Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Ride reports
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-26-2011, 02:01 AM   #1
spaghettilegs OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 30
Kath's mad warm up ride!! On a Super Sherpa 250cc!!

Well this was it, my first solo bike adventure! I have been riding for a few years now but have never ventured out onto the open road on my own. I just finished uni and had a week and a half before I was starting permanent work, so I decided to go away on the Super Sherpa to visit my parents in Young, NSW. I have done this trip several times in the car and each time I was able to tackle it in one day, so I figured 3 days on the bike would be a breeze!!

The plan was to leave Adelaide on the Monday, arriving in Young on the Wednesday and then travel through to Dubbo Thursday staying for a night, returning to Young Friday and then heading home on Saturday. A big trip but I figured I have done it all before in the car so it should be a piece of cake!!

Day1

I left home around 8:00am a little later then planned but that's ok. Unfortunately this meant I was stuck in the Monday morning traffic. Due to my large panniers I was unable to split traffic and was therefore at a stand still in the traffic with all the tin tops. By 9:30am I was out of the city and enjoying the ride through the Adelaide Hills. My first stop was in Mount Pleasant to put on some extra layers and check the map.

I was going on some roads which I had ever traveled on before and was amazed by how beautiful is around there.

I rode to Walker Flat and caught the punt across the Murray River. It is amazing there!! The scenery was fantastic.

From Walker Flat I rode to Swan Reach. Along the way the road runs parallel to the Murray River and the views are spectacular. We have had a lot of rain lately in these areas lately which meant the river was surprisingly full.