ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-31-2013, 09:11 AM   #31
pfdskipper
Westside Trash
 
pfdskipper's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Litchfield Park, Az
Oddometer: 1,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by greendy View Post
Can the IQ-170 be wired in to the existing high beam switch. I have a 2003 BMW 1150GSA and don't really want another switch on the bar. I ideally id like to tap in to a daytime running lights (cdn bike) to power the LEDS's and then use the high beam switch to supply full power to the LED's. I am on the right track??

Any help you can offer would be super helpful

Thanks in advance for your info !!!
That would be easily done. Just wire the high beam through a relay. You then only send power to the relay when the high beam switch is activated. I have done this on my bike, currently a couple of months of use with this skene designs controller..... trouble free!!

Here's their instal guide http://www.skenedesign.com/lights/im...manual-web.pdf
pfdskipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:47 AM   #32
jskene OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jskene's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Oddometer: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by greendy View Post
Can the IQ-170 be wired in to the existing high beam switch.....
Yes, the IQ-170's override is controlled by the high beam wire, so the bike's existing high beam switch is all you need.

You can provide power to the IQ-170 controller itself from your daytime running lights, but power to the auxiliary lights will likely require more current than this circuit can source.

The easiest thing is to connect the hot lead from the aux lights, through a fuse, directly to the battery. The IQ-170 acts as a "smart relay" so no traditional relay is required.

We've just introduced an enhanced version of this controller, the IQ-175.

The IQ-175-A is similar to the IQ-170-A, with the following four differences:
- it supports up to 6 amps per circuit, rather than the IQ-170's 5 amps. If you combine both circuits it will drive a 12 amp load.
- it can control either driving or fog lights, while the IQ-170 only controls driving lights. The difference is that fog lamps go off when the high beam is switched on, while driving go to full brightness
- different brightness settings can be selected by a momentary-contact push button switch or a toggle switch. This allows you to double-tap the turn signal cancel button on your BMW to flip back and forth between two brightness settings. Any other momentary button may also be used.
- it's fully compatible with BMW's K1600GT high beam, which has unusual voltage fluctuations

More information on this new model is available here.
__________________
________________________________________________________________________________
Visibility Lights - P3 Lights and Photon Blaster High Intensity Motorcycle Visibility Lighting Systems: Be Smart - Be Seen

jskene screwed with this post 01-31-2013 at 12:59 PM
jskene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 09:12 PM   #33
greendy
Adventurer
 
greendy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: okanagan
Oddometer: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by jskene View Post
Yes, the IQ-170's override is controlled by the high beam wire, so the bike's existing high beam switch is all you need.

You can provide power to the IQ-170 controller itself from your daytime running lights, but power to the auxiliary lights will likely require more current than this circuit can source.

The easiest thing is to connect the hot lead from the aux lights, through a fuse, directly to the battery. The IQ-170 acts as a "smart relay" so no traditional relay is required.

We've just introduced an enhanced version of this controller, the IQ-175.

The IQ-175-A is similar to the IQ-170-A, with the following four differences:
- it supports up to 6 amps per circuit, rather than the IQ-170's 5 amps. If you combine both circuits it will drive a 12 amp load.
- it can control either driving or fog lights, while the IQ-170 only controls driving lights. The difference is that fog lamps go off when the high beam is switched on, while driving go to full brightness
- different brightness settings can be selected by a momentary-contact push button switch or a toggle switch. This allows you to double-tap the turn signal cancel button on your BMW to flip back and forth between two brightness settings. Any other momentary button may also be used.
- it's fully compatible with BMW's K1600GT high beam, which has unusual voltage fluctuations

More information on this new model is available here.
Great info!! Thanks fellas
__________________
Your not lost until you're out of gas and money!!
greendy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 09:53 AM   #34
arrcrussell
Gimme Dirt
 
arrcrussell's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: NE OH, USA
Oddometer: 642
High beam activation on '10 R1200GS

My 2010 R1200GS has CANBUS - will connecting the high beam activation wire cause any problems/issues with the CANBUS?
arrcrussell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 09:43 PM   #35
RocketMoto
2 Many Motersikles
 
RocketMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: New Haamsha, USA
Oddometer: 954
Quote:
Originally Posted by arrcrussell View Post
My 2010 R1200GS has CANBUS - will connecting the high beam activation wire cause any problems/issues with the CANBUS?
No worries with the high beam trigger on your GS. We have all of the IQ controllers in stock, by the way.
__________________
=Adam=
Like us on Facebook -- Follow us on Twitter
PM us for your *personal* ADVRider discount code to use at RocketMoto.com
Autocom | TPX Radar/Laser | Sena Bluetooth
| Hi-Power LED Lights
Shorai Battery | Techmount | Powerlet | Rowe PDM60 | Skene Design


RocketMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 12:33 PM   #36
WeeBee
Roaming ADV Gnome
 
WeeBee's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Windsor, CA
Oddometer: 1,576
Can your controller be used with the Piaa LP530 LED lights?
__________________
Help Stop McNugget Rage
WeeBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 12:49 PM   #37
jskene OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jskene's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Oddometer: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeeBee View Post
Can your controller be used with the Piaa LP530 LED lights?
Our IQ-175 dimmer should certainly work with the PIAA LP530 LEDs.
__________________
________________________________________________________________________________
Visibility Lights - P3 Lights and Photon Blaster High Intensity Motorcycle Visibility Lighting Systems: Be Smart - Be Seen
jskene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2015, 09:50 PM   #38
Lord Dogmeat
OMG imma greenie now
 
Lord Dogmeat's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Thornton, CO
Oddometer: 251
Ok, I might be sort of think between the ears, but would the IQ-175 work on a 2014 KTM 300 XC-W that I'm trying to add a hi/lo function to a Baja Designs Squadron LED headlight I purchased to replace the stock light?

I don't have any axillary lights I am needing to power, I just want to add a manual dimmer switch to my handlebars and have it operate the light at maybe 15w on "lo" and then switch to full power on 'hi'.
__________________
2014 KTM 300 XC-W
Lord Dogmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 07:31 AM   #39
jskene OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jskene's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Oddometer: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Dogmeat View Post
Ok, I might be sort of think between the ears, but would the IQ-175 work on a 2014 KTM 300 XC-W that I'm trying to add a hi/lo function to a Baja Designs Squadron LED headlight I purchased to replace the stock light?

I don't have any axillary lights I am needing to power, I just want to add a manual dimmer switch to my handlebars and have it operate the light at maybe 15w on "lo" and then switch to full power on 'hi'.
Our IQ-175 will do exactly what you want. You can see how to wire up the hi/lo switch to the yellow wire on the dimmer here:

http://www.lights.skenedesign.com/IQ_175_Wiring.html

If your bike comes with a stock high beam switch, then you do not need to add a switch - just leave the yellow wire disconnected and connect the IQ-175's white wire to what used to be the high beam wire. The Baja Designs Squadron LED will then go to 100% brightness when you switch to high beam, and when you go back to low beam it will revert to the default 20% brightness setting. This setting may be programmed to anything from off to 100% in 10% steps.
__________________
________________________________________________________________________________
Visibility Lights - P3 Lights and Photon Blaster High Intensity Motorcycle Visibility Lighting Systems: Be Smart - Be Seen
jskene is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015