Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-31-2010, 11:58 PM   #1
getagripgreg OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 409
Build Report: Inside my new 2003 950 ADV with 89,850 miles

Hi ADV!

This will be a look at what I've done to inspect and update the 2003 950 ADV I recently bought in boxes with just a hair under 90,000 miles. I've lusted after a 950 for a few years now but haven't been willing to part with the cash required for a "ready to rock" model, so I've checked craigslist every morning in hopes of finding that perfect bike needing only a frame repair or modest engine work. Finally found what I wanted a month ago.

I'm a mechanic by trade, working on old cars (old meaning 1920's to 1960s) Alfa Romeos, Bugattis and the like. I'm pretty lucky to do what I do, and as a perk I get to work on my projects at the shop after hours.

So here's the pile of parts as received:

And the big chunk, generously made into a roller by the seller:

The bike was described as having a motor problem, "a noise" as well as a charging system issue. Stator and cam chains diagnosis, possibly with the flywheel loose on the crank taper. That was the worst case scenario in my mind, as a wrecked crank taper would be expensive and time consuming.

I figured if I had to rebuild the motor, I'd expect $2k in parts, which would give me a solid bike for less than the cheapest high mile bike I'd seen anywhere.

I heard the motor start and run before I handed over the cash, but without mufflers, so the first order of business was to fit the exhaust so I could listen to whatever noises it made. Of course I could not just slap it together, I had to clean everything first.

Sodablast to get 89,000 miles of road grime off the subframe and scotchbrite wheel on the buffer to get the pipes shiny again. Sort out missing hardware and gaskets, charge battery, and fire it up!