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 12:43 PM   #185
SteveBroskey
Teach me this knowledge
 
SteveBroskey's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Oddometer: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by quint7
Steve, I emailed you about the videos. Should say jason from Adv. in the subject line.
Got it, thanks.
SteveBroskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 12:57 PM   #186
ADK
____
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 8,172
Post 'em up, Steve
ADK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 01:03 PM   #187
SteveBroskey
Teach me this knowledge
 
SteveBroskey's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Oddometer: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADK
Post 'em up, Steve
work'n on it - they're .3g2 files ...
SteveBroskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 01:11 PM   #188
SteveBroskey
Teach me this knowledge
 
SteveBroskey's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Oddometer: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveBroskey
work'n on it - they're .3g2 files ...




Quint, you rock man.
Thanks for the videos!
SteveBroskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 01:23 PM   #189
ADK
____
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 8,172
x2
ADK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 02:03 PM   #190
Adventure_R
Adventurer
 
Adventure_R's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Georgetown TX
Oddometer: 96
Quote:
So who was it that was gonna add the braided brake line? Did you figure out what length to order? Im lazy and hope that someone else figured the measurement. LOL
I just installed new Braided Steel lines on the front end of my 2005 DR650 last night. They came from Russel, and they were Universal fit, 50" in length. I measured the stock lines, and they were 51". The only issue I had with the 1" shorter line, was when I installed it, I had the bike up on my lift, with the front forks uncompressed. I couldn't get the new brake line to feed through the upper guide, and still reach the reservoir. If I had set the bike down, compressed the forks, it would have been fine. I installed it anyway, and skipped the upper guide, but I did wrap the new line in some spiral plastic wrap so it wouldn't rub on the fairing. It now routes up between the Fairing and the Speedometer.

The brakes definately have a different feel now. I would describe it as quicker response, and firmer lever feel. The Russel lines look great, and seem to be high quality. They came with the proper Banjo Ends, which threaded onto the new Brake Line. They also had a different type of crush washer, which I had not seen before. The stock washer is usually copper, or chrome plated copper. These were a stamped steel washer, with an attached rubber O-ring. They seem to work fine, and I have not seen any leaks. They did advise not to torque these washers too much, but did not provide a recommended torque setting.

Kim Kelley

PS I ordered the new lines through one of the aftermarket websites, but I can't remember which one right now. Here's the manufacturer website.

http://www.russellperformance.com/

Edit:
Sorry for posting 2005 DR650 info in this tread, I just realized my goof.

Adventure_R screwed with this post 10-05-2007 at 02:15 PM
Adventure_R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 07:14 PM   #191
stevele5
knight errant
 
stevele5's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Fresno
Oddometer: 1,104
installed new stator

bike wont fire? anybody with experience?
__________________
.Rule # 1 RAYOP (no matter how fast the other guy is)

Rule # 2 Spy the guy in your eye before you fly at the Y.

slow is smooth, smooth is fast



http://www.centralvalleyds.com/

stevele5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 10:07 PM   #192
toolfan
Broken Hearted
 
toolfan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: NoPo (pdx)
Oddometer: 9,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevele5
bike wont fire? anybody with experience?
Nope.
Got a wiring diagram?
Is it a stock stator or a rewind?
toolfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 01:39 AM   #193
Grahv
n00b
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Oddometer: 1
Broken oil pipe

Hello DRiders. Im new here, age 35, from Estonia (east europe) and i have 93 dr650rse.

A little problem with engine - there is a broken oil pipe in camchain tunnel of crankcase, coming from oil filter room. Take a look at this pic. Can you tell me, what for is it, where must it go? At moment the open end just reduces oil pressure. All pieces seems to removed by previous owner. About this pipe no words or pics in manuals.

BTW, i have pre 96 DR manuals for DL, if someone interested ;)

Grahv screwed with this post 10-17-2007 at 01:46 AM
Grahv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 08:07 PM   #194
been saved
Adventurer
 
been saved's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Groveland fl
Oddometer: 87
So how are everyone's old drs running?

Figured I would give this thread a bump, I bought mine about 1.5 yrs ago and it has been stellar. Starts every time (except occasionally at HIGH altitude) is pretty quick, and will run all day at 80mph. I shot my tank, sidecovers and fender with black bedliner and it is interesting.
been saved is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 06:04 AM   #195
SteveBroskey
Teach me this knowledge
 
SteveBroskey's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Oddometer: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by been saved
So how are everyone's old drs running?
That would be a "not." Still haven't figured out why it won't start, and right now the time is going into new garage construction so I can keep working through the white months.
SteveBroskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014