Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > The perfect line and other riding myths
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-02-2010, 09:42 PM   #1
VitBike

Oddometer: n/a
Any close call? If yes, what saved you?

A new horn was installed yesterday by my co-worker. I'm not good at my hands and only able to remove the horn and put the new one back in.

This morning, I told him: "You know what, in Buddhism, saving one life is like building a nine-level tower. By setting up the horn for me, you saved my life already." He laughed . Wish my buddy a wonderful vacation in Hawaii.

On the way home from work this afternoon, there was one big SUV on the left-turn-only lane waiting for the green light. I was on the next lane (his right) traveling around 45-50mph on the right side of my lane. From my kiteboarding experience, I follow the rule "space is our friend". In riding bike, I always leave some space on my both sides whenever possible.

Suddenly, the driver of the SUV changed his mind of turning & jumped into my lane. Looked like he did not see me. I pressed my powerful weapon (I actually hit the left turn first ). He stopped and I was able to swing by his right narrowly. A car behind me on my right also honked. I guessed his sound was just like a barbie's cry compared to mine.

I was shaken a little bit.

One of a few close calls in my life & God is always with me. Thank God dearly. Thank my wonderful horn mucho. Thank this forum so much, especially inmate named GangPlank. After looking at the pictures from your post about the horn, I ordered it right away.
Old 11-02-2010, 09:59 PM   #2
thumper-darryl
Adventurer

Oddometer: 90
What saved me?