User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-25-2004, 06:28 PM   #1
The Walrus OP
Gone and back again.

Oddometer: 8,739
Loctite - Blue - Red - Superglue?

I was just checking the missing fastener thread and wondered what experience you might have with alternate glues.

I have a buddy who swears by Loctite Red.

Personally, I get by with some Blue that came with my RT.

I've heard others say they just go to superglue, but that would mess with the plastics very badly.

What do you say crew.....?

Happy Holidays.
When choosing between two evils, I always like to try the one I've never tried before. - Mae West
Experience is what keeps a man who makes the same mistake twice from admitting it the third time around.
The Walrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 07:08 PM   #2
Mully
Kineticist

Oddometer: 3,779
Loctite Blue can generally be removed without heat and with hand tools, where red can't. The only place I can think of on an RT that'd require Red would be the paralever pivot bearing pins; everything else I'd use blue - for example, caliper bolts that you'd remove periodically. You can check Loctite's web site for more info.

mully
Old 12-25-2004, 07:33 PM   #3
Tim McKittrick
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,662
I and many others have had good luck with fingernail polish as a low-strength thread locker. You can paint it on threads as you would blue Loctite or paint it over the exposed end of a bolt. I have also used it as a position marker on critical fasteners so I can tell at a glance if something has loosened up or moved. Best of all, the price can't be beat- there is a good chance someone you know has a dozen bottles of The Wrong Shade Of Red cluttering up a lonely corner of the medicine cabinet. A lateral move to your tool box will clear up valuable real estate and help to erase those bad memories of Slutty Whore #18.