ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-01-2014, 04:17 PM   #2671
tocou
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: La Tuque, Quebec, Canada
Oddometer: 78
Tune ECU Cable for KTM 990 in Canada

I'm looking to buy a Tune ECU Cable for my 2011 KTM 990 Adventure Dakar Edition.

I'm from Canada and wherever I look, I found some cables for about 50$ to 90$, but the shipping costs are 30$ to 50$ !!!

I'm not very good with the small stuff, so building a cable myself is out of the option...

Any idea where I can get a complete cable (USB in laptop to 6 pin connector in bike) in Canada or at a total cost of about 50$ including shipping ???
tocou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 10:17 PM   #2672
BigTony
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Oddometer: 228
I'm looking for a better way to import data into TuneECU. I've searched a ton and haven't found any solutions

What I'm trying to figure out how to do is paste an excel table into tuneecu.

I'm able to export data and then open that up in excel. What I'd then like to do is modify values in excel, then get those modified values back into TuneECU somehow.

It's getting the data back into TuneECU that is challenging. I've tried hand editing some cells, and that would take forever! Especially since there doesn't seem to be a way to just type in the value you want in the cell and you have to use the up down arrows to adjust each one. The capabilities of this software are amazing, but the editing interface is the least user friendly thing I've ever seen. Why can't you just type in a value????

Anyone have any tips here? Does anyone know if there would be a way to format the data in excel such that I could paste it in?
BigTony is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 07:18 AM   #2673
StevenD
Hmmmm, dirt!
 
StevenD's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Holland, Amserdammed
Oddometer: 1,111
No, not possible. I have ran into the same issue and had some emails about it with the developers, they think it's not an issue. Please, send the friendly guys at tuneecu a mail too, perhaps if they know there is demand, they will make that possible!

Verstuurd vanaf mijn LG-D802 met Tapatalk
__________________
999 LC8 Rat-Rally custom - 500 EXC - XR666R '85
StevenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 03:04 PM   #2674
unityraptor
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2014
Oddometer: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoundOz View Post
If the logging function works this could be the best thing to happen to TuneEcu for KTM ever. If only the O2 sensors were wideband....
As the conceptor of the app, i can garantee you that the log function works....
unityraptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 04:43 AM   #2675
Spark01
V-Twin
 
Spark01's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Oddometer: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by unityraptor View Post
As the conceptor of the app, i can garantee you that the log function works....
To bad it doesn't work on a Apple phone/Ipad
__________________
'10 990SMT
Spark01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 06:42 AM   #2676
jconly
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jconly's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: NYC
Oddometer: 380
Throttle Body Balance Tools

Hey Guys,

Figure I'd post up here...
As we all know, balancing the TB's through software is a bit of an inaccurate and difficult process with the numbers jumping.

Wondering what hardware you guys are using / recommend for the job on this bike.

Been using the Motion Pro 4 carb sync tool, but wondering if there is a better, easier option?

Thanks!
jconly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 10:04 AM   #2677
Themastermike
Studly Adventurer
 
Themastermike's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: So Ill
Oddometer: 680
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconly View Post
Hey Guys,

Figure I'd post up here...
As we all know, balancing the TB's through software is a bit of an inaccurate and difficult process with the numbers jumping.

Wondering what hardware you guys are using / recommend for the job on this bike.

Been using the Motion Pro 4 carb sync tool, but wondering if there is a better, easier option?

Thanks!
Id think a balance tube with atf fluid in it would be good. Work on my strom, a Vee twin.

I forget what they call them. you make a u loop in a piece of tube, put atf fluid in it, connect the ends to the vacuum port on each cylinder
, and when they are each pulling the same the fluid level be the same on each side.


Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2
__________________
BBF 03-09-13 "It is cool. I was playing dakar racer It truly was a gr8 day of riding you bitch"
Themastermike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 02:24 PM   #2678
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by Themastermike View Post
Id think a balance tube with atf fluid in it would be good. Work on my strom, a Vee twin.

I forget what they call them. you make a u loop in a piece of tube, put atf fluid in it, connect the ends to the vacuum port on each cylinder
, and when they are each pulling the same the fluid level be the same on each side.
Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2
These Manometers are cheap, but you need a long tube of water.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pressure_measurement
Mercury was used because it is very heavy, so the tube is only 2 ft long. Good luck on finding mercury these days.

But, these are a PITA to use, the column will separate and cause accuracy problems. If you rev the motor and chop the throttle, it will suck the fluid into the engine. You need a small jet to damp the pulses. I've used these for 20 years. PITA.

Get an electronic 'twin depression gage', about $80 last time I got one. Very accurate. Portable. You can ride the bike and test it under load.
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 02:34 PM   #2679
Themastermike
Studly Adventurer
 
Themastermike's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: So Ill
Oddometer: 680
No mercury

Works good

http://www.stromtrooper.com/general-...how-guide.html

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2
__________________
BBF 03-09-13 "It is cool. I was playing dakar racer It truly was a gr8 day of riding you bitch"
Themastermike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 05:00 PM   #2680
jconly
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jconly's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: NYC
Oddometer: 380
Thanks guys!

Looking to avoid the homemade manometer though, especially since I already have the CarbSync. Also would like something smaller and more portable / storable. Seems every homemade alternative I see is huge.

Zuber, that sounds like it may just be what I'm looking for.
Especially nice to be able to see the sync under load too. Idle isn't always the most accurate representation, I feel.

Gonna give it a google, but is there any particular one that you have in mind?

EDIT: Did a quick google, and it looks like the TwinMax is the major result, designed for the MCY industry. Zuber, is this what you have? Know anything about it? Gonna research some more, but looks like it pops up a lot on the MCY forums.

jconly screwed with this post 04-06-2014 at 05:13 PM
jconly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 05:20 PM   #2681
supercreep
_______________
 
supercreep's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Denver, Colorado
Oddometer: 1,392
STE SK model Flowmeter is an option as well
supercreep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 07:04 PM   #2682
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconly View Post
Thanks guys!

Looking to avoid the homemade manometer though, especially since I already have the CarbSync. Also would like something smaller and more portable / storable. Seems every homemade alternative I see is huge.

Zuber, that sounds like it may just be what I'm looking for.
Especially nice to be able to see the sync under load too. Idle isn't always the most accurate representation, I feel.

Gonna give it a google, but is there any particular one that you have in mind?

EDIT: Did a quick google, and it looks like the TwinMax is the major result, designed for the MCY industry. Zuber, is this what you have? Know anything about it? Gonna research some more, but looks like it pops up a lot on the MCY forums.
TwinMAX, that's the one. Overly sensitive, but that's adjustable. Been using the same one for 15 years, very nice unit.
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 11:37 AM   #2683
tocou
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: La Tuque, Quebec, Canada
Oddometer: 78
Map recommandation

I was wondering which map would you recommand for my bike:

- 2011 990 Adventure Dakar Edition (same engine as "R" models);
- 2 into 1 Akrapovic exhaust with baffle;
- SW7 air intake system (like CPR Rottweiler);
- SAS and canister are both removed;
- Secondary butterflies removed as well;
- I can remove other shit if necessary !!!

I have the standard KTM map on the bike for now. I'm learning to use TuneECU and I need to put the best map for my new setup.

Map #1: Fuel economy for when I'm about to hit the road for a while.
Map #2: Max horsepower for when I'm hitting the dirt !
tocou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 01:39 PM   #2684
jconly
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jconly's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: NYC
Oddometer: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuber View Post
TwinMAX, that's the one. Overly sensitive, but that's adjustable. Been using the same one for 15 years, very nice unit.
Also just discovered the TecMate CarbMate.
Going to do some research between the two.
Looks like the CarbMate used LED's instead of the needle, which I read is twitchy.
jconly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 09:28 PM   #2685
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by tocou View Post
I was wondering which map would you recommand for my bike:

- 2011 990 Adventure Dakar Edition (same engine as "R" models);
- 2 into 1 Akrapovic exhaust with baffle;
- SW7 air intake system (like CPR Rottweiler);
- SAS and canister are both removed;
- Secondary butterflies removed as well;
- I can remove other shit if necessary !!!

I have the standard KTM map on the bike for now. I'm learning to use TuneECU and I need to put the best map for my new setup.

Map #1: Fuel economy for when I'm about to hit the road for a while.
Map #2: Max horsepower for when I'm hitting the dirt !
The PowerTripp990AdvWings map is a good one to start with. It's for a 2-1 exhaust, but with the stock air box. So, you've opened up the intake, but plugged up the exhaust. This map would be a good start.
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014