ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-01-2011, 10:36 AM   #526
catalina38
Contrarian
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Stingray bay CA.
Oddometer: 1,519
I sent them an email asking for a way to unselect the IMMOBILIZER on the 2009+ 990's. If they get a few more requests that might help
__________________
A mangy man chasing a cautionary tale

KTM 990R 500EXC
catalina38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 06:28 AM   #527
RoundOz
Plenty of seasoning
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: West Nebraska
Oddometer: 925
Datalogger

For those of us without ready access to a dyno (local bikeshop has one but the owner lost a potential customer when he told me how much he hated KTM twins) is there a small, portable cheap gas monitor that slips into a pipe for checking for lean/rich conditions? I have seen these used by privateer racebikes during practice - the sensor just slips into the pipe.

I have read several threads where wideband O2 sensors have been installed instead of or in addition to the stock lamdas - I don't see the need for a permanent install like this, and I don't personally see the need for tuning the cylinders separately - I am looking for a shotgun approach to work out the flatspot, optimize the fuel economy and avoid dangerously lean conditions.
I will soon be installing a 2-1 and am thinking that sampling in the common pipe while making the same adjustments to both cylinder maps will suit my purposes. The log of O2 could be compared side by side with a helmet video recording of the test ride, showing engine speed, gear selection and approximate throttle position, foregoing the need for any more elaborate data inputs.

Did I mention cheap?

The even cheaper approach would be to use someone else's modified map as a baseline, then seat of the pants fine adjustments for my bike, but I have been waiting months for someone to report here that they have something to share. Are the satisfied tinkerers too busy riding to worry about blogging?
__________________
2009 KTM Adventure
RoundOz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 09:32 AM   #528
tahoeacr
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,209
You can't accurately do it with a 2-1. Dynojets software couldn't even tune my bike with a 2-1 sniffer. If your looking for milage ,you have to do cylinders seperately.
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 01:11 AM   #529
RoundOz
Plenty of seasoning
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: West Nebraska
Oddometer: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by tahoeacr View Post
You can't accurately do it with a 2-1. Dynojets software couldn't even tune my bike with a 2-1 sniffer. If your looking for milage ,you have to do cylinders seperately.
Thats too bad...I know you have a lot of experience with this Tahoe. I guess I figured that if that system worked for a roadracer, it should be more than good enough for the results I want. Of course we are going back a couple of decades now, so ...
__________________
2009 KTM Adventure
RoundOz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 02:38 PM   #530
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,160
Question

Well winter has loosened its grip up on us so i thought i should mess withe this some more and see if i can brick my ECU.

Question, is there a way to disable the o2 sensors in TuneECU?

Today i fired up my bike today and let it get fully up to temp and was trying to hold a steady throttle from of idle to 2000 rpm and gradually increase up to around 3500-4000 rpm and it was hunting a bit from 3000-4000.

So i loaded the Arka map for my 07 and all the hunting was gone! sweet. But i sure could smell the difference in fuel it pumps in. I dont know if the hunting cure is caused by the o2 being eliminated or the more fuel that is pumped in at the lower rpm's. Thats why i ask the question above.

No ride yet but tomorrow it might hit 50 deg.
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!

Dusty screwed with this post 04-05-2011 at 02:45 PM
Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 03:06 PM   #531
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dusty View Post
Question, is there a way to disable the o2 sensors in TuneECU?
yes look at the bottom left corner. There are check boxes. One of them is for o2 sensors.
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 04:08 PM   #532
RoundOz
Plenty of seasoning
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: West Nebraska
Oddometer: 925
Some clarification please...

I have seen several interpretations of how the KTM system uses the O2 sensors - some say they are only in effect during warm up and are part of the SAS control to warm up the cats (doesnt make much sense to me)...others say they are used in loop mode at low rpm and this changes to open loop at higher rpm (sensors ignored) and it is the changeover from closed to open loop that is partly to blame for the flatspot and hunting at 3-4000 rpm. I can understand the basics of how lamdas are used to get a "perfect" stoichiometric ratio and don't know why this would not be used at all times and load conditions, throughout the rev range.

Dusty, what do you hope to achieve by disabling them?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dusty View Post
Well winter has loosened its grip up on us so i thought i should mess withe this some more and see if i can brick my ECU.

Question, is there a way to disable the o2 sensors in TuneECU?

Today i fired up my bike today and let it get fully up to temp and was trying to hold a steady throttle from of idle to 2000 rpm and gradually increase up to around 3500-4000 rpm and it was hunting a bit from 3000-4000.

So i loaded the Arka map for my 07 and all the hunting was gone! sweet. But i sure could smell the difference in fuel it pumps in. I dont know if the hunting cure is caused by the o2 being eliminated or the more fuel that is pumped in at the lower rpm's. Thats why i ask the question above.

No ride yet but tomorrow it might hit 50 deg.
__________________
2009 KTM Adventure
RoundOz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 04:24 PM   #533
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoundOz View Post
I have seen several interpretations of how the KTM system uses the O2 sensors - some say they are only in effect during warm up and are part of the SAS control to warm up the cats (doesnt make much sense to me)...others say they are used in loop mode at low rpm and this changes to open loop at higher rpm (sensors ignored) and it is the changeover from closed to open loop that is partly to blame for the flatspot and hunting at 3-4000 rpm. I can understand the basics of how lamdas are used to get a "perfect" stoichiometric ratio and don't know why this would not be used at all times and load conditions, throughout the rev range.

Dusty, what do you hope to achieve by disabling them?
When i loaded the Arka map the o2's are shut off as a default. I dont know if the richer mix with the Arka or the o2 being disabled helped the hunting. So i guess what i am after is to try my stock map with the o2's shut off.

My understanding is that the o2's are off during warm up then once warmed up it uses the lamdas, then it will switch between open and closed loop depending on rpm. I did lower the F/L switching points a little lower but didn't notice a change.
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!

Dusty screwed with this post 04-05-2011 at 05:09 PM
Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 04:29 PM   #534
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikyto View Post
yes look at the bottom left corner. There are check boxes. One of them is for o2 sensors.
Ya i see the box... Tell me more... on the Diagnostic page? Have you done it? Mine light up when the bike is running and i dont see how to disable them..
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!
Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 04:36 PM   #535
catalina38
Contrarian
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Stingray bay CA.
Oddometer: 1,519
Isn't it possible to compare the early FI maps to the 2010/11 maps to see what values changed? KTM seems to have more or less fixed this with the newer FI bikes. Or are there other FI hardware changes?
__________________
A mangy man chasing a cautionary tale

KTM 990R 500EXC
catalina38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 04:43 PM   #536
RoundOz
Plenty of seasoning
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: West Nebraska
Oddometer: 925
My 2009...

...has a flatspot and hunts, not badly, but noticeably - I am led to understand that there were no changes from '09 to '10...it could just be in the basic calibrations/balancing throttle bodies and perhaps your bike has a more accurate setup than some others.

Quote:
Originally Posted by catalina38 View Post
Isn't it possible to compare the early FI maps to the 2010/11 maps to see what values changed? KTM seems to have more or less fixed this with the newer FI bikes. Or are there other FI hardware changes?
__________________
2009 KTM Adventure
RoundOz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 04:47 PM   #537
gettr
Team Turtle
 
gettr's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: LaSalle Co.
Oddometer: 686
I'm in for an Immobilizer deactivation. Currently I'm at $500+, and not sure warranty is covering it and still 2 more weeks out. And the worse part is, I'm spooked about taking this bike anywhere tow trucks can't get to, guess she's a highway queen. 2010 990R. Frigging sad.
gettr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 05:16 PM   #538
catalina38
Contrarian
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Stingray bay CA.
Oddometer: 1,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoundOz View Post
...has a flatspot and hunts, not badly, but noticeably - I am led to understand that there were no changes from '09 to '10...it could just be in the basic calibrations/balancing throttle bodies and perhaps your bike has a more accurate setup than some others.
I can lock my throttle at 3000,3500,4000,4500,5000 rpm or any where in between and its rock steady doesn't hunt and seems to accelerate through that range smoothly when riding. The complaints of stalling and the inability to have a steady throttle of the older bikes sounds different than yours. I have never ridden an early FI bike so I cant really compare but mine just seems to work well. Now that the 2011's are starting to show up I'm looking forward to hear how they work or if any changes have been made.
__________________
A mangy man chasing a cautionary tale

KTM 990R 500EXC
catalina38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 05:18 PM   #539
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikyto View Post
yes look at the bottom left corner. There are check boxes. One of them is for o2 sensors.
OK i found it on the map page under the Devices, i needed to expand that tab. you need to double click it...
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!
Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 05:44 PM   #540
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by catalina38 View Post
I can lock my throttle at 3000,3500,4000,4500,5000 rpm or any where in between and its rock steady doesn't hunt and seems to accelerate through that range smoothly when riding. The complaints of stalling and the inability to have a steady throttle of the older bikes sounds different than yours. I have never ridden an early FI bike so I cant really compare but mine just seems to work well. Now that the 2011's are starting to show up I'm looking forward to hear how they work or if any changes have been made.
Ok, i have been around the OC for a while and have seen a few issues with the the FI on the new bikes also, just look at one of your own threads. Not looking to get into a pissing match with you but enough pissin on the older bikes as you call them.

Got something helpful to add, then do, otherwise...
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!
Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014