User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-09-2010, 11:57 AM   #1
Shadowist OP
FX Artist

Oddometer: 20
Talking 2010 klx250s or 2009 wr250r?

Hey everyone! I'm a college freshman looking to purchase his first dual sport. I haven't been riding very long (well...except doing lots of cycling at high speeds...just means I *was* the engine haha) and have a really good feel for riding.

I'm basically looking for a bike that would be decent commuter, but then be able to handle some weekend off roading. A lot of my friends here in Daytona have sport bikes, but my heart's off the asphalt. This bike is basically my transportation investment. Here's some of the criteria I'm looking at:

-A new bike I could spend the time to break in and learn how it works
-Can be worked on pretty easily
-Has a decent aftermarket (I'm an Engineering Physics major and love modifying and messing with stuff )
-Can handle the asphalt for getting from point A to point B
-Can handle some dirt and mud
-Reliable...
-Price not too high
-Did I mention being able to mess with it and mod it?

After doing some research, I'm pretty locked into the 2010 Kawasaki KLX250S and the 2009 Yamaha WR250R. It's down to these two because the dealer in my home area (NJ) has them on sale for pretty much $5400 each. Here's what I gathered so far.

*2010 Kawasaki KLX250S $5400 4 year extended warranty (could be less...but some people are saying get it...not sure what to do) with all costs included in that price*
-Starts underpowered
-Decent size aftermarket
-Can be worked on to unlock it's potential
-Just a hair smaller than the WR250R
-Heard the thing can handle a beating after beating...
-Most are set too lean =(

*2009 Yamaha WR250R $5400 1 year standard warranty*
-Starts out pretty much ready to go right away
-More power "out of the box"
-Fuel injected and some other neat tech on it
-Handles on and off road really well
-A little tall =(