ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-04-2013, 05:58 PM   #2251
BMacW650
.
 
BMacW650's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Troy Michigan
Oddometer: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hipster View Post
When I select "adjust throttle cables", I can see the software it moves the throttle bodies to it's home position then, it prompts you to turn off the ignition. But, how exactly do you adjust the cables?
This might help.
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...4&postcount=23
BMacW650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 05:37 AM   #2252
Hipster
Beastly Adventurer
 
Hipster's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Mpls, Mn.
Oddometer: 1,721
** I found the throttle cable adjustment procedure in the service manual**

Not really, in the video he's not using TuneECU or the KTM tool to adjust the throttle cables.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMacW650 View Post
__________________
2008 KTM 990 Adv & 2007 KTM 640 Adv

Hipster screwed with this post 07-07-2013 at 07:15 AM
Hipster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 07:52 AM   #2253
BMacW650
.
 
BMacW650's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Troy Michigan
Oddometer: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hipster View Post
Not really, in the video he's not using TuneECU or the KTM tool to adjust the throttle cables.
You don't need any special tool to adjust the throttle cable. It's just when you DO WANT TO adjust the cable, you have to consider the extra slack fro the motor movement, hence the feature in TuneECU.

Just move the throttle cable adjusters on your handle bar, but do pay attention not to over tighten it.
BMacW650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 04:46 PM   #2254
HeatXfer
Bad knees
 
HeatXfer's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: S.F. Bay Area
Oddometer: 595
Read every post, followed every link - Thanks to Alain for giving the motorcycling community at large this remarkable tool and AVDRider and the OC community for this invaluable resource of usable info.

My situation: '07 990 with Leo VInce SBKs, cannister & SAI intact. SBKs were installed by dealer on day one. 40k miles, always idled above 1500; "grabby" throttle below 4kRPM, very strong pull 3500 to 7500-8000; 26mpg avg. ECU map was Akra KM601AK0702S01 with O2 & SAI disabled. Exhaust always smelled rich, but tail pipe is a light gray.

I flashed the OEM US map KM601US0704501 with no modifications: I wanted a fresh starting point. The throttle is still grabby, but idles at a steady 1400 hot or cold, very slight hesitation at around 4kRPM, seems to have just a slightly weaker throttle response during acceleration from stopped and during high speed roll-ons and it's quieter: seems like there's less tail-pipe sound and less induction noise.

I'm going to run it like this for about 500 miles and make note of overall driveability and see what mpg improvements I gain.
HeatXfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:43 AM   #2255
Dagwood_55
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dagwood_55's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Ozarks
Oddometer: 1,316
OK, I've read all the post and most on the Tune site and got a better understanding of what and how to do it. I'm not a computer person and
these kinda things don't come easily to me and quite frankly scare the beejuzus out of me.

But I picked up a cable from CJ and after doing the groundwork, I was able to hook it up to my bike and connect. I then stopped and unhooked it all.

Now, my bike is a 07 S with all the mods I know of to help the bike run better, SAS and canister removed, block off plates, throttle cam, pipes, football butterflies, Rottwieller breather, etc.

I've done all the above to it the last couple of years, but when I bought it: It has a PCIII hooked up and the 02 sensors unhooked and blocked off. Don't have a clue how the PC is programed or even how it works. And I get 35 mph hooligan style and 40 mpg old man style.

So, my dilema is: I think the bike works/runs pretty well, still a little twitchy, but no other issues. For you guys in the know (PCIII and Tune ECU) should i mess with the bike?? I don't know how good, good can really be. I do like to fiddle, but as I said, not really computer savvy. Should I ditch the PCIII and go with TuneECU?? I've read the PC is just a bandaid, what's that mean??
Will I gain a little with the Tune over the PC??
__________________
Live long, love much, laugh often, and
Ride, Ride, Ride.....
Dagwood_55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:50 AM   #2256
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,140
A pc3 can do the job just fine. With the right map.
It's a bit scary that you are running the bike with a map that you don't know.
Especially that you are running a CPR airbox. Your bike might be running really lean and that's not good for the engine.

Why don't you plug the pc3 to your laptop and see what kind of map you have?

I would start there.
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 06:47 AM   #2257
HeatXfer
Bad knees
 
HeatXfer's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: S.F. Bay Area
Oddometer: 595
Reporting back on my findings since remapping my EFI back to stock from the "AKRO" map.

First impression: Yes It feels slower, or maybe better put as milder. Good acceleration from the bottom up to 5k. Definite flat spot between 4.8/5k to about 6.5k.

I was on the Berryessa/Knoxville ride Sunday an found a very snatchy throttle at low rpm was making it difficult to negotiate the up & downhill rock gardens on Reiff & Rayhouse Rds.

Those were the negatives, here are 2 positives: The exhaust note is quieter and I got a solid 39mpg :(approx 80 miles fwy, 20 miles off road). That's about 15mpg more than I was getting with the AKRO map. Now I get to spend some time tweeking the stock map for better "trail" low end.

HeatXfer screwed with this post 07-22-2013 at 10:17 AM
HeatXfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 07:01 PM   #2258
Dagwood_55
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dagwood_55's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Ozarks
Oddometer: 1,316
So, I know this is elementry to a lot of you guys, but I'm finally got a grasp on hooking up, saving my current map and downloading (uploading) another map to my 07 990 S.

But on the Tune website there are only 2 US maps for my bike, the stock and the Ankra map. And I'm running a 2 into 1 exhaust and a Rottwieller air box, along with all the de smog. I'm mainly interested in better MPG's and all the smoothness I can get vs power.

I don't feel like I have enough know how to start tweaking a custom map. Are there additional maps available to download that might fit my bike better?? Is there someone that might have a map that might fit better that could Email me one?? Or, is each bike so individually different that I can only customize and tweak the Ankro to benifit?? If so, ??

Help me out here....
__________________
Live long, love much, laugh often, and
Ride, Ride, Ride.....
Dagwood_55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 09:38 PM   #2259
Reese
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Central Coast, CA
Oddometer: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagwood_55 View Post
So, I know this is elementry to a lot of you guys, but I'm finally got a grasp on hooking up, saving my current map and downloading (uploading) another map to my 07 990 S.

But on the Tune website there are only 2 US maps for my bike, the stock and the Ankra map. And I'm running a 2 into 1 exhaust and a Rottwieller air box, along with all the de smog. I'm mainly interested in better MPG's and all the smoothness I can get vs power.

I don't feel like I have enough know how to start tweaking a custom map. Are there additional maps available to download that might fit my bike better?? Is there someone that might have a map that might fit better that could Email me one?? Or, is each bike so individually different that I can only customize and tweak the Ankro to benifit?? If so, ??

Help me out here....
Check out "KTM 990 Adventure 09-10 model years With 2-1 Wings slip-on exhaust - with spark arrestor baffle. BMC air filter" on the KTM Tune List where you found the two maps for your model year. You can't load the 09-10 map directly on your bike but you can copy the fueling values from it to a copy of your map so that you don't have to start tweaking from scratch.

Check out post #1936 in this thread and the few responses about new maps on old bikes.
Reese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 01:18 AM   #2260
Spark01
V-Twin
 
Spark01's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Oddometer: 299
2009-2010 fuel and sparks setting don't work on older models!!

the cam shafts are not the same


this is explained several times in this topic already.
__________________
'10 990SMT
Spark01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 01:25 AM   #2261
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spark01 View Post
2009-2010 fuel and sparks setting don't work on older models!!

the cam shafts are not the same


this is explained several times in this topic already.
Yes but like he said, you can copy the fuel maps. Not great but an improvement.
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 02:40 AM   #2262
Dagwood_55
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dagwood_55's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Ozarks
Oddometer: 1,316
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reese View Post
Check out "KTM 990 Adventure 09-10 model years With 2-1 Wings slip-on exhaust - with spark arrestor baffle. BMC air filter" on the KTM Tune List where you found the two maps for your model year. You can't load the 09-10 map directly on your bike but you can copy the fueling values from it to a copy of your map so that you don't have to start tweaking from scratch.

Check out post #1936 in this thread and the few responses about new maps on old bikes.
Thanks!! Just the info I needed. So, copy and paste the F1, F2, F-trim, L1, and L2 from the 09[10 map to the 07-08 Ankra Map??
__________________
Live long, love much, laugh often, and
Ride, Ride, Ride.....

Dagwood_55 screwed with this post 07-20-2013 at 04:13 AM
Dagwood_55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 08:58 AM   #2263
Reese
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Central Coast, CA
Oddometer: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagwood_55 View Post
Thanks!! Just the info I needed. So, copy and paste the F1, F2, F-trim, L1, and L2 from the 09[10 map to the 07-08 Ankra Map??
That's the idea. I haven't done it myself because I have a 2010 but I remembered seeing it mentioned a few times in thread. Paste this into Google to get a head start on finding more information:

site:advrider.com "got tunes" copy values
Reese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 11:02 AM   #2264
Rally_West
Central Scrutinizer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Redondo Beach
Oddometer: 142
So I am thinking of trying to copy newer fuel maps to an older map. I have an '07 US bike with 2 into 1 with a CPR Rott, SAI removed. What base map should I use? On Tuneecu website the '07 maps are a bit confusing...one of them is KM601AK0704501Map.hex OEM...it seems clear to me that this is a Akro map however the description reads "KTM 990 Adventure EU 07-08 model years with Akropovic slip-on exhaust US spec. " How can it be EU and US spec at the same time?

Why would someone use a EU map over the US map? I would think the EU map would not have much if any emissions crap built into it.

Also, what is the difference between the '09 maps and '09/'10 maps?

Thanks in advance
__________________
'07 450EXC Sold but not forgotten...you will be replaced soon.
'07 990 Adv...BOOYAH!
Rally_West is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 10:25 PM   #2265
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,795
Interesting Effects

My 2010 990 Adv has slightly changed its state of tune over the last 5000 miles. At 3000 rpm and 6-8% throttle I'd get an occasional surging (about 35mph). It got worse over the last 6 months or so. I thought it was the on-going Adaptation tweaking the tune. I've tweaked the tune a lot and had it totally nailed down at one time.

Yesterday I replaced the chain at 18k miles. I inspected it after cutting it off and there was a stretched spot over a one foot area. This made the chain hop and rattle more.

On the first ride, I noticed that the surging was mostly gone. I think the stretched spot in the chain made a change in the engine loading at the natural frequency that created the surging. The throttle is sensitive at that point and the squishy pink monkey holding the bars doesn't help either.

Funny how such a small thing will change the state of tune.
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014