User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-17-2010, 08:20 AM   #1
Paco Lopez OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 49
G650GS or F800GS buying advice

Greetings inmates. Long time lurker, first time poster (and a long post it is). A few years ago I started dreaming about buying a GS and rambling around the western US exploring lonely desert trails so I learned how to ride and now I'm looking to buy a GS. I'm new to all this so I'm looking for some guidance from the experts (that's you guys) about the pros and cons of the G650GS vs the F800GS, the various farkles that go with them, and the buying process.

The Bikes:
I've read a few reviews that paint the G650GS as a commuter bike with some off-road capabilities while anyone interested in serious dirt time should go for an F800GS. This doesn't make sense to me seeing as the G650GS is mostly the same bike as the old F650GS single which I've never heard called a commuter bike. I don't plan on going off-road for the sake of tackling crazy obstacles but if there's some cool place I want to get to that involves miles of gnarly single-track I don't want to have to bail because the bike isn't up to it. So, any thoughts on the off-road capabilities of the G650GS and is all this "commuter" talk just because BMW changed their marketing message and the reviewers are parroting it?

Here are 2 of the reviews in question: http://www.motorcycle-usa.com/73/196...irst-Ride.aspx and http://www.motorcycle.com/manufactur...iew-87721.html

The western US is also a big place and I'll have to pile on the highway miles to get from point A to point B. Am I going to hate the highway on a G650GS? Would I hate it any less or more on an F800GS?

The G650GS seems like a simpler bike and I'm a big fan of "less is more" (the less stuff you have the less there is to break and the easier it is to fix). Any thoughts on reliability and field fixability of the G650GS vs the F800GS?