ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-21-2013, 08:20 AM   #2266
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuber View Post
My 2010 990 Adv has slightly changed its state of tune over the last 5000 miles. At 3000 rpm and 6-8% throttle I'd get an occasional surging (about 35mph). It got worse over the last 6 months or so. I thought it was the on-going Adaptation tweaking the tune. I've tweaked the tune a lot and had it totally nailed down at one time.

Yesterday I replaced the chain at 18k miles. I inspected it after cutting it off and there was a stretched spot over a one foot area. This made the chain hop and rattle more.

On the first ride, I noticed that the surging was mostly gone. I think the stretched spot in the chain made a change in the engine loading at the natural frequency that created the surging. The throttle is sensitive at that point and the squishy pink monkey holding the bars doesn't help either.

Funny how such a small thing will change the state of tune.
Very interesting. Putting on a new chain at 23,000 miles.
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro
DirtJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 08:19 AM   #2267
Jaimoto
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jaimoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Spaniard in Chile
Oddometer: 1,226
Joining late to the party.

Bike is a 07 EU model, Wings exhaust w/medium silent inserts. A few years ago I tried the Akra map but I couldn't live with terrible mpg so went back to stock (now I've learned 07-08 akra maps has 02 sensors disabled) Removed 2nd butterflies in an attempt of getting rid of jerky throttle. Didn't work so I put em back.

While reading through this thread I changed my mind several times.
First I was tempted to download 2011 fuel map figures since they seem to run very smoothly. Looking at how different the fuel curves are I disregarded that, and I'm not brave enough to even think about copying ignition tables.
I know close to nothing about tuning engines but what I've learned is adding fuel and retarding the timing is -usually- safe so I started from that since it seems there isn't lots of maps available for 07-08 bikes.

What I did: an exact average of a STD and AKRA map. Made it in excel and then modified the stock F and L tables cell by cell (unemployed right now, so I have time)
2nd butterflies opening progressively from 0 to 10 in the lower left corner (where values were 0 before). Don't know if this makes sense or if I should have tried going to 15 or 20 directly, it just seemed right to me making them open progressively. Thoughts?
If someone wants to take a look at this map just pm me.

Being a FI noob I felt like a hero when bike started, idle, and run. A 150 highway miles test at 80mph average and 41 mpg makes me think I didn't f*cked up the fuel consumption, firstly I wanted to know the range and now I'll see how it behaves in the real world (traffic, secondary roads and off road)

Trying to change one thing at a time so timing will wait, I just don't know what to do except retarding a bit the big spike at 3.500 rpm but still I would like to know what you guys think about it.

Jaime
__________________
Jaime

2007 KTM 990 Adventure
2012 Yamaha BWs 125
Jaimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 11:02 AM   #2268
tahoeacr
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goti View Post
Joining late to the party.

Bike is a 07 EU model, Wings exhaust w/medium silent inserts. A few years ago I tried the Akra map but I couldn't live with terrible mpg so went back to stock (now I've learned 07-08 akra maps has 02 sensors disabled) Removed 2nd butterflies in an attempt of getting rid of jerky throttle. Didn't work so I put em back.

While reading through this thread I changed my mind several times.
First I was tempted to download 2011 fuel map figures since they seem to run very smoothly. Looking at how different the fuel curves are I disregarded that, and I'm not brave enough to even think about copying ignition tables.
I know close to nothing about tuning engines but what I've learned is adding fuel and retarding the timing is -usually- safe so I started from that since it seems there isn't lots of maps available for 07-08 bikes.

What I did: an exact average of a STD and AKRA map. Made it in excel and then modified the stock F and L tables cell by cell (unemployed right now, so I have time)
2nd butterflies opening progressively from 0 to 10 in the lower left corner (where values were 0 before). Don't know if this makes sense or if I should have tried going to 15 or 20 directly, it just seemed right to me making them open progressively. Thoughts?
If someone wants to take a look at this map just pm me.

Being a FI noob I felt like a hero when bike started, idle, and run. A 150 highway miles test at 80mph average and 41 mpg makes me think I didn't f*cked up the fuel consumption, firstly I wanted to know the range and now I'll see how it behaves in the real world (traffic, secondary roads and off road)

Trying to change one thing at a time so timing will wait, I just don't know what to do except retarding a bit the big spike at 3.500 rpm but still I would like to know what you guys think about it.

Jaime
Your on the right track. One thing at a time. Retarding the timing will effect MPG. I only retard at 0-3% TPS to effect that notchy throttle thing. Is there a problem at 3,500 on your bike(don't have time to look thru the thread to see if you have posted) or you just want to smooth it? 3,500-4,200 is were I get my killer mpg and I have never changed the timing in that area.
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 01:17 PM   #2269
Jaimoto
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jaimoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Spaniard in Chile
Oddometer: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by tahoeacr View Post
Your on the right track. One thing at a time. Retarding the timing will effect MPG. I only retard at 0-3% TPS to effect that notchy throttle thing. Is there a problem at 3,500 on your bike(don't have time to look thru the thread to see if you have posted) or you just want to smooth it? 3,500-4,200 is were I get my killer mpg and I have never changed the timing in that area.
Thanks mate.
Not a real problem but as you said I want to smooth it at those revs. You did it by retarding the timing at 0-3% TPS, I may give it a try.

I took a look at the low octane ignition curve, timing seems a bit retarded compared to stock in that area -3,500- so once I tested the current map it would be as easy as disconnecting the LO cable under the seat and see how it runs.
But I don't know if it makes sense. Damn, it's a steep learning curve!
__________________
Jaime

2007 KTM 990 Adventure
2012 Yamaha BWs 125
Jaimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 02:03 PM   #2270
tahoeacr
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goti View Post
Thanks mate.
Not a real problem but as you said I want to smooth it at those revs. You did it by retarding the timing at 0-3% TPS, I may give it a try.

I took a look at the low octane ignition curve, timing seems a bit retarded compared to stock in that area -3,500- so once I tested the current map it would be as easy as disconnecting the LO cable under the seat and see how it runs.
But I don't know if it makes sense. Damn, it's a steep learning curve!
Low octane would be a good test but be sure to only pay attention to the exact area of the map. Do you have your throttle tube marked so you know exactly what TPS your at?
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 03:03 PM   #2271
Jaimoto
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jaimoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Spaniard in Chile
Oddometer: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by tahoeacr View Post
Low octane would be a good test but be sure to only pay attention to the exact area of the map.
Will do, thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tahoeacr View Post
Do you have your throttle tube marked so you know exactly what TPS your at?
I'll work on that -saw your post about it- as soon as I get back to the bike, have to adjust throttle cables first. Also need to adjust the transmission chain, too much slack makes the on-off feeling worse.
__________________
Jaime

2007 KTM 990 Adventure
2012 Yamaha BWs 125
Jaimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 08:47 PM   #2272
MAXVERT
Rough Rider
 
MAXVERT's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Sun Valley Idaho, Baja Arizona
Oddometer: 1,017
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goti View Post
Will do, thanks.



I'll work on that -saw your post about it- as soon as I get back to the bike, have to adjust throttle cables first. Also need to adjust the transmission chain, too much slack makes the on-off feeling worse.
Try stock map, after market exhaust, open the intake, cpr ect.
decat, get TB adjusted and you should be good for 40 mph.

I flew 12,000 miles with that cable.

Also add a little fish oil or ride up to Idaho with Martin and I'll get them
right.

Hey Goti, free beers if you can tell me where my avatar is located.

Max
__________________
Da oggi la strada
senza limiti
MAXVERT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 09:57 PM   #2273
Jaimoto
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jaimoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Spaniard in Chile
Oddometer: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAXVERT View Post
Try stock map, after market exhaust, open the intake, cpr ect.
decat, get TB adjusted and you should be good for 40 mph.

I flew 12,000 miles with that cable.

Also add a little fish oil or ride up to Idaho with Martin and I'll get them
right.

Hey Goti, free beers if you can tell me where my avatar is located.

Max


Hey Max! Going to Idaho sounds easier than learning about this stuff! I could even meet some Basque people there, they could fix the FI. With hammers.
Not looking for great mpg (not the main goal at least) but to smooth the throttle a bit. I still need to test what I did and try not to modify lots of things at the same time.
Again, thanks for bringing the cable down here.

Oh, it's the monument to moto messengers located ... well, I don't know where it is, so Martyn will have to pay for the beers
Say hi to Bonnie, mate.

Jaime
__________________
Jaime

2007 KTM 990 Adventure
2012 Yamaha BWs 125
Jaimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 08:16 PM   #2274
Alleycatdad
Unbunch yer panties!
 
Alleycatdad's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: True Norcal, not that Bay Area/Sacto Crap...
Oddometer: 1,425
Anyone have this running with windows 8? My tuneecu laptop is dead....

Thanks!

Sa
__________________
When in doubt, PIN IT! It may not help, but it'll sure end the suspense...
Wretched Exce$$ See ADVr's around the world-ADV spotwalla page
Riding Wretched Wretched Passes
Bad decisions make good stories.
Alleycatdad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 10:47 PM   #2275
Reese
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Central Coast, CA
Oddometer: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alleycatdad View Post
Anyone have this running with windows 8? My tuneecu laptop is dead....

Thanks!

Sa
Runs on my 32-bit Windows 8 with no driver install required.
Reese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 10:51 PM   #2276
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reese View Post
Runs on my 32-bit Windows 8 with no driver install required.
Same here. No issue on 64bit. Connected right away.
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 07:09 AM   #2277
Alleycatdad
Unbunch yer panties!
 
Alleycatdad's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: True Norcal, not that Bay Area/Sacto Crap...
Oddometer: 1,425
Cool. Thanks for the w8 info. That simplifies things a lot.

Sa
__________________
When in doubt, PIN IT! It may not help, but it'll sure end the suspense...
Wretched Exce$$ See ADVr's around the world-ADV spotwalla page
Riding Wretched Wretched Passes
Bad decisions make good stories.
Alleycatdad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 03:19 PM   #2278
Dagwood_55
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dagwood_55's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Ozarks
Oddometer: 1,323
Got my cable in from CJ a month or so ago. Downloaded TuneECU and drivers. Hooked it all up and connected, got a green light, ser no and all. But did'nt down load or change anything.

Now I'm ready to do some experimenting, but can't connect. No green light, and after a bit it times out.

Any ideas?? Do I have to download the drivers again??

Win 7
__________________
Live long, love much, laugh often, and
Ride, Ride, Ride.....
Dagwood_55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 04:31 PM   #2279
Dagwood_55
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dagwood_55's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Ozarks
Oddometer: 1,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagwood_55 View Post
Got my cable in from CJ a month or so ago. Downloaded TuneECU and drivers. Hooked it all up and connected, got a green light, ser no and all. But did'nt down load or change anything.

Now I'm ready to do some experimenting, but can't connect. No green light, and after a bit it times out.

Any ideas?? Do I have to download the drivers again??

Win 7
I've made sure I'm disconnected from the Internet. Should a light on the ODBII connector be on? Not one on. But I put a test lite to the plug on the bike end. And I have power to the top connection on the double side.

Anything else??
__________________
Live long, love much, laugh often, and
Ride, Ride, Ride.....
Dagwood_55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 07:03 AM   #2280
Dagwood_55
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dagwood_55's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Ozarks
Oddometer: 1,323
So, I've done everything I can think of to connect to the bike.

Bear in mind, when I first got the cable a few weeks ago, connected right up, green light and ser no read.

Bike is a 07 S Adventure, CJ's cable, Win 7 notebook.

I've re installed TuneECU, uninstalled and reinstalled the drivers, tried several diff drivers. Downloaded something that read my USB device and recognized it. Tried serial port, USB port, Com1 thru 4, VCR (?) on and off, tried connecting every conciveable variation of key on, hook up, etc that I can think of.

Got power to 1 connection of the bikes plug, still power to the next connection.
Checked and read every thread that is out there.

But I still must be missing one little thing and its fustrating as can be, especially since I've already connected once before.

Any ideas??
__________________
Live long, love much, laugh often, and
Ride, Ride, Ride.....
Dagwood_55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014