ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-31-2011, 11:39 AM   #31
Jakub OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Oddometer: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by plukenannabel View Post
Hello Jakub, did not see your reply, excuse me.

Since i sold the bike 2 weeks ago i will not be able to make new pictures. Rear light is just a aftermarket led rearlight
Indicators and mirrors are to be installed in Holland, but never did

the luggage rack is self made.

The control units should still be sold bij TT, at least in germany they are.
wiring
right unit red power to injection/pump
grey start
switch normal/high beam
grey horn
center unit push button power on/off
grey lights on/off
left unit indicator
imo
roadbook

throttle is a short gas one, turns 100 degrees for full throttle, spares yours wrist and is good for binary driving

Very cool,

Because it was a race bike was the key completely removed from the center handlebar area where the kill switch is?

Also on one of the side pictures the exhaust silencer has a little plaque on it. Do you remember what the brand of the silencer was? My bike doesn't have the plaque and I'm trying to figure out what company made it so I can get a repacking kit.

I noticed the stickers on the forks from a suspension shop I presume? Were they revalved by the previous owner or did you have it done. I'd love to know what the specs of the revalve were, I've had trouble finding any Info on the
WP 43mm forks and what kind of valve stack etc to run. I've always felt my bike is a little soft considering the weight and the intended use.

Cheers,

Jakub
Jakub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 11:54 AM   #32
Parx400
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento CA
Oddometer: 1,550
What Throttle are these bikes using? I really hate how much rotation is in the stock one. I was thinking about pulling out the tube, Sliding the assembly over and putting on a full Motocross throttle.
Parx400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 02:26 PM   #33
Jakub OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Oddometer: 46
My bike uses a stock F650 throttle,

But the real race bike used the now Defunct Magura 312 throttle assembly.
Apparently it was the gold standard forever.

As seen on the Paris Dakar 900rr



It's now discontinued but a company in England called Venhill is now remaking (replicating them)

They sell a universal kit for about 50pounds called the 500a Fast action which is the closest thing you
can get to the original 312 quick throttle.


Jakub
Jakub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 02:31 PM   #34
Parx400
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento CA
Oddometer: 1,550
IS the 314 a bad option?
Parx400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 03:14 PM   #35
Jakub OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Oddometer: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parx400 View Post
IS the 314 a bad option?
I believe 314 is the successor to the 312, however the body is molded in polycarb instead of the metal in the
312.

It should be fine....even though I really dislike plastic parts in general, The production cost of the 312 must be the reason for the switch to the 314 plastic design.

IMHO the Venhill kit is the one to go for on pure chauvinist grounds of me trying to build a Dakar race replica.

Cheers,
Jakub
Jakub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 03:17 PM   #36
Parx400
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento CA
Oddometer: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakub View Post
I believe 314 is the successor to the 312, however the body is molded in polycarb instead of the metal in the
312.

It should be fine....even though I really dislike plastic parts in general, The production cost of the 312 must be the reason for the switch to the 314 plastic design.

IMHO the Venhill kit is the one to go for on pure chauvinist grounds of me trying to build a Dakar race replica.

Cheers,
Jakub
Ya I looked it up and it looks nice. I picked up a 314 on Amazon for 21 bucks. It will do. Thanks.
Parx400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 04:04 PM   #37
Jakub OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Oddometer: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parx400 View Post
Ya I looked it up and it looks nice. I picked up a 314 on Amazon for 21 bucks. It will do. Thanks.
That is a good deal,

Did you just buy the throttle tube, or a kit with cables? Or did you get a universal kit where you get different fittings to fab
your own up?

Jakub
Jakub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 04:08 PM   #38
Parx400
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento CA
Oddometer: 1,550
The whole kit. I don't know if it comes with cables.

http://www.amazon.com/Magura-Motocro...4828493&sr=8-2
Parx400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 05:05 PM   #39
Jakub OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Oddometer: 46
It'll be interesting to see if you can reuse your cables or if you need to modify/replace them.

I don't know if the rally bike just have the throttle tube with stock cables or not.


Jakub
Jakub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 06:53 AM   #40
Gravel Seeker
Thomas
 
Gravel Seeker's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2002
Location: Dreary old Norway, dreaming of adventures past
Oddometer: 3,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakub View Post
.........on pure chauvinist grounds of me trying to build a Dakar race replica..............
Just enter it in the Dakar race instead
__________________
'01 F650 Dakar - modified as best I can

2005: Australia - 8 months/ 26.000 km (anti clockwise circle)
2009: Norway - 2 weeks/ 6000 km (Lindesnes to North cape)

Gravel Seekers.com

Hey !
It's the African ant eater ritual !
Gravel Seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 08:05 PM   #41
Jakub OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Oddometer: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gravel Seeker View Post
Just enter it in the Dakar race instead

Stupid 450cc rule. Amateur's should be able to run a 650 (maybe restricted) as long as they run one engine, rather than running a KTM 450rallye on 3 engines IMHO, Worked fine in 2010.


Jakub
Jakub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 08:56 AM   #42
shan
Adventurer
 
shan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: SW France
Oddometer: 66
Well this is one more F650RR








shan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 12:17 AM   #43
Jakub OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Oddometer: 46
Hi Shan,

Great looking bike,

With your race bike does it have 48mm WP forks, they don't like my 43mm ones. I've know the Race to Dakar
bikes had 50mm Marazocchi forks although I'd never heard that the Touratech built race bikes having them.

Also you have the same roadbook/tripmeter handle bar switch gear as me but you have your's on the throttle side. Is that switch gear actually for the roadbook etc. or did you rewire it for the kill/start etc.

My bike has mainly stock switch gear and I'm looking to ditch it for touratech switches to clean things up. Any info on your setup would be great.

Thanks

Jakub
Jakub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 03:16 PM   #44
Parx400
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento CA
Oddometer: 1,550
What's the thing next to the IMO On the left.
Parx400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 05:59 PM   #45
Jakub OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Oddometer: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parx400 View Post
What's the thing next to the IMO On the left.
It's the Touratech Nav Assistant. It's a Cap Repeater. It links up with a Garmin GPS or a Ertf Valsat, and it displays
the course heading for off piste rallying. Some versions display a big Compass heading with smaller LEDS to show if your off heading or not. Different versions have different layouts the other kind of Nav Assistant having bigger led displays and smaller compass headings to show you if your off heading, basically the opposite layout of the first.
The trick is you need to adjust with your switch gear the Nav Assistant's heading inline with what the roadbook heading is telling you.
Once adjusted though you get a better idea of where the heading is because the graphic interface is easier to interpret at high speeds compared to the ERTF cap repeater which is just a LED of the course heading with no graphics to tell you at a glace if your off course or not.
Close up pic.



ERTF cap repeater




Jakub
Jakub is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014