Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Road warriors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-28-2010, 05:35 PM   #1
SilveradoTX OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 59
I haven't even begun to ride... (Looking for bike advice)

Hello all,

I'm new to ADV, happened to stumble across the forum while researching different motorcycles, trips, etc. I didn't see a place to necessarily ask my question, so I went to the best section I found (please move if need be).

I've been looking at a lot of the trip logs, pics, and more pics, and stories, and more pics and have no doubt I could become addicted to this aspect of riding. It's very appealing to me and has me highly interested, however, I don't know where to start. I have ideas for trips, but the bike is my dilemma. I've been trying to research a good bike that I could commute on daily, carry a passenger + a little gear and go on day, weekend and maybe slightly longer trips... pavement and dirt.

Thoughts, comments, suggestions welcome... Thank you in advance.
SilveradoTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 05:44 PM   #2
basketcase
lifelong reject fixer

Oddometer: 1,362
Welcome to the asylum!

In terms of a bike it is definitely a matter of personal preference. Some immediate angles on the subject that come to mind are:

Seat height
Bike weight
Desired or needed (fuel) range
Ergonomics & "feel"
Price
More "streetly" or more "dirtly?"

In terms of dual sports I am partial to the Suzukis. Also, when I first started asking questions here some three years ago I was in exactly the same place. You'll get loads of advice, tons of insight, and perhaps a little superstition mixed in...

Reading your description of the type of riding you want to do my thought is that a big thumper would fit nicely. My signature shows where I am on that topic.

Somewhere I have Word file of "which bike" thoughts. If I can find it I'll post it or PM it to you.

Best,
Rick