ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-23-2014, 02:14 PM   #2851
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by procycle View Post
Here's 2 more columns for the left end of that chart

250 320

1.30 1.40
Thanks
edited with new info.

250 -- 1.30
320 -- 1.40
350 -- 1.65
360 -- 1.68
375 -- 1.73
390 -- 1.77
400 -- 1.80
410 -- 1.83
420 -- 1.86
435 -- 1.91
450 -- 1.95
470 -- 2.01
485 -- 2.06
500 -- 2.10
530 -- 2.19
550 -- 2.25
580 -- 2.34
600 -- 2.40
630 -- 2.49
800 -- 3.00
1013 -- 3.64
1050 -- 3.75
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!
Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 02:36 PM   #2852
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,254
Time to get extra bungs welded in, sick of having to rip half my bike apart to recalibrate the 02s after you send the LM-2 in for repairs. Should be able to get at these without removing anything.

__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!
Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 10:39 PM   #2853
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,885
Thanks for the replies!!

I'm just looking for a simple fix for the irritating flat spot at 3800-4100 rpm. Somebody had mentioned the 2nd throttles had an effect on this.

On steady acceleration or WOT it powers right through the rpm range… it's when I sit at a steady speed for a bit, then smoothly accelerate - it bogs quite a bit.

07 990S, LV slip-ons, rottweiler, stock map - EPC SAS off, O2 on. 220km (135 miles) until fuel light. Still not as good as I would like.

I tried the Akra map (basically cured it) but fuel mileage was terrible.

Can I not have both????

Cheers!!
Canuck
=========================


Look at the Ign maps. You have a big advance peak between 2500-4500 rpm and 8-10% throttle rpm, then it retards at 15% throttle to create your flat spot. Cut these peaks off (retard) to fix.

The Akro map is very rich and it has the O2 sensors turned off. Turn the O2 sensors back on so it will lean out when you are crusing. You may not need this rich a map. Try leaning out the fuel maps in the crusing area, like 2800-4200 rpm, not below the stock map for safety.

Of course check you valves, TPS, balance, etc.
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 04:55 PM   #2854
atk_nut
and atk_nut_wife
 
atk_nut's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Duncan, BC
Oddometer: 595
Cable

Anybody have a ktm cable setup they want to sell?

I did a TB sync and I think I've knocked something out of whack on my 990R.

Thanks.
__________________
Teach a kid to ride.

http://members.shaw.ca/fourup
http://vimeo.com/jollyrogerranch
atk_nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 12:25 AM   #2855
1coolbanana
Beastly Adventurer
 
1coolbanana's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: NW Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 1,401
Ive been using and modifying (playing around with ) the Akra map from the Tune ECU site KM601EU1180232 KTM 990R 2011.
Is there anywhere to find out or do you guys know whether this map was created to have the secondary butterflies in or out?
Cheers
__________________
Cowabunga dudes................Wuuuuka Wuka

2012 990 R
2004 950 A..........sadly missed
1coolbanana is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 04:07 PM   #2856
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1coolbanana View Post
Ive been using and modifying (playing around with ) the Akra map from the Tune ECU site KM601EU1180232 KTM 990R 2011.
Is there anywhere to find out or do you guys know whether this map was created to have the secondary butterflies in or out?
Cheers
Butterflys IN. I don't know of any maps on the TuneEcu site for butterflys out.

Interesting that the map has the O2 turned ON. Most Akro's for the USA have the O2 sensors turned off. That map also has good ignition curves.
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 07:16 PM   #2857
1coolbanana
Beastly Adventurer
 
1coolbanana's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: NW Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 1,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuber View Post
Butterflys IN. I don't know of any maps on the TuneEcu site for butterflys out.

Interesting that the map has the O2 turned ON. Most Akro's for the USA have the O2 sensors turned off. That map also has good ignition curves.
Thanks for that
I thought that Id ask because this map doesnt seem to be whats reflected by most of the posts.
Ive made some slight adjustments to the ignition peaks just in the 0-3% range by flattening them out and limiting max advance to 55 degrees from 60 in the low throttle openings.
This is to just smooth out the on/off throttle transition.
Seems to be an improvement without doing anything too risky since I havent got dyno time or the ability to check afr either.
Off for a test ride now

Thanks again for confirming that :-)
__________________
Cowabunga dudes................Wuuuuka Wuka

2012 990 R
2004 950 A..........sadly missed
1coolbanana is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 12:03 PM   #2858
canuck0199
Adventurer
 
canuck0199's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Vernon BC
Oddometer: 15
Help!!!

Is there anybody out there who can send me a custom map for my 07 990S?

The Akro map, (O2 on or off) gives me terrible mileage. The stock map gets better mileage but still not great but has the terrible flat spot around 4000rpm.
I really don't want to start messing with the timimg etc. myself. I have no idea what I am doing.

I have only played around with the 2 maps, O2, SAI, EPC but I will be in over my head if I take it any further.

Details: 07 990S, SAI removed, Rottweiler intake, Wings slip-ons.

Just finished a tank with the Akro map O2 on. Bike ran pretty well but terrible mileage. (170km until low fuel light)

Thanks very much for all the help!!

Canuck
canuck0199@hotmail.com
__________________
'07 990S
'06 640A
'06 300XCW
canuck0199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 02:16 PM   #2859
renogeorge
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Reno
Oddometer: 1,269
I sent you one I have been running on my '07 for 2-3,000 miles. No dyno or even A/F analysis. But much better than stock for me.
__________________
KTMs--300, 518, 990
renogeorge is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 05:56 PM   #2860
canuck0199
Adventurer
 
canuck0199's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Vernon BC
Oddometer: 15
Thanks George!

Is anybody running the 2007/08 CPR 2 into 1 map with dual slip-ons?

Will this cause any problems?

Canuck
__________________
'07 990S
'06 640A
'06 300XCW
canuck0199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 07:23 AM   #2861
Cowtowner
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Cowtowner's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Calgary
Oddometer: 196
Question on TuneECU and Powercommander V on my '07 990:

If I want to load a new TuneECU map but have a powercommander, how do I then do the 15 minute reset? Load in a zero powercommander map? Or can I just reset in TuneECU itself?
Cowtowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 05:53 AM   #2862
Cowtowner
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Cowtowner's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Calgary
Oddometer: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowtowner View Post
Question on TuneECU and Powercommander V on my '07 990:

If I want to load a new TuneECU map but have a powercommander, how do I then do the 15 minute reset? Load in a zero powercommander map? Or can I just reset in TuneECU itself?
Anyone?
Cowtowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 08:12 AM   #2863
pdxthmper
Gnarly Adventurer
 
pdxthmper's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Portland OR
Oddometer: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowtowner View Post
Anyone?
You don't. The PC and TuneECU are apples and oranges. I don't know if you can remove the PC, and load a new Tune on the ECU or not. After loading a new map, you run the bike for 15 min.
__________________
KTM 990 ADV MAKING GROWN MEN ACT LIKE HOOLIGANS
XR 650"L"
pdxthmper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 08:14 AM   #2864
pdxthmper
Gnarly Adventurer
 
pdxthmper's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Portland OR
Oddometer: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by canuck0199 View Post
Thanks George!

Is anybody running the 2007/08 CPR 2 into 1 map with dual slip-ons?

Will this cause any problems?

Canuck

Can't see why, That map ran very poorly on my 07 with a 2:1. VERY rich, with mpg to match, and the smell of raw fuel.
__________________
KTM 990 ADV MAKING GROWN MEN ACT LIKE HOOLIGANS
XR 650"L"
pdxthmper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 09:24 AM   #2865
renogeorge
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Reno
Oddometer: 1,269
So, I would think that running this map on a bike with freer flowing dual slip ons would lean out the mixture some. At least going in the right direction?

I also found the original CPR map to be rich with 2 into 1. I leaned it out from 3500 down. That helped quite a bit. I'm sure it's not perfect, but very rideable with 38 mpg highway. I'm still a little rich. My next mods will focus on the 3000-4500 range.

I am just a beginner playing with TuneECU without benefit of a wideband or dyno. So take it accordingly....

FWIW
__________________
KTMs--300, 518, 990
renogeorge is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014