ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-30-2011, 08:30 PM   #1246
mgib
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Rain Citty
Oddometer: 129
Hmmm. I may have to try that on my 08, the opened secondaries, and see what happens.

That could be fun if it works.
__________________
Mark
08 690 E
13 500 XC-W
F800GS
mgib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 08:35 AM   #1247
Alleycatdad
Unbunch yer panties!
 
Alleycatdad's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: True Norcal, not that Bay Area/Sacto Crap...
Oddometer: 1,402
It's not a huge difference, but hey, if you're there....

S
__________________
When in doubt, PIN IT! It may not help, but it'll sure end the suspense...
Wretched Exce$$ See ADVr's around the world-ADV spotwalla page
Riding Wretched Wretched Passes
Bad decisions make good stories.
Alleycatdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 10:28 AM   #1248
bouboule
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: France - EST - ALSACE
Oddometer: 52
I've check my TPS and in cold i'd 0,66. I modify it to have 0,64. With engine warm I've 0,58-0,59.

But no diference on road ! I've impatient to try the futur Powertrip file for our 08' ! All said that the file for 09-11' is perfectly !!

Thanks Powertrip for your help !!
bouboule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 11:06 AM   #1249
Alleycatdad
Unbunch yer panties!
 
Alleycatdad's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: True Norcal, not that Bay Area/Sacto Crap...
Oddometer: 1,402
...and don't forget to try the powertirpp maps once you;ve got the process figured out.

Steve
__________________
When in doubt, PIN IT! It may not help, but it'll sure end the suspense...
Wretched Exce$$ See ADVr's around the world-ADV spotwalla page
Riding Wretched Wretched Passes
Bad decisions make good stories.
Alleycatdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 01:41 AM   #1250
Autostream
Beastly Adventurer
 
Autostream's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Belgrave, Victoria, Australia
Oddometer: 5,827
Variation in MAP sensors

Started playing with my new cable and Tune ecu in the weekend and made an observation I would like to see if it is normal.

The barometric sensor and two MAp sensors are the same part, but at rest when all three are at the same atmospheric pressure I got what I considered quite a big difference ion output.

At rest, cold, readings were.

Barometric sensor = 1006
Cylinder one = 1020
Cylinder two = 1012

No change hot.

Idling the lowest one is lowest, but by closer to 25 hpa
__________________
You only need two tools in life: WD-40 and Duct Tape.
If it doesn't move and should use the WD-40, if it moves and shouldn't, use the Duct Tape.

Autostream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 10:03 AM   #1251
mgib
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Rain Citty
Oddometer: 129
Sorry, clueless about the MAP variation, but I'm interested in the responses.

And def waiting on powertrip's modded 08 map...
__________________
Mark
08 690 E
13 500 XC-W
F800GS
mgib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 10:11 AM   #1252
moto-treks
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,771
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alleycatdad View Post
Better yet, open the map, go to the second throttle map, open the 2nd throttle at high rpms and large throttle openings (where it closes back down in the uppper right of the map), and et viola! R map.

Then download that puppy.

Steve
I thought of that but decided to start with the stock version - just to see the difference.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alleycatdad View Post
...and don't forget to try the powertirpp maps once you;ve got the process figured out.

Steve
This one is next maybe this week if I can get some free time
__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:46 AM   #1253
sabink
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Oddometer: 116
Powertrip, when we do the 15 min idle initialization do we have to enable Lambda sensors?
sabink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 08:22 PM   #1254
DaveA
DirtTrail Dave
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Gig Harbor
Oddometer: 34
Anyone used M-Tech for dyno test adn ECU remap?

Has anyone used M-Tech in Bend Oregon for Dyno testing and ECU remapping on your 990? What was you experience?
http://www.mtechmotorcycles.com/euro-moto.html
__________________
Dave

2008 KTM Adventure 990
DaveA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:44 PM   #1255
sabink
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Oddometer: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabink View Post
Powertrip, when we do the 15 min idle initialization do we have to enable Lambda sensors?
I'm asking because I'm getting very strange behavior from 2011 akrapovic map (KM601EU1180231). I have disabled the L maps by putting zeroes in the f-L switch and also disabled Lambda sensors. I fix the idle to about 14 AFR using F maps, but after a cold start the bike for about 10-30 seconds begun leaning the rear cylinder when idling until it shuts it off by jumping to AFR 19 Any ideas?
sabink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 05:10 PM   #1256
Kenbike
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: South of the big lake
Oddometer: 617
I picked up my bike from Wayne @ Power Tripp last night. He installed a set of super duke cams and tuned the ECU. Got in a short test ride last night and it was a real improvement. It had much more snap and pulled much better. It picked up around 12 hp with everything. The real kick is I have the bike in Deals gap and have lost the KEY! I will have to wait until Monday when I get home to test ride. MY map is for a 2007 with Motor Hooligan air box, 2 into 1, and super duke cams.
Wayne felt the 2into 1 really limits my top end.
__________________
Current Bikes: 2012 Yamaha Tenere, 2010 Vespa 300 Super scooter ( hers), 2011 Blur 220i (his)
Kenbike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 05:51 PM   #1257
cyborg
Potius Sero Quam Numquam
 
cyborg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Pacific NorthWet
Oddometer: 4,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenbike View Post
Wayne felt the 2into 1 really limits my top end.
I have the Superduke cams on my '07 Adv 990S and really like the better powerband they gave. I also have the Neduro Adventure tank and the 2-into-1 they were selling with it at the time, feeding into one FMF Q4. I have wondered whether a better 2-into-1 system could bring the bike back to 2-into-2 revability, but haven't done any research there. Probably needs a larger bore 2-into-1 adapter, and bigger can.

I really like the Adventure tank (2.2gal) and would not give that up for a few extra ponies.
cyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 06:48 PM   #1258
Unkgd
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Central Coast,Ca
Oddometer: 343
Which 2 into 1 exhaust pipe?

Sounds like the trip to Wayne was worthwhile - just wish he was closer to the west coast :-(
Did you get a copy of the before and after dyno plots? What I am curious about is how much the SuperDuke cams moved the torque curve up the rpm band.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenbike View Post
SNIP.. Wayne felt the 2into 1 really limits my top end.
So which 2 into 1 do you have - the current ADVtank style or the Neduro/Cjdesigns style?
Attached Images
 

Unkgd screwed with this post 10-06-2011 at 06:51 PM Reason: Typos
Unkgd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 09:22 AM   #1259
Tarzan
King of the Jungle
 
Tarzan's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Michigan
Oddometer: 31
BP sensor readings

Relating back to Autostream's comments on the sensors, I noticed a discrepancy on mine as well. My BP was the same as one of the cylinder's, the other was off by around 12. To try a quick fix I swapped the BP with the errant cylinder to try and equalize them.

After doing this the two cylinder readings (key on) were closer by about half (6 units), but still weren't the same. I'm not sure why they didn't equalize, unless there is a wiring/resistance effect? I had previously done a synchronization with carb stix, can't remember for sure but I thought the difference with engine running was similar. Probably not a big problem but annoying.
Tarzan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 10:27 AM   #1260
bouboule
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: France - EST - ALSACE
Oddometer: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenbike View Post
I picked up my bike from Wayne @ Power Tripp last night. He installed a set of super duke cams and tuned the ECU. Got in a short test ride last night and it was a real improvement. It had much more snap and pulled much better. It picked up around 12 hp with everything. The real kick is I have the bike in Deals gap and have lost the KEY! I will have to wait until Monday when I get home to test ride. MY map is for a 2007 with Motor Hooligan air box, 2 into 1, and super duke cams.
Wayne felt the 2into 1 really limits my top end.
Powertripp, you've said that you tune maybe an ADV this month but with stock cams?

There is somthing that I don't undestand. If you mount SD cams, you configuration are the same than 09'-11' ADV. Not? So you can use after this modification, Powetripp maps which are share on Tuneecu website..

What do you think about this?

Thanks !!
bouboule is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014