ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-08-2013, 02:59 AM   #2341
StevenD
Hmmmm, dirt!
 
StevenD's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Holland, Amserdammed
Oddometer: 1,110
diffrent computer, with ride by wire and all.
__________________
999 LC8 Rat-Rally custom - 500 EXC - XR666R '85
StevenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 03:31 AM   #2342
Yascher
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Yascher's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Moscow, Russia
Oddometer: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by evildingo View Post
I used KM601EU1180232Map.hex2011 ktm990r with acro map , do I disconnect the o2 with bike running or set it before the download starts ?


Re: FT232 USB UART Driver
Reply #3 on: October 05, 2011, 08:16:26 am
Bigger Bigger Smaller Smaller Reset Reset
go here http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm all the way to the right under "comments" on the table it says "Available as setup executable" then download that and it will do the setup for you
Logged
make sure if you disable O2s in the map to remove sensors and plug the exhaust, otherwise you will have 2 cooked sensors
Yascher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 02:44 AM   #2343
kenhaw
2006 Adventure S EU
 
kenhaw's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Cannes, France.
Oddometer: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagwood_55 View Post
Got a couple of questions about error codes..

Bike is running very well, just installed the Rottwieller 07/07 2to1 2% map.

But I have 3 error codes:

First is PO113, which I believe is a sensor which is on top of the airbox, which Rott took out. Do I reset it or what?? Did you reinstall in the bottomplate? If yes, just reset errorcodes under ECU on the top of the Tune Ecu.

next is PO222 2nd throttle position sensor, low voltage (short to ground or open circut) Ran a search on this one and came up with nothing. Did you remove the secondary throttleblades? If yes, make sure they are disabled in the map section left hand side. If no, reset error codes under the ECU section top of the page in Tune Ecu.

last is PO444 Purge Valve system open of short to ground. Again ??? Again did you remove this system? If yes make sure it is disabled in the map section, SAS. If no, reset error codes like above.

If anyone has any info to share, Thanks,
kenneth
__________________
KTM Forever.
kenhaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 02:51 AM   #2344
kenhaw
2006 Adventure S EU
 
kenhaw's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Cannes, France.
Oddometer: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by renogeorge View Post
I thought the sensor in the stock air box cover (ambient air?) gets relocated to the CPR base plate and re-connected.

I have been asking about the secondary butterflies and wondering how to deal with them in Tune ECU. Isn't that the second TPS? I am still not clear if they can be turned off in Tune ECU, fooled by setting them at 100% open or??? If you have removed the secondary butterflies, then you disable them in the Map section on the left hand side of Tune Ecu program. If you did not remove them but want them full time open, then you open them 100% in tune Ecu

Isn't the purge valve part of the cannister system? Once removed, don't we turn that off? Is that EPC? No the purge valve is part of the SAI system.
Once removed, disable SAI in the left hand side of the map section in tune ecu. The EPC system is the system that limits power in first and second gear. Disable that and get some free extra power.


May want to check out the Rottweiler/CPR thread which is getting similar questions related to TuneECU.

FWIW
kenneth
__________________
KTM Forever.
kenhaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 03:06 AM   #2345
kenhaw
2006 Adventure S EU
 
kenhaw's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Cannes, France.
Oddometer: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by evildingo View Post
So which is the best map ??
You have a Adventure 990R correct?

you have 2 choices from Tune Ecu

1st is model year 2009, but reads 2010 and this is called http://www.tuneecu.com/Tunes_in_Hex_...0902032Map.zip

2nd is model year 2011; not sure if you can use this but this is called
http://www.tuneecu.com/Tunes_in_Hex_...1180232Map.zip

unpack them into a folder ex, KTM Maps and have Tune Ecu open the map, then connect tune ecu to your bike and download map into the bike.
There is not really a perfect map for anything. You will have to try and change settings yourself if you are not happy with the base settings of the two maps.
Both maps are for bikes with akropovic exhaust but no mention about secondary butterflies, just remember to disable them in the map section of tune ecu.

Kenneth
__________________
KTM Forever.
kenhaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 03:30 AM   #2346
kenhaw
2006 Adventure S EU
 
kenhaw's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Cannes, France.
Oddometer: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagwood_55 View Post
So, I've done everything I can think of to connect to the bike.

Bear in mind, when I first got the cable a few weeks ago, connected right up, green light and ser no read.

Bike is a 07 S Adventure, CJ's cable, Win 7 notebook.

I've re installed TuneECU, uninstalled and reinstalled the drivers, tried several diff drivers. Downloaded something that read my USB device and recognized it. Tried serial port, USB port, Com1 thru 4, VCR (?) on and off, tried connecting every conciveable variation of key on, hook up, etc that I can think of.


Got power to 1 connection of the bikes plug, still power to the next connection.
Checked and read every thread that is out there.

But I still must be missing one little thing and its fustrating as can be, especially since I've already connected once before.

Any ideas??
Do you use the connect/ disconnect under the ECU Tab in tune ecu?
__________________
KTM Forever.
kenhaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 06:22 AM   #2347
xTomKx
Gnarly Adventurer
 
xTomKx's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: CNJ
Oddometer: 181
Anybody in NJ or Philly area who can let me use their Tune ECU cable?
__________________
2012 KTM 990A, 2006 KTM 250 2s, and many other toys
xTomKx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 01:55 PM   #2348
Bob_Wilson
Adventurer
 
Bob_Wilson's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Newcastle -upon-Tyne, England UK
Oddometer: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salzig View Post
Now!
It works with the RC8, why shouldn't it with the 1190 Adv?
I don't know - it just doesn't.
Bob_Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 08:11 PM   #2349
mschviuz
Gnarly Adventurer
 
mschviuz's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Mississippi
Oddometer: 100
anybody have stock exhaust? if so...which map do you use?

I have a stock 2007 ktm 990 adventure and I'm wanting to find the best map for smoothing out the abrupt on/off feeling. My bike also has a bit of a hesitation sometimes right when I throttle on. I'm thinking about trying this map KM601US0704501Map

Any input or advice?

Also, when I downloaded tune ecu it loads up in the triumph interface. Will it change to ktm once I connect it to the bike or is there a setting I'm not seeing?
mschviuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 10:00 PM   #2350
mjskier
Gnarly Adventurer
 
mjskier's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yascher View Post
make sure if you disable O2s in the map to remove sensors and plug the exhaust, otherwise you will have 2 cooked sensors
Why is that? (not saying you are wrong, I just don't understand the logic)
mjskier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 03:22 AM   #2351
Spark01
V-Twin
 
Spark01's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Oddometer: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjskier View Post
Why is that? (not saying you are wrong, I just don't understand the logic)
If the O2 are turned of in Tuneecu also the heating element of the O2 is shutdown.
This heating element makes sure that the "probe" of the O2 stays clean.
When the heating is turned of the sensor will get polluted to much and fail.
__________________
'10 990SMT
Spark01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 09:29 PM   #2352
mjskier
Gnarly Adventurer
 
mjskier's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spark01 View Post
If the O2 are turned of in Tuneecu also the heating element of the O2 is shutdown.
This heating element makes sure that the "probe" of the O2 stays clean.
When the heating is turned of the sensor will get polluted to much and fail.
Good info, thanks.
So what do you use to plug the holes if you remove the sensors?
mjskier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 10:07 PM   #2353
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,177
o2s are overrated...

Been turning mine one and off as long as TE has been out trying different maps and modifying mine, haven't had one fail yet.
When dose the heater work? during warm up?
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!
Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 03:00 AM   #2354
KaytM
Just a fella.
 
KaytM's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland.
Oddometer: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjskier View Post
Good info, thanks.
So what do you use to plug the holes if you remove the sensors?
M18 x 1.5mm Oxygen o2 Lambda Sensor blanking Plug Caps.
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...e=STRK:MESE:IT
__________________
2006.5 990 ADVENTURE.
KaytM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 06:42 AM   #2355
Jaimoto
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jaimoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Santiago, Chile
Oddometer: 1,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dusty View Post
o2s are overrated...

Been turning mine one and off as long as TE has been out trying different maps and modifying mine, haven't had one fail yet.
When dose the heater work? during warm up?
Same here.
I rode for a long time with O2 eliminators and thought my sensors should be cooked since that was what I learnt a few years ago. However I never got error codes and according to tuneecu O2s are working fine, now running with an Akro 07 map with O2s enabled.
__________________
Jaime

2007 KTM 990 Adventure
2012 Yamaha BWs 125
Jaimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014