ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-15-2011, 05:25 PM   #601
chrish4ku
Studly Adventurer
 
chrish4ku's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: San Leandro, CA
Oddometer: 737
Second 08 990 S Remap

So yesterday I updated my buddies KTM 990 2008 model with the stock map (minus O2) sensors. He has a totally stock setup with stock cans.

Flat spot is gone for him as well. Now he is searching for a set of pipes!~

MPG has not decreased (only the wrist can do that).

What a fun bike when it's "in-tune"....

Question: What does the "EPC" really do? It's disabled on the AKRO map.
__________________
_______________________
Chris
I don't normally ride on the street,,,but when I do,,I prefer lane splitting.
2011 KTM 990 Adventure / KTM 500 EXC
Chris' Sat Tracker
chrish4ku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 05:29 PM   #602
cpmodem
Orange Caveman
 
cpmodem's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: masa yee yah tee 59 14' 9" N / 135 26' 42" W
Oddometer: 7,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrish4ku View Post
Question: What does the "EPC" really do? It's disabled on the AKRO map.
EPC = Electronic Power Control. It retards acceleration in 2nd and 3rd gear.
__________________

-cp

DISCLAIMER: All observations made in this post are mine and based solely on my own anecdotal experiences, and may contain large doses of facetiousness. YMMV, of course. You are "on your own", and I take no responsibility if someone tries anything in this post and gets into trouble with the law, damages their person or property, or goes blind. Take everything you read or hear "anywhere" butt especially on the Web with a large dose of salt.

cpmodem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 04:52 AM   #603
stou
Gnarly Adventurer
 
stou's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Oddometer: 350
I looked at the differents maps on the TuneECU web site, and I'm not sure which one I must or can use.

I have a 2010 Adventure 990R with FMF Q4. It's a canadian model. There's 2 maps for the 990R on the web site:

'KTM 990 Adventure R All years US only with standrd exhaust'
'KTM 990 Adventure R 09 model year with Akropovic slip-on exhaust'

Is there a difference between canadian and US model? And what about 2009 and 2010 model, is there a difference between the mapping of those year models?
__________________
2010 KTM Adventure 990R - 2012 Ossa TR280i
'87 Honda TLR 200 - '72 Honda CB350K4 - '72 Honda CD175
http://www.stoudesign.com
Montreal to Moab 2008: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=343166
stou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 09:06 AM   #604
Spark01
V-Twin
 
Spark01's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Oddometer: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by stou View Post
I looked at the differents maps on the TuneECU web site, and I'm not sure which one I must or can use.

I have a 2010 Adventure 990R with FMF Q4. It's a canadian model. There's 2 maps for the 990R on the web site:

'KTM 990 Adventure R All years US only with standrd exhaust'
'KTM 990 Adventure R 09 model year with Akropovic slip-on exhaust'

Is there a difference between canadian and US model? And what about 2009 and 2010 model, is there a difference between the mapping of those year models?

2009 & 2010 are the same engine+ecu+mapping

I not 100% sure but the only difference between a euro mapping and the US can be the canister
We don't have that in europe....
__________________
'10 990SMT
Spark01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 10:23 AM   #605
stou
Gnarly Adventurer
 
stou's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Oddometer: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spark01 View Post
2009 & 2010 are the same engine+ecu+mapping

I not 100% sure but the only difference between a euro mapping and the US can be the canister
We don't have that in europe....
I must check again to be sure but I think we also have the canister in Canada.
__________________
2010 KTM Adventure 990R - 2012 Ossa TR280i
'87 Honda TLR 200 - '72 Honda CB350K4 - '72 Honda CD175
http://www.stoudesign.com
Montreal to Moab 2008: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=343166
stou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 05:36 PM   #606
stou
Gnarly Adventurer
 
stou's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Oddometer: 350
I check the current map on my 990R (canadian), and this is the same map as the US 990R, the KM601US0902002Map.

From what I saw on TuneECU web site, the only option I have for slip-on on a 990R is the KM601EU0902032Map. Is there someone who have tried this map on a US 990R?
__________________
2010 KTM Adventure 990R - 2012 Ossa TR280i
'87 Honda TLR 200 - '72 Honda CB350K4 - '72 Honda CD175
http://www.stoudesign.com
Montreal to Moab 2008: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=343166
stou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 11:35 AM   #607
Tom-Hamburg
Adventurer
 
Tom-Hamburg's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Hamburg
Oddometer: 84
04-17-11 TuneECUv1.9.1 now released

* Problems of disconnections and map reading (KTM) with Win7
corrected.

BR, Tom
__________________
TuneECU
-----------------
Triumph Speed Triple 1050
Triumph Rocket Roadster
Tom-Hamburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 12:02 PM   #608
Sapling
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Sapling's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 413
Can you guys clarify this step from the V1.9 manual for me??

When does the second part happen??



9.2 KTM
After a download a FI-Map, start the engine and let it idle. Do not touch the throttle for 15minutes. Then, turn off the ignition.


^^^^^^^ I get this part ^^^^^^^



After Download a EP-map into the ECU, turn off the ignition (key) , turn on the ignition, slowly rotate the Throttle until full throttle then slowly close the throttle, turn off the ignition.



^^^^^^^ Not this part^^^^^^^^^




__________________
2008 990 ADV AK map Ti Q4 pipes
Woods setup Yz 450F
http://www.youtube.com/user/saplingthrasher

Sapling screwed with this post 04-17-2011 at 01:05 PM
Sapling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 12:59 PM   #609
stou
Gnarly Adventurer
 
stou's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Oddometer: 350
I asked myself the same thing. You can see in the manual that the KTM 690 has 2 map. One FI and one EP. We don't have this on the 990.

I just completed to upload the Akro map for the 990R on my bike. I did the 15 minutes reset step. Now if it can stop rainning, maybe I will be able to do a test ride!
__________________
2010 KTM Adventure 990R - 2012 Ossa TR280i
'87 Honda TLR 200 - '72 Honda CB350K4 - '72 Honda CD175
http://www.stoudesign.com
Montreal to Moab 2008: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=343166
stou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 03:55 PM   #610
stou
Gnarly Adventurer
 
stou's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Oddometer: 350
I just did a road test, wow, the 990R is running smoother and I didn't was
able to make it stall at low speed like it was with the stock mapping.

Thanks to TuneECU, it's a very nice product!!!
__________________
2010 KTM Adventure 990R - 2012 Ossa TR280i
'87 Honda TLR 200 - '72 Honda CB350K4 - '72 Honda CD175
http://www.stoudesign.com
Montreal to Moab 2008: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=343166
stou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 12:16 AM   #611
Suncruiser
and Adventurer
 
Suncruiser's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Nelson....... New Zealand
Oddometer: 233
Immobilizer

Tom, do you see a possibility to 'switch off' the immobilizer in the ECU software? I'd really like to disable that function on my 2010 Adv 990 R.
thanks for all the good work,

ciao, Helmut
__________________
Good to be out there riding.
Peru to San Francisco 2011/2012 http://allthoseroads.wordpress.com/
Oz 2010 http://helmutgottschalk.wordpress.com/
2010 Adventure 990 R
Suncruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 02:33 AM   #612
harvester
Ready To Race
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Hungary
Oddometer: 5
Klinck's map fom superduke.net is great for my 06 SD 990 I really feel the horses in the engine now
The snatchiness and hunting is completeley gone with O2 sensors turned off in TuneECU.
Fuel consumption is 7,1 litres / 100 km mixed use (city, highway..), so I think it is not lean.

Oh, an I didn't do the 15 mins reset after the map upload, just warm up the engine to 5 bars.
harvester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 08:13 AM   #613
Spark01
V-Twin
 
Spark01's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Oddometer: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by harvester View Post
Klinck's map fom superduke.net.
I got some serious doubts about those maps from that site.

They tweak a lot on ignition and fuelling but i've never seen any datalogging or Dyno reports how the maps perform...on a bike.
Maybe it's feels great how the engine is running but how does it perform on the long term??.
There is a possibility that you have destroyed your engine after a couple of 1000 miles.

If i had a SD i won't let those maps touch my bike, and that's mine opinion.
__________________
'10 990SMT
Spark01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 09:41 AM   #614
tahoeacr
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spark01 View Post
I got some serious doubts about those maps from that site.

They tweak a lot on ignition and fuelling but i've never seen any datalogging or Dyno reports how the maps perform...on a bike.
Maybe it's feels great how the engine is running but how does it perform on the long term??.
There is a possibility that you have destroyed your engine after a couple of 1000 miles.

If i had a SD i won't let those maps touch my bike, and that's mine opinion.
Superduke maps(stock) have 6+- degrees less ignition timing than Adventure maps. If anyone wants me to try one and check the ignition timing send it to me. I have a knock sensor on my bike. I just don't have time to go over there and hunt it down.
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 11:28 AM   #615
Tom-Hamburg
Adventurer
 
Tom-Hamburg's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Hamburg
Oddometer: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suncruiser View Post
Tom, do you see a possibility to 'switch off' the immobilizer in the ECU software? I'd really like to disable that function on my 2010 Adv 990 R.
thanks for all the good work,

ciao, Helmut
Hi Helmut,

please ask Alain, he is the programer.

BR, Tom
__________________
TuneECU
-----------------
Triumph Speed Triple 1050
Triumph Rocket Roadster
Tom-Hamburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014