User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-09-2010, 10:47 PM   #1
Houseoffubar OP
fine beer sampler

Oddometer: 1,768
My new Airhead,'78R100/7, soon to be Cafe Racer

She does not look like much yet, but my Restoration/modification is well under way. I will post pictures soon, but most of the work is not yet picture worthy, or is at the machine shop.

I've been riding all sorts of motorcycles for well over 20 years, and worked as a mechanic for quite a while. but this is the first Airhead I've ever ridden, and after that, I had to have her.

She looks pretty poor, but a PO loved her deeply, and installed Dyna ignition/coils, braced swingarm, dual plug heads, and fork brace, and billet top triple. I hope to do her justice, and make her better than ever.

So far I have new rubber Avon AM26's, a /5 rear hub, Sun rims/spokes (Buchanans) Honda CB750 front hub, which allows 20mm wheel bearings, to fit the GSXR fork. I'm better than half done with the new stainless exhaust as well.
I'm really enjoying the work, and can't wait to ride her again. Thanks for taking a look at my first, but not last BMW

Houseoffubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 01:31 AM   #2
Houseoffubar OP
fine beer sampler

Just a few pictures, to keep things interesting. I promise to make this a much more interesting thread soon!

I picked up some stainless steel fenders off Ebay, stainless is hard to find, and a bit of money, but I needed to be able to weld up some of the holes to custom mount them, and cut to fit, without the edges rusting.

This is about as far as the exhaust has come. I need to order the stainless megaphones still, but I just got laid off, so moneys tight. Soon though!
One more pic of the exhaust, just because I am having a lot of fun making it, and want to show it off!
Old 12-10-2010, 01:34 AM   #3
zschrempp
Airhead

Oddometer: 15
Hi there, I am also in Bothell!
Old 12-10-2010, 01:36 AM   #4
Houseoffubar OP