User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-30-2010, 12:02 PM   #1
woodzrider OP
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 575
BAJA 1000......A NOOBs Perspective

I'm no good at ride/race reports so I'm shooting from the hip on this.
This may become a novel before its done so please be patient!
I have been chomping at the bit to go to Baja for the several years and was even considering racing it. However, a chain of events that began on Jan 3rd 2009 nixxed that plan.

I'm a frequent reader of ADVrider as well as RDC and TT. Sometime in early September I saw a post on RDC that THR Motorsports was fielding a bike with KTM Support and was looking for pit crew helpfor the upcoming B1K.
I sent a reply stating my interest in helping and a few emails and phone calls later I was in.
Since this would be my first time to Baja since I was a pup I was originally
wanting to fly out and hook up with and help on another pit crew. Mikey stated he would rather have me as a pit captain with my own crew instead.

I told him I would make a few calls and see what i could work out. I talked to a few friends and now we have a pit crew.
Keep in mind that this is OUR first trip to Baja and we're pitting for the
7X KTM! How COOOL Is that? OH SHIT! What have I gotten us into? I realized I needed to get
my act together on this as I don't want this team to fail for any reason let
alone our crew. Our "crew" consisted of my self Ken and Chuck.
I had a lot of homework to do before leaving. First hing I had to do was get a passport. I'm thinking by now it's mid sept. and I have no passport.

I get online for the application and fill it out and print it off. I gather the appropriate documents and BIRTH CERTIFICATE? and hurry down to the local Walgreens for a passport photo. The next daySept 10 I head down to the post office to turn in Passport app. The postal clerk looks at my BC and says it will NOT work and that it was merely a "hospital momento"! WTF?