ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2011, 06:50 PM   #766
CHRIS_D
Studly Adventurer
 
CHRIS_D's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Southside of ATL, GA
Oddometer: 883
As mentioned earlier I installed the Akra map with the o2 sensor enabled. The bike seems to run a lot better with my 2 into 1 exhaust. Today I finally was able to fill her up with gas. With riding strictly street, which I'm taking it semi easy around town (with no riding over 65 MPH) I'm getting about 37 miles a gallon. Not the greatest, but honestly I'm happy because the bike seems to run a hell of a lot better with this Akra map installed. Unfortunately IMO the original stock map is just way to lean making the bike run real hot.
__________________
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2011 Victory Cross Country

CHRIS_D screwed with this post 05-12-2011 at 05:06 AM
CHRIS_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 07:06 PM   #767
catalina38
Contrarian
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Stingray bay CA.
Oddometer: 1,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by unkle_george View Post
25k miles on stock map + FMF's w/ no valve problems. The throttle response is much cleaner with the Akra map and that's what I'm running now.

What year?
__________________
A mangy man chasing a cautionary tale
Lurking more and posting less

KTM 990R 500EXC
catalina38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 09:35 PM   #768
RoundOz
Plenty of seasoning
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: West Nebraska
Oddometer: 984
Makes sense...

Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerCell View Post
I prefer to avoid disrupting the exhaust flow as much as possible, so I personally have not installed bungs. Removing the crossover is the option I use. With a 1.5" crossover I believe it's there to prevent a clogged cat converter from over heating...


.
...but I am running a 2-1 (CJ's pipe with Remus Ti) Have only ridden it twice since installing it. First ride the transition range (3500-4000) seemed rougher than usual. Second ride I let it idle 15 min (although I was of the understanding the 15 min idle only works after an ECU reset or remapping, but thought "what the heck, can't hurt"). I had no complaints about the fueling on the second ride at all. Both rides I had more bottom end than with the cats, maybe more top end as well - all very subjective, especially when I hadn't ridden the bike at all for several months! No idea about economy yet as i havent refueled...
__________________
2009 KTM Adventure
RoundOz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 10:48 PM   #769
Sapling
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Sapling's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 413
Did my first whack at the Tuneecu tonight and here is what I see....

08 990 running TI Q4 FMF pipes.

First thing I did was download and save my map....

Then I adjusted my thottle cables...

KM601AK0704501 Akra map
SaI on
O2 off
2nd butterfly on
EPC off

All cold readings

TPS

2% no throttle - 97% full throttle (this looks like it needs work....)

.75v zero throttle-3.80v at full throttle

I just spent 2 hours rereading this thread from the start... I'm tired...

looks like I am adjusting my TPS... Voltage to look for cold?? .66??
__________________
2008 990 ADV AK map Ti Q4 pipes
Woods setup Yz 450F
http://www.youtube.com/user/saplingthrasher
Sapling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 11:02 PM   #770
tahoeacr
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by catalina38 View Post
If the ECU could not maintain the A/F ratio it would throw a fault code.
I don't think the ECU would. I richened it up all the way until the engine cut out(10.6:1 just in case you might need that info). Also went real lean with stock map, cams and exhaust. Only time I have ever got a fault code was with sensor unplugged.

I ran FMF's on the stock map with no problems. The whole reason why I put a wide-band on my bike was back in 07 there were quite a few threads about Dealer said "you must put the Akra map in with mufflers". Typical dealer mis-information fed by KTM. ECU compensated for the muffler change. A/F ratios didn't change.

The ECU will keep the A/F ratio corrected in closed loop with the Lambda sensors with elevation change. However, in open loop it doesn't correct as much and will get appr. .5:1 richer with every 4K elevation change at 100%TPS. Actually, I can't say every 4K cause I haven't been to 12K yet but coming this Summer.
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 11:04 PM   #771
tahoeacr
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sapling View Post
Did my first whack at the Tuneecu tonight and here is what I see....

08 990 running TI Q4 FMF pipes.

First thing I did was download and save my map....

Then I adjusted my thottle cables...

KM601AK0704501 Akra map
SaI on
O2 off
2nd butterfly on
EPC off

All cold readings

TPS

2% no throttle - 97% full throttle (this looks like it needs work....)

.75v zero throttle-3.80v at full throttle

I just spent 2 hours rereading this thread from the start... I'm tired...

looks like I am adjusting my TPS... Voltage to look for cold?? .66??
Don't check it cold. It will change when warm.
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 11:30 PM   #772
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,253
Yep it will change when warmed up.

Mine will consistently drop .05 when fully warmed to fan cycles, from .65 to .60 so I've just left it there... FWIW

The target is between .5 to .6,
someone correct me if i am wrong.
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!
Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 12:23 AM   #773
jetpoweredmonkey OP
Rider of the Lost Empire
 
jetpoweredmonkey's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Oddometer: 185
You're not wrong.
__________________
R100GSPD - K100RS - R75/5 - Ural Gear-Up - Vanagon Westfalia 2WD Syncro Wannabe
http://www.flickr.com/photos/38874353@N05/
jetpoweredmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 07:18 AM   #774
catalina38
Contrarian
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Stingray bay CA.
Oddometer: 1,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by tahoeacr View Post
I don't think the ECU would. I richened it up all the way until the engine cut out(10.6:1 just in case you might need that info). Also went real lean with stock map, cams and exhaust. Only time I have ever got a fault code was with sensor unplugged.

I ran FMF's on the stock map with no problems. The whole reason why I put a wide-band on my bike was back in 07 there were quite a few threads about Dealer said "you must put the Akra map in with mufflers". Typical dealer mis-information fed by KTM. ECU compensated for the muffler change. A/F ratios didn't change.

The ECU will keep the A/F ratio corrected in closed loop with the Lambda sensors with elevation change. However, in open loop it doesn't correct as much and will get appr. .5:1 richer with every 4K elevation change at 100%TPS. Actually, I can't say every 4K cause I haven't been to 12K yet but coming this Summer.
Thanks for the info on the lack of codes being thrown, since it seems that the A/F ratio is the biggest concern with running aftermarket exhaust and a stock map. I figured some one would have tested the ratio's with a stock map and oem and aftermarket mufflers. If I am understanding you correctly the stock map will adjust and lean it self out for increasing altitude but the Akra map won't? I know my bike gets better mpg when I ride at 5000+ feet.
I did a loop around California last summer and I gained a couple of mpg when I was in the Lassen/Tahoe/Mammoth area's compared to the coastal area's I had been riding a few days before FWIW
__________________
A mangy man chasing a cautionary tale
Lurking more and posting less

KTM 990R 500EXC
catalina38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 08:08 AM   #775
Sapling
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Sapling's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by tahoeacr View Post
Don't check it cold. It will change when warm.

Best process for this?? Since the bike needs to be stripped to correct it??

Warm it all the way up then pull it open and check as quick as possible?

It seems logical that if it changes .5 lower when warm to just set it .5 high cold reinstall..... warm it up.... then recheck with fingers crossed...
__________________
2008 990 ADV AK map Ti Q4 pipes
Woods setup Yz 450F
http://www.youtube.com/user/saplingthrasher
Sapling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 09:32 AM   #776
shootis
Gnarly Adventurer
 
shootis's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Dedham, Maine
Oddometer: 114
I took off the right tank and the right air box cover. I then drilled a hole to access the torx screw. Once I had it adjusted to where I thought it was good I did the 15 minute idle reset.

Before starting it I replaced the airbox side panel and taped over the hole.

I then took it for a ride without the right tank on. It ran like crap! I had set it to about .53 and it didn't like it.

I did this a few more times and it eneded up at .6 hot. It's happy now.

I put a snap in plug from Lowes it the cover and sealed it place when done.
shootis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:25 PM   #777
Michhub
Major Medical
 
Michhub's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Queen Creek AZ
Oddometer: 3,802
LM-2 is here and so I begin to get ready...confirmed, it will not read through the OBD-II interface.
Now to hard wire the inputs...I need TPS & RPM...easy enough, unit has 4 analog inputs.

My questions today...what is the second TPS...one for each throttle body?


As for RPM, would it be better to take the Tach signal or the Ignition coil?




The LM-2 has a direct tach signal input signal.
This input can be used to feed a signal from the negative lead of a coil, ECU, negative lead of an injector, or ignition box (i.e. MSD 6AL).
This tach signal can be feed to the RPM + (Black/White) wire.
The negative wire (Blue) can be connected to ground if a tach signal is not being registered.


If you guys could care less about this I'll stop with the techie posts
__________________
Mike
Reinheitsgebot
'07 990ADV '08 530EXCR '04 XR650L
Bonsai Elephant - "
Life without a 990 is no life at all!"
Michhub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:31 PM   #778
unaweep
Uses lotsa band-aids
 
unaweep's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Western Colorado
Oddometer: 18,664
I like the techie posts.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Michhub View Post
LM-2 is here and so I begin to get
ready...confirmed, it will not read through the OBD-II interface.
Now to hard wire the inputs...I need TPS & RPM...easy enough, unit has 4 analog inputs.

My questions today...what is the second TPS...one for each throttle body?


As for RPM, would it be better to take the Tach signal or the Ignition coil?




The LM-2 has a direct tach signal input signal.
This input can be used to feed a signal from the negative lead of a coil, ECU, negative lead of an injector, or ignition box (i.e. MSD 6AL).
This tach signal can be feed to the RPM + (Black/White) wire.
The negative wire (Blue) can be connected to ground if a tach signal is not being registered.


If you guys could care less about this I'll stop with the techie posts
unaweep is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:44 PM   #779
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michhub View Post

My questions today...what is the second TPS...one for each throttle body?
Second TPS is for the secondary butterfly.
First TPS is primary and controls both TBs.
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 06:04 PM   #780
Sapling
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Sapling's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 413
This may sound dumb but I have been messing with maps all afternoon and looking at Dusty's process of adding fuel to the stock map to get a happy mix of the stock to akra......

I have been running the FMF Q4's with the Akra map and have been getting super bad MPG. Last weekend out on the dirt roads my fuel light came on at 81 miles. It feels rich. The pipes are showing lots of black residue on the mufflers. On the road only the light is coming on at 117 miles. This is pretty bad! My YZ 450 gets better mileage

I loaded the stock map with 02's on and set out today for a test run. The first thing I noticed was I didn't have the quick decel I was experiencing with the Akra. The overrun was almost like it was still getting a touch of fuel. The second thing I noticed was a hiccup at about 4700 when getting on the throttle (I believe this is a common issue)
Third is now I am getting the popping from the SAI that I hear so much about that mine was not doing before.... (guess that is next on the list)
Fouth It feels lean and has lost its grunt at the top say 6000 up.

I came back and shut off the O2's went back out and the hesitation definetly went away.

Then I came back and tried Dusty's concept of adding 1% to the box's he showed and loaded this. This seemed a touch better but it still doesn't have the pop on top.

I ran out of time but I am going to load the -2% Akra and give her the seat of the pants test tomorrow... after the 15 min reset of course

I took the Akra map and removed 2% over the F1 and F2 tables then compared them....... Could it be that simple?? I know its not perfect but... I am going to try it.

Off to have a beer! Good times in the garage today.
__________________
2008 990 ADV AK map Ti Q4 pipes
Woods setup Yz 450F
http://www.youtube.com/user/saplingthrasher
Sapling is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014