User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-10-2011, 01:28 PM   #1
melroyal OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 11
1,000 miles in a day on the Yamaha FZ16 in India

While surfing the Internet, I came across the Iron Butt Association of USA.IronButt association has certification for long distance rides called the saddlesore1000.The website address is www.ironbutt.com. The requirement for this ride is to complete 1,610kms(1000 miles) in a period of 24 hrs.I was used to riding the bike for few hundred kilometers.Later I graduated to riding long distances covering different states.I thought to myself that I should up the ante that's when I decided to cover the saddlesore ride.It was my dream to achieve this feat but the difficulties made it a challenge.It's all seems easy calculating on paper to maintain a average speed of 66km per hour.But riding on Indian roads is the toughest part to overcome that to on a 153cc motorcycle.The first thing is selecting a route which allows high speed ride.Then came the task of finding petrol pumps that give you a electronic receipts which shows date,time and location.These are important as the IronButt Association needs these for verification of the ride done.For proof the ride has to have petrol receipts,logs,witness forms ..etc.I took the route of Mumbai to Eklinji and back to Mumbai covering a distance of 1650kms.Eklingji is located in Rajasthan which is at a distance of 15kms north from Udiapur.So the route was Mumbai(Maharashtra),Surat(Gujarat),Udaipur-Eklingji(Rajashtan) and turn back and come back to Mumbai thus completing the 1,610 kms required.