User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-06-2010, 05:17 PM   #1
CottonTop OP
Rider

Oddometer: 60
Tri-State Trial Run -- AL, TN, and a Tiny bit of MS

*note: This is my first attempt at a ride report. Suggestions welcome. Already, it seems a pre-ride bike prep photo is customary and I don't have one. Here goes.
Pre-Ride:
My Buddy from Central Arkansas and I have been wanting to try our hand at some “no plans” exploration for some time, and I guess we finally decided we had waited long enough. We have been talking about this forever. The weather was looking good for the weekend of Sept. 17th. I live in Central Georgia, so we decided Cherokee, AL looked like a good half way point; about 300 miles for each of us. A quick check of the map showed local points of interest – The National Coon Dog Cemetery, Shiloh National Battlefield, and The Sheriff Buford Pusser Home and Museum. We pick a meeting spot -- The Wooden Nickel Restaurant on Main Street – 1pm local time. By Thursday all was still good, so we were go!
Old 10-06-2010, 05:36 PM   #2
CottonTop OP
Rider

Tri-State Trial Run

Day One (Friday):
I set out about 6:30am and he did the same; we both had to make a stop for business. The ride over was pretty uneventful. I will give one shout out – the folks at the Sonic Drive-in in Attalla, AL are friendly, and it’s a good rest stop. They have picnic tables in the back and an awning for shade; a clean restroom as well.
Coming into Cherokee on Hwy 72 I miss Main Street, look up for a place to turn around and I see my Buddy coming the other way; he missed the turn as well. How about that, after a journey of 300 miles we both hit the intersection within seconds of each other.