ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2010, 10:07 AM   #136
OscarTech
990A 2009 Tuned
 
OscarTech's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Burriana to the east of Spain
Oddometer: 0
In http://www.tomhamburg.net/KTM_Tune_list.html you have the list of maps and for motorcycles according to year and exhaust pipe.
Thanks to all who are sending their maps!

Remark: If you compare the USA and European maps version that are identical really. Consider a one-year delay in U.S. models.


KTM 990 Adventure
KM601EU0902002Map.hex OEM
KTM 990 Adventure R All years


KM601EU0902031Map.hex OEM
KTM 990 Adventure 09 model year with Akropovic slip-on exhaust

KM601EU0704501Map.hex OEM
KTM 990 Adventure EU 07-08 model years with standard exhaust

KM601EU0603D01Map.hex OEM
KTM 990 Adventure EU 06 model year with standard exhaust
KM601AK0704501Map.hex OEM
KTM 990 Adventure EU 07-08 model years with Akropovic slip-on exhaust US spec. Thanks Steve and Shaun

KM601US0704501Map.hex OEM
KTM 990 Adventure 07-08 model years with standard exhaust US only

OscarTech screwed with this post 11-19-2010 at 10:29 AM
OscarTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 10:57 AM   #137
chrish4ku
Studly Adventurer
 
chrish4ku's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: San Leandro, CA
Oddometer: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Colombotos
Guess this is where we will be uploading our bike maps from here on out?

http://www.box.net/shared/pusg6v7nyd...nyd/1/56746962

Regarding the previous post ....on each map there is a downward facing (pulldown) arrow or next to that a block with a number in it press either to see or add remarks. Ive taken the info from tune ecu website and added remarks to the box website describing what year each map is for. If you see a mistake please revise my description right on the box website as I am no expert on this!!!!

Can the E.U. maps be used on the U.S. bikes? Are the E.U. Maps running more rich or lean? Can't wait to get my cord!

Cheers,
__________________
_______________________
Chris
I don't normally ride on the street,,,but when I do,,I prefer lane splitting.
2011 KTM 990 Adventure / KTM 500 EXC
Chris' Sat Tracker
chrish4ku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 10:58 AM   #138
Spark01
V-Twin
 
Spark01's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Oddometer: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Lavigne
I may have mispoken a bit. What I meant was that parts of the calibration that I would expect to be in the ECU are not accesible from within the TuneECU software.
Ok
I was allready thinking how you did it

Maybe there can be added some more tools to the tuneecu software in the future to reach these until now unreachable maps/adresses
__________________
'10 990SMT
Spark01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 11:13 AM   #139
OscarTech
990A 2009 Tuned
 
OscarTech's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Burriana to the east of Spain
Oddometer: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrish4ku
Can the E.U. maps be used on the U.S. bikes? Are the E.U. Maps running more rich or lean? Can't wait to get my cord!

Cheers,
chrish4ku, in your bike 2008 S (USA) you can use 2007-2008 European maps, really. There is no difference between the USA and EU motors, only the year delay in launching USA model in some cases.
OscarTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 12:26 PM   #140
Nut Clutch
was Steve Lavigne
 
Nut Clutch's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Shilshole
Oddometer: 429
I noticed that the 09 and newer maps are larger by 4.6 kb.

Who wants to be the first to see if uploading a later map in an earlier ECU will work? Hopefully it won't brick your ECU.
__________________
'07 KTM 990 Adventure Long Road to Dug Bar
Nut Clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 12:40 PM   #141
Sheep Shagger
Show me your fleece
 
Sheep Shagger's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Where men are men and sheep get nervous
Oddometer: 2,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrish4ku
Can the E.U. maps be used on the U.S. bikes? Are the E.U. Maps running more rich or lean? Can't wait to get my cord!

Cheers,
Yes, EU maps work, but there is no change that I can tell. There is some change between US and EU since the MD5# is different, but looking at the tables, I can't figure out what.
Sheep Shagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 07:18 AM   #142
Michhub
Major Medical
 
Michhub's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Queen Creek AZ
Oddometer: 3,666
Cable received, thanks Ken Let the games begin!


I see the map I'm currently running has been posted to TuneECU already:
KM601US0704501
When connected to the ECU it also reports the map as 601EU0902002 which is listed for the KTM 990 Adventure R All years ...
Edit: I just figured out that was the last map I had opened (I was trying out the S/W)


Another thing I noticed was my throttle only goes from 1% to 96%.
My Repair Manual only goes up to '06 models so it does not include EFI '07s...can anyone confirm the reference voltages listed are the same for EFI bikes?


Who's gonna upload the 07-08 US Akra map
__________________
Mike
Reinheitsgebot
'07 990ADV '08 530EXCR '04 XR650L
Bonsai Elephant - "
Life without a 990 is no life at all!"
Michhub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 07:46 AM   #143
Sheep Shagger
Show me your fleece
 
Sheep Shagger's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Where men are men and sheep get nervous
Oddometer: 2,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michhub
Cable received, thanks Ken Let the games begin!


I see the map I'm currently running has been posted to TuneECU already:
KM601US0704501
When connected to the ECU it also reports the map as 601EU0902002 which is listed for the KTM 990 Adventure R All years ...
Edit: I just figured out that was the last map I had opened (I was trying out the S/W)


Another thing I noticed was my throttle only goes from 1% to 96%.
My Repair Manual only goes up to '06 models so it does not include EFI '07s...can anyone confirm the reference voltages listed are the same for EFI bikes?


Who's gonna upload the 07-08 US Akra map
07-08 US Akra map is already uploaded. KM601AK0704501.
Voltages are correct, but if you read the link to the SD forum in the 2nd post in this thread, that will give you all the info you need on the TPS.
Sheep Shagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 08:38 AM   #144
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,191
Let the games begin!

Ok, lets play.

I found the same reading on the throttle opening on my 07 when cold from 1% to 96%.
EDIT: (my voltage was .66 cold and closed throttle.) shit, or was that while i had it running... i will have to recheck that one today.

Also found a few error codes..
TPS..low volt or short?......p0122
Front injector circuit malfunction?....p0201
Air inlet temp. i remember doing that one....p0113

Also what would be an aceptible diference in the throttle body sink.
I was at 3 or 4 bars when i read mine and they would fluctuate a bit but the numbers looked something like this... 377 and 365

As for the voltages, i think they are the same. It looks like we are aiming for 3.6v or is it 3.8v with wide open throttle, Hoping that those that have done this will chime in with there experience with this.....Please correct me if i am wrong..



from the SD forum....
Quote:
With a warm running engine it should be showing 0.6v - when cold this will be slightly more. This is because when you switch the engine on the idle speed control motor will slightly open the throttle. Then when the motor fires it will gradually reduce the throttle, depending on engine temperature.

I would take a reading before making any adjustments - as you will then have something to aim for if you need to revert back.

Also if you sync throttle bodies, this will also slightly alter the TPS voltage. So you should ideally get your valves in spec, new air filter and service etc, then set throttle sync and then set TPS.

All of the above is also the reason why a map created for one bike may not be 100% suited to a different but exact same spec bike.
And one more.
Quote:
ok I set my tps to 6.4 V while running at running temp (got it close at cold by putting it to 3.8V at cold and full throttle)

bike has lost all snatchiness... it is now the smoothest bike I have ever ridden, it is incredible... Guy and I have seemingly stumbled accross the answer to our SD snatchy throttles... finely tune the tps and the bike is completely different.

I am happy to show others in bris how to do this if they are suffering from the dodgy throttles

I have found a new love at low speed riding and this new map that guy and I (mainly guy, I have only have richened it up a little up high at full throttle, and changed the F-L settings) is absolutely stonking!!!!!
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!

Dusty screwed with this post 11-23-2010 at 09:12 AM Reason: Add info
Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 08:49 AM   #145
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,191
Thanks for sharing that info..
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevermind
I'm running the 2010 990R map in my 2010 990A. Changes using tuneECU are:

Idle setting: 40c and 65c boxes set at 1650 rpms

F-L setting: 1000 rpms to 12, 1300 to 5 and the rest are set to 0.

***Note: I read you don't want to zero out these settings at too low an rpm. See: http://www.triumphrat.net/ecm-and-fi...ml#post1451505

I started at 1000, 1300 and 1450 set to stock and 2000 set to 5. I still had some unwanted jerkiness, so I moved the 5 and zero's to lower RPM's. I rode it between each setting and I like where I have it now until I can run it on a dyno with a gas analyzer.

SAI checkbox: Disabled

O2 Sensor checkbox: Enabled

2nd Throttle checkbox: Enabled

I just ran some slow speed stuff around my neighborhood using small throttle openings only and I have to say it is pretty doggone smooth. I can still make the bike lurch in some closed to open throttle transitions, but overall these settings are quite acceptable for me.

Just a note - I run the G2-400 throttle cam and the football shaped secondary butterflies from the guy over at superduke.net.
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!
Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 09:14 AM   #146
Spark01
V-Twin
 
Spark01's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Oddometer: 297
Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spark01
Somebody on the dutch lc8 forum is testing some custom settings on the ecu
He did alter the setting for the switch between the TPS&Manifold air pressure(F-L map).
The firts test results are very good.
He altered the settings between 1000-4000rpm lower than 10% TPS (standard this is 12% or higher).
For the switch between the L and F map.

He allready tried: 16sprocket,O2 sensors disabled, other throttle cams,2nd valves removed but none really worked for him, for the bike response on non smooth roads.
The Bike is a SMT by the way


This is a similar known mod that is also done on Suzuki SV1000/TLR's only on those bikes The tps switch is rotated to lower the switch point. On the KTM you can't do this that why he changed the settings in the F-L map.

An update on this post:


This is what he told:

just emptied my second tank,

6.6 l/100km in mixed traffic / driving style, some highway, some traffic jams, some B-roads, some wheelies etc.

But the smoothness remains a real salvation for the 990 to drive now! on the motorway there is even a kind of peace now, which was not there before
... at first, the engine was lightly continuously hunting, and now she is totally stable and peaceful. But such a small difference has a very large impact on feelings. I can also lower speed driving because she got more torque. In the sixth gear from 3000 rpm, I quietly go up, I never could before.

I am going to turn the 02 sensors back on, and see what that does for consumption and smoothness






I just did a quick compare between '09 map KM601EU0902031 and a '08 map KM601US0704501 and there is a big diffence between them in the F-L Switch map
on the pre '09 modells the switch point is way higher (63% TPS on 3500rpm instead of 24% TPS on 3500rpm)
__________________
'10 990SMT
Spark01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 11:58 AM   #147
Swedemarine
n00b
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Sweden
Oddometer: 9
Got my cable

I got my cable today. Thanks Ken!

I´ll upload my euro map as soon as I have got the time to fiddle with my bike, if that map isn´t on the site already.
Swedemarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 05:21 PM   #148
Tom-Hamburg
Adventurer
 
Tom-Hamburg's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Hamburg
Oddometer: 84
Good day,

I'm Tom and I am the operator for the homepage www.tuneecu.com

For problems with the software please contact on Alain.
New Maps, You may send you to me or Alain.

Sorry for my bad English but I hope you can understand me.

BR, Tom
Tom-Hamburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 05:23 PM   #149
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom-Hamburg
Good day,

I'm Tom and I am the operator for the homepage www.tuneecu.com

For problems with the software please contact on Alain.
New Maps, You may send you to me or Alain.

Sorry for my bad English but I hope you can understand me.

BR, Tom
Bien compris et merci énormément pour ce logiciel formidable et tous vos efforts.
De nouveau, merci beaucoup.

Amicalement!

Or Is it only Alain who speaks french?
Thanks for all your efforts and amazing software anyhow.
Cheers!
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 05:26 PM   #150
nevermind
Swamp Thing
 
nevermind's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Lost then Found
Oddometer: 2,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom-Hamburg
Good day,

I'm Tom and I am the operator for the homepage www.tuneecu.com

For problems with the software please contact on Alain.
New Maps, You may send you to me or Alain.

Sorry for my bad English but I hope you can understand me.

BR, Tom
Your english is good! Thank you for your support!!!
nevermind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014