ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2014, 03:11 AM   #1
cadaVre OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 59
Question Sidestand-Switch

Hi folks,

a while ago, I broke my sidestand-switch on a rough ride. I fixed it by cutting the wires and putting red and white together - works great. Now, this month, she needs to visit the TÜV and I had to get a replacement for the broken switch. You are not allowed to be able to drive with the sidestand down. I already got a new switch last year from BMW but I just now thought about actually putting it in because I had to...

Problem is: It doesn't work. I put the little knobby-thingy in the sidestand so it would turn when u put down the stand and mechanically it indeed does turn but she still won't keep running, when I put her in gear.

Is it possible I did something wrong? I didn't think it would be possible to do that... :o To me there was only the one way to put it on. I don't think it's broken but if it is I'm screwed because I bought it a few month ago. :(

Anybody had any issues with his switch or with mounting a new one?

Greetings
cadaVre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 05:09 AM   #2
FredRydr
Danger: Keep Back 500 Ft.
 
FredRydr's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Carlisle Pennsylvania USA
Oddometer: 2,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaVre View Post
To me there was only the one way to put it on.
It is possible to install the switch improperly oriented. Make sure the switch is properly oriented and seated before tightening the screw.

It is also possible to damage the internals of the switch by over-tightening the screw. BTDT

Fred
FredRydr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 06:20 AM   #3
cadaVre OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 59
Ok, then I should probably get the switch out again and measure if it still works because I played around with it alot in my hand before installing it - bad habit...
cadaVre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 06:57 AM   #4
FredRydr
Danger: Keep Back 500 Ft.
 
FredRydr's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Carlisle Pennsylvania USA
Oddometer: 2,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaVre View Post
Ok, then I should probably get the switch out again and measure if it still works because I played around with it alot in my hand before installing it - bad habit...
No, that's a good thing. With your fingers, rotate the metal ring so that the metal tab properly engages the hole before re-installing the switch onto the bike. Watch the tab as you slide the switch onto the side stand bolt.





The tab is not properly oriented here; the photo is just for reference.

This switch failed, but I kept it to disassemble...one of these days. The crud is optional.

Fred

FredRydr screwed with this post 05-08-2014 at 07:16 AM Reason: added photo of hole in side stand
FredRydr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 08:34 AM   #5
cadaVre OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 59
Hmm, I thought thats what I did but I probably just have to do it again. Gonna take it apart on Saturday and measure with a multimeter (sry, dont know the engl. word here ;D) and if it works just put it back on and try again.
cadaVre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 09:26 AM   #6
Reaver
Trade Parts for Beer
 
Reaver's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Tronna area, Ontario Canada
Oddometer: 2,071
Multimeter is right!

Did you read this:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=964056
__________________
Now with only 1 Triple Black.
Reaver is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 10:37 AM   #7
cadaVre OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 59
I did now... ;) But I know it's the switch because if I put the old one back on where white and red are soldered together she runs fine. With the new one she'll start but die if I put her in gear like she is supposed to if the sidestand is down but not if its up. :/
cadaVre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 11:36 AM   #8
FredRydr
Danger: Keep Back 500 Ft.
 
FredRydr's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Carlisle Pennsylvania USA
Oddometer: 2,058
Is it possible that you over tightened the nut?

Fred
__________________
Trade my Saab Viggen convertible for ... what'cha got?
FredRydr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 12:40 PM   #9
cadaVre OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 59
I hope not... but I'll take it apart and to it again, 100% to spec and measure the switch before if it still works. Don't wanna buy a new one! :/
cadaVre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 01:07 PM   #10
FredRydr
Danger: Keep Back 500 Ft.
 
FredRydr's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Carlisle Pennsylvania USA
Oddometer: 2,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaVre View Post
...I'll take it apart...
Take photos. I haven't opened mine yet.
__________________
Trade my Saab Viggen convertible for ... what'cha got?
FredRydr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 01:13 PM   #11
Reaver
Trade Parts for Beer
 
Reaver's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Tronna area, Ontario Canada
Oddometer: 2,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by FredRydr View Post
Take photos. I haven't opened mine yet.

That's why my previous post said to read : http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=964056

I took mine apart..........................
__________________
Now with only 1 Triple Black.
Reaver is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 01:21 PM   #12
FredRydr
Danger: Keep Back 500 Ft.
 
FredRydr's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Carlisle Pennsylvania USA
Oddometer: 2,058
Oh
__________________
Trade my Saab Viggen convertible for ... what'cha got?
FredRydr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 11:05 AM   #13
cadaVre OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 59
Hi guys,

I'm back from my trip now and have some time off to get the side-stand switch right and go get 2 years of fresh TÜV (yay -.-). So what I found out so far:

- my new switch ain't broken, it works if you rotate it by hand
- if I mount it, it iwill not work.

Would somebody be so kind and make a photo of his backside of his bike's sidestand? I'm thinking I might be mounting it wrong if that is possible. That would be a huge help even if I can only pay you in digital-beer.

Thanks in advance!
cadaVre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 05:09 AM   #14
FredRydr
Danger: Keep Back 500 Ft.
 
FredRydr's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Carlisle Pennsylvania USA
Oddometer: 2,058
See my photos, above:

- The "U" in the plastic housing of the switch fits over the lug that protrudes from the back of the cast bracket, ensuring proper alignment of the switch and preventing rotation of the housing.

- the steel tab on the rotating part of the switch fits into the hole on the side stand (approx. 3 o'clock of the bolt in the photo), ensuring proper orientation of that rotating part of the switch in relation to the housing.

If these two aspects of the switch are disoriented (as yours apparently are), the circuit will not close when the side stand is retracted. Click on Reaver's link (above) to the other thread to see the switch's innards.

Fred

FredRydr screwed with this post 06-13-2014 at 05:15 AM Reason: added more dumb shit
FredRydr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 05:58 AM   #15
cadaVre OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 59
I have taken my old switch apart, that was broken beyond repair. I bashed on a mid-sized rock somewhere and it fell apart a few km later. #2 of what you say I definitly did, that occured to me by just looking at the part. So that just leaves me with #1 now, it's mounted in a wrong way. Yay me... But that can be figured out, thanks! :)
cadaVre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014