User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-23-2010, 05:25 PM   #1
Mrs. MeanStreaker OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 25
Exploring West Virginia from the back of a Strom

Hi there. I'm new to this. The blogging and the forums not the motorcycling. Well, I am a little new to that too from the front, I'm a seasoned veteran from the back.

My husband got me hooked on riding on the back way before he was my husband. Maybe that's why I said yes - I'll never tell for sure. We started off on mini trips two hours away, and worked up to longer trips, all the way from home in Ohio to Charleston, South Carolina. Okay, I have seen some of your posts, and maybe the Midwest to the East Coast is nothin' for you guys, but it was kind of a big deal for me. I'm a girl, so cut me some slack. Give me ten more years and some more behind the handlebars experience (oh and a big fat check to cover the mortgage bills while we are away) and maybe I will rival some of your cross country trips.

In the mean time, I have seen a lot from the back of a Kawasaki Mean Streak, a Honda ST1300 and our latest addition, Rocky, a Suzuki V-Strom. You guys name your bikes right? Good, so I'm not crazy. Anyway, we have traveled to Hocking Hills in Ohio, ridden around Kentucky, Virginia, the Ozarks in Arkansas, North Carolina, South Carolina, Missouri, and just recently West Virginia. Wow, that's a lot of commas.

And yes, sigh, it's all been from the back. Call me old fashioned, but I like riding on the back of my husband's motorcycle. It's relaxing. I get to see a lot of stuff, like the giant HVC sticker on the back of Mr. MeanStreaker's helmet for instance. In all reality, I have only had my license for a year and a half, never ridden in the rain or the dark and really am not yet prepared for long distance trips, although I do think my Honda Big Ruckus would be up for the challenge. Yup, there's a scooter owner on here, I am allowed right?