User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-07-2010, 05:39 PM   #1
Somber OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 350
Trip to Mt. Scott and a stop in Meers

Hello fellow Advriders, this is my first attempt at a ride report, so I thought I would keep it simple and short. I enjoy visiting other places through all of your shared photos and descriptions, hopefully this might spur some other folks to ride out to Mt. Scott and take a look around.

I rode down from Oklahoma City on Sunday morning, quiet drive, some fresh cooler air finally after the long summer.

My first shot is on the way up Mt. Scott (just North of Lawton and Ft. Sill). The mountain overlooks a lake, a wildlife area, and a fairly sizeable wind farm of the new giant sized units you can see far in the distance. Here is a quick couple shots over the side toward the lake on the way up.

A bit farther along I noticed a spot with an interesting mix of colors and shapes and snapped these, the pictures don't do the bright yellow moss/lichen justice sadly, it was pretty vibrant for what is often a fairly muted color range in parts of Oklahoma:

Around the other side on the way up there were some nice views of the adjacent hills and rock faces:

and a bit farther around a view out into the wilderness area, no Bison in view in the pictures, but I spied some way off the road a few times while riding:

and a quick shot up toward the top:

And here are a few shots from up top:

The ride isn't at all challenging, but the weather was great, the traffic was nil, and the scenery was worth the trip I felt... There are some twisty back roads in the area if you search them out, so I had some fun on the way back home.

Thanks for looking...
Somber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 06:52 PM   #2
GB
Mod Squad

Oddometer: 55,680
Looks good, thanks for posting
Old 10-08-2010, 09:53 AM   #3
Badge320
Wild Hog No. 3

Oddometer: 3,669