Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-12-2010, 09:56 PM   #1
Fred C. Dobbs OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 25
contemplating BMW airhead purchase...

Greetings.

I've been riding motorcycles on-and-off for 40 years (!) and am only now finally getting around to finding an airhead boxer. Not too interested in the monoshock R80 derived later bikes--although in many ways they may be "improved"--but rather am looking for a nice /6 or /7.

I've found a nice clean one not too far away from where I live. I've done a bit of reserch on common issues with these bikes but one thing I am finding is that few BMWs of this vintage seem to have had the valves re-done to handle unleaded fuel. Several of the bikes I have inquried after have 50-60 thousand miles with no problems running on unleaded. It this typical?

Also, other than checking the usual things--mantainence history, obvious oil leaks, smoking, knocking/noises, ride quality, cosmetics--are there specific problem areas I should look for in a boxer of this vintage?

I really want one of these and am in no rush--I want to find the right bike for me.

Thanks for your input!
Fred C. Dobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 03:02 AM   #2
DimitriG
Adventurer

Oddometer: 87
Thumb

i love me /7, you cannot go wrong. im 26 and have owned modern bikes since i was 13 starting with a cr125 then 250 then moving into fazers and a cbr. I got rid of all my bike when i moved to norway and got myself a r80/7 as a daily rider and project. i would say it is the most satisfying bike Ive ever had for the riding i do now, they are surprisingly agile and have more then enough power once you get used to the twin.