Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Ride reports
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-15-2010, 02:35 PM   #1
Artlocks OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 149
One foot in the grave out west tour Sept 2010 Part 1.

This report covers my second motorcycle trip ever. Man, it took forever to write this thing and add the pictures. Hope somebody reads it.

There are so many well written and photographed reports that cover the places I went that I hesitate to post this. If there is anything that distinguishes this report other than the bad pictures and crappy writing, it is probably my perspective. I am an older novice rider with one foot in the grave and doubts about what I can accomplish on a motorcycle. This ride was not only a vacation, but a test of where I am at and what I think I can do. Since it was a test I gave myself a grade. If I pass, I can go on to bigger things.

Bio: 52yo, 155#, arthritis, acid reflux, high cholesterol, 6 surgeries, artificial hip, and leaky heart valve.
Other than that, a fine physical specimen.

Now that I am bedridden for many weeks from hip surgery, I have some time to write this report.
The surgery I got is called "hip resurfacing". Unfortunately I did not have good bone density so I have to take the long recovery route. I suppose it is heredity, because with my lifestyle my bones should be like steel. I am not sure if this is going to prevent me from solo travel to those places I really want to go the most. If anyone is interested and has a strong stomach, here is a video of the procedure I had. I was stupid enough to watch this beforehand.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XqCv_...eature=related

Below is a link to a thread I started in preparation for this trip. It gives some insight as to where my head was at.

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showt...light=artlocks