ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-21-2012, 12:01 AM   #1876
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockwell View Post
OK...I was clicking around in the drop-down menus to see what was there, and I saw a "map info" option.

This is what came up for comments on my map:
KTM 990 Adventure 06 model year with Akrapovic Titanium slip-on exhaust

I guess I should change it back to the standard map for stock exhaust?
Try the latest map for the 07-08 Adv with stock exhaust. Runs well.
km601us0704501

Set the throttle cable. Sync the throttle bodies. Mark the throttle tube with known opening values, 0%, 8%, 10, 15, etc. Ride it for a while and note how it runs.

Then try some tweaks on the ign map to smooth out the throttle - Cut off the peaks at 3500 rpm (retard timing).

Then if you have any surges try increasing the fueling at that RPM/Throttle.

Rinse - repeat - enjoy.

dz
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:12 AM   #1877
pulpo2011
Adventurer
 
pulpo2011's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: CHILE,
Oddometer: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuber View Post
Try the latest map for the 07-08 Adv with stock exhaust. Runs well.
km601us0704501

Set the throttle cable. Sync the throttle bodies. Mark the throttle tube with known opening values, 0%, 8%, 10, 15, etc. Ride it for a while and note how it runs.

HTML Code:
Then try some tweaks on the ign map to smooth out the throttle -  Cut off the peaks at 3500 rpm (retard timing).
How??, With F-L Switch??

HTML Code:
Then if you have any surges try increasing the fueling at that RPM/Throttle.
With F1, F2 or L1, L2???

Rinse - repeat - enjoy.

dz
Thanks
pulpo2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 09:09 PM   #1878
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,797
Ignition map is I1/I2.

Add fuel using F1/F2, only bump by 2-3%.
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 06:44 AM   #1879
Rockwell
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockwell's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 652
I loaded the stock '07/'08 map (for standard exhaust) yesterday. The only change that I made was disabling the SAI since I had removed it.

I also noticed, when looking at the original map that was on my bike, that, other than being for Akra exhausts, the O2 sensors and EPC were disabled.

I read near the beginning of this thread that the O2 sensor accuracy can be questionable.

Is this why they have been disabled?
How is the 02 sensor data used in the ECU control algorithm - to regulate the air-to-fuel ratio?


What does EPC stand for and what is it used for?
Is this the emissions (charcoal canister) stuff?
__________________
not all those who wander are lost | two earthlings ride around the world
Home | Photo Blog | The Route | The Bike | About Us | Participate!

Rockwell screwed with this post 11-22-2012 at 06:57 AM
Rockwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 06:45 AM   #1880
Rockwell
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockwell's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 652
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuber View Post
Try the latest map for the 07-08 Adv with stock exhaust. Runs well.
km601us0704501

Set the throttle cable. Sync the throttle bodies. Mark the throttle tube with known opening values, 0%, 8%, 10, 15, etc. Ride it for a while and note how it runs.

Then try some tweaks on the ign map to smooth out the throttle - Cut off the peaks at 3500 rpm (retard timing).

Then if you have any surges try increasing the fueling at that RPM/Throttle.

Rinse - repeat - enjoy.

dz
I'm going to have to learn a bit more before I understand this.
__________________
not all those who wander are lost | two earthlings ride around the world
Home | Photo Blog | The Route | The Bike | About Us | Participate!
Rockwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 07:04 AM   #1881
kenhaw
2006 Adventure S EU
 
kenhaw's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Cannes, France.
Oddometer: 31
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=23741

Take a look here to understand EPC system
kenhaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 07:42 AM   #1882
moto-treks
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockwell View Post
I loaded the stock '07/'08 map (for standard exhaust) yesterday. The only change that I made was disabling the SAI since I had removed it.

I also noticed, when looking at the original map that was on my bike, that, other than being for Akra exhausts, the O2 sensors and EPC were disabled.

I read near the beginning of this thread that the O2 sensor accuracy can be questionable.

Is this why they have been disabled?
How is the 02 sensor data used in the ECU control algorithm - to regulate the air-to-fuel ratio?


What does EPC stand for and what is it used for?
Is this the emissions (charcoal canister) stuff?
EPC = Electronic Power Control. It basically cuts power in second & third gears at a given RPM range. I'm guessing it is used to pass some EPA requirement. Best to disable unless you want reduced power in those situations.

O2s are used for the lambda control to find the best fuel/air mixture. Some turn it off, some leave it on. When I had my '10 990 tuned I was told that the sensors/ECU were actually doing a good job so we left them turned on.
__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 09:54 PM   #1883
LocuL
Gnarly Infantry
 
LocuL's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Denmark - Jutland
Oddometer: 1,201
Good morning.

I will put my question here instead of my project thread. Need some advice.

My project "Gravel traveller" with the 09 RC8R engine is under construction. So much that im trying to get to the ECU via the TuneECU. I know the engines not exactly are the same, but some advice should comply to the RC8R anyway.

Problem: I can not connect to the ECU

1: TuneECU program installed
2: CJ Cable installed
3: Start TuneECU
4: Turn ignition key
5: Blue cable LED lights up
6: TuneECU shows "Can not connect to ECU, try turn off/on ignition".


Im very new at this and did try to understand this huge thread, but chances that i miss something are big. Anyone?

Mikael
__________________
KTM 950(1190) Adv-s, Soon to be Project 1190
KTM 530 EXC-R 08
LocuL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 10:06 PM   #1884
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,797
I think you skipped step 1.A.a - install the driver for the cable.
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 11:04 PM   #1885
LocuL
Gnarly Infantry
 
LocuL's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Denmark - Jutland
Oddometer: 1,201
FTDI driver?
__________________
KTM 950(1190) Adv-s, Soon to be Project 1190
KTM 530 EXC-R 08
LocuL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 11:37 PM   #1886
kenhaw
2006 Adventure S EU
 
kenhaw's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Cannes, France.
Oddometer: 31
Hej Mikael

Ja du skal installere en driver til kablet.. Ligesom man installerer en driver til sin printer.
Det er vigtigt at du ikke lader windows, eller hvad du nu bruger ,bruge sin egen driver. Du skal downloade driveren fra Tune Ecu sitet og bruge den. Nr det s er gjort skal du ndre et par parametre for driveren.
__________________
KTM Forever.
kenhaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 10:46 AM   #1887
LocuL
Gnarly Infantry
 
LocuL's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Denmark - Jutland
Oddometer: 1,201
Takker

Will use some more time. ive never used this before, though i still the tuneecu site is a bit messy.
__________________
KTM 950(1190) Adv-s, Soon to be Project 1190
KTM 530 EXC-R 08
LocuL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 02:30 PM   #1888
Rockwell
Studly Adventurer
 
Rockwell's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by LocuL View Post
Takker

Will use some more time. ive never used this before, though i still the tuneecu site is a bit messy.
Here are the steps to install the drivers for your cable:

1. Go HERE and select the correct driver for your operating system
2. unzip the drivers into a folder on your computer (remember the location)
3. plug the cable in to a USB port on your computer
4. open Device Manager from Control Panel
5. in Device Manager, locate your cable (under USB Devices)
6. right-click your cable in the list and select "Properties"
7. click on the driver tab and select "Update Driver"
8. navigate to the unzipped folder where your drivers are

I sort of went from memory, but this should work. If you have any problems, just ask.
__________________
not all those who wander are lost | two earthlings ride around the world
Home | Photo Blog | The Route | The Bike | About Us | Participate!
Rockwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 07:39 AM   #1889
LocuL
Gnarly Infantry
 
LocuL's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Denmark - Jutland
Oddometer: 1,201
many thanks. Will test tonight
__________________
KTM 950(1190) Adv-s, Soon to be Project 1190
KTM 530 EXC-R 08
LocuL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 02:17 PM   #1890
MAXVERT
Rough Rider
 
MAXVERT's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Sun Valley Idaho, Baja Arizona
Oddometer: 1,003
TPS Voltages

Are the voltages for adjusting the TPS on a '10 990
the same as the earlier 990's ('07-'08) ?

What are the voltages.

Max
__________________
Da oggi la strada
senza limiti
MAXVERT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014