ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Racing
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2011, 11:26 PM   #16
DRjoe
Beastly Adventurer
 
DRjoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Sunshine coast qld
Oddometer: 4,872
I've been using one for a while and its way better than the tt unit.
DRjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 10:57 AM   #17
schattat
Beastly Adventurer
 
schattat's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Oddometer: 1,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by italrally View Post
Watched eurosport and it seems that on the bike from Rodriguez was mounted an MD roadbook holder !
Well, you better look again closely!


That motor is round and not squared like the MD one! Plus the cable comes out from the side and not from behind...
__________________
RNS - Rallye Navigation Solutions

Yamaha WR450F Rallye Spec
schattat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 11:27 AM   #18
kenaroo
I am because i ride
 
kenaroo's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Austin Tejas
Oddometer: 808
If anyone is interested. I have a MD roadbook I haven't used very much. I could give a good deal on..

just PM me.
__________________
--------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------

what does your garage look like
http://www.garage-interiors.com


kenaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 12:21 PM   #19
schattat
Beastly Adventurer
 
schattat's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Oddometer: 1,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenaroo View Post
If anyone is interested. I have a MD roadbook I haven't used very much. I could give a good deal on..

just PM me.
Contact this kid here: TimFinnegan
He's been looking for one for quite some time now!!!
__________________
RNS - Rallye Navigation Solutions

Yamaha WR450F Rallye Spec
schattat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 12:48 PM   #20
TimFinnegan
Rally addicted
 
TimFinnegan's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 115
PM sent.
TimFinnegan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 08:14 AM   #21
italrally
Gnarly Adventurer
 
italrally's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Berlin
Oddometer: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by schattat View Post
Well, you better look again closely!


That motor is round and not squared like the MD one! Plus the cable comes out from the side and not from behind...
may be he changed it, because it was not working !
But different style anyway, on the new roadbookholder the engine ist integrated !

italrally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 09:23 AM   #22
schattat
Beastly Adventurer
 
schattat's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Oddometer: 1,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by italrally View Post
But different style anyway, on the new roadbookholder the engine ist integrated !
There are 2 versions, built in and external motor:


Just trust me on this! Hélder personally told me he prefers this one because it's as reliable as the MD, but it allows you to put an entire day's roadbook in without having to break it into several parts
__________________
RNS - Rallye Navigation Solutions

Yamaha WR450F Rallye Spec
schattat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 08:32 AM   #23
lastplace
Studly Adventurer
 
lastplace's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 891
We just got a cool new combo switch for ICO/Roadbook. I like it because it swaps the location of the ICO buttons (and makes them larger than on the standard ICO switch) so that you are less likely to accidentally push the wrong button.

http://www.rallymanagementservices.c...nd-ico-upgrade

fun fun
Charlie
lastplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:15 PM   #24
beechum1
Beastly Adventurer
 
beechum1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Herlong, CA. Look it up, I'll wait.
Oddometer: 7,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by lastplace View Post
We just got a cool new combo switch for ICO/Roadbook. I like it because it swaps the location of the ICO buttons (and makes them larger than on the standard ICO switch) so that you are less likely to accidentally push the wrong button.

http://www.rallymanagementservices.c...nd-ico-upgrade

fun fun
Charlie
255$ for a .... switch?
__________________
Rally Moto Kit /// Vendor Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dread Pendragon View Post
Mention to HogWild which way the wind is blowing where you're at, wait 20 minutes, and he'll post a picture of the intersection your at and a Google Earth route of how to get there.
beechum1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 07:10 AM   #25
lastplace
Studly Adventurer
 
lastplace's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 891
Quote:
Originally Posted by beechum1 View Post
255$ for a .... switch?
yeah. Sorry. The roadbook and ICO come with their own switches, so you don't really need to add this combo switch. But, many rally racers find that spending $255 (or often more) for a really robust switch makes sense when a broken switch could ruin a race they've spent a year and over $50K preparing for.

There are actually a few similar switches out there that are all priced much higher. F2R makes this one, and their stuff, while expensive by some measures, is more reasonably priced than just about everyone else's. I shop around and test stuff quite a bit before adding new parts to our website. I won't add anything that doesn't work or doesn't last, and I'll try to find the least expensive option to get a particular job done.

Make something cheaper that works well, and I'll offer it on our site.

fun fun
Charlie
lastplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 08:58 AM   #26
wrk2surf
on the gas or brakes
 
wrk2surf's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: THE exact center of California/Bass lake/Yosemite
Oddometer: 6,221
there is a young man making a nice switch as well.. along with some other electronics...


http://www.rallyenavigationsolutions.com/
__________________
Thanks for the 2014 support:BELL HELMETS, SCOTT USA, Kriega USA, Carbon-pro.com, GPR stabilzers, Renazco Racing, Sidi/Motonation, Masters paint and body, Magura , motolab , Tripy GPS, Loctite and Dunlop tires .
wrk2surf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 09:27 AM   #27
lastplace
Studly Adventurer
 
lastplace's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 891
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrk2surf View Post
there is a young man making a nice switch as well.. along with some other electronics...


http://www.rallyenavigationsolutions.com/
Yes. What I've seen of Tony's stuff is really good. I'm working with him to stock some of his stuff in the US. We should have it pretty soon. But, you'll see that his similar combo switch is a bit more expensive than the F2R one. I haven't tried Tony's switch yet, but I'll let you know what I think when I do.

fun fun
Charlie
lastplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 10:33 AM   #28
beechum1
Beastly Adventurer
 
beechum1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Herlong, CA. Look it up, I'll wait.
Oddometer: 7,510
I guess when you sell what? 200 a year, and they need to be useful out to.... 5MM revs.... but wow. I see about 50$ in parts, custom made. BUt like you said, you have to be able to count on this stuff, so if it works, then it works. I'm new to this stuff, and still getting a feel for the how and why of it all.
__________________
Rally Moto Kit /// Vendor Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dread Pendragon View Post
Mention to HogWild which way the wind is blowing where you're at, wait 20 minutes, and he'll post a picture of the intersection your at and a Google Earth route of how to get there.
beechum1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 11:00 AM   #29
Seth S
Safari Scramble!!!!!
 
Seth S's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: sanity?
Oddometer: 4,087
I mounted the Meca switch in place of the ICO switch. I think the switch was $70 or $80 and was a lot nicer to use than the ICO switch. The buttons on the Meca switch have a nice positve movement where the ICO buttons have a vague feel.
__________________
Seth S

My intuition nearly makes up for my lack of good judgement. Just installed my new trolling motor
Seth S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 11:54 AM   #30
lastplace
Studly Adventurer
 
lastplace's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 891
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seth S View Post
I mounted the Meca switch in place of the ICO switch. I think the switch was $70 or $80 and was a lot nicer to use than the ICO switch. The buttons on the Meca switch have a nice positve movement where the ICO buttons have a vague feel.
While we are on the subject of switches, here is the Meca switch Seth used:
http://www.rallymanagementservices.c...switch-upgrade
or
http://www.mecasystem.fr/pr/302/bout...ise-rouge.html
(a bit more than $80)

The reason I like the new Combo switch better than the original ICO switch or the Meca switch is that it reverses the location of the ICO buttons. If you are trying to bump your ICO up or down to match a point you just passed in the roadbook, and you are using the original button locations, you run the risk of accidentally hitting the big button and switching to speedo function. So, you need to look down at your ICO more when the switches are in the original location. Looking down is dangerous. Maybe a bit too detailed info for the average user, but this makes a big difference for a rally racer. $255 difference? To some people, yes. (The KTM factory guys have used a similar button location for years.)
lastplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014