User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-04-2011, 08:24 AM   #1
Tau Anvil OP
African by trade

Oddometer: 246
West Coast that became the Mini Dakar

So I have been working non-stop during the holiday season even some of the public holidays and felt really sorry for myself...
My dad told me Friday that I could take monday and Teusday the 3-4 of work.

So friday I grabbed my drybag and tent sleepingbag and some extras.

The idea was to leave Sunday morning early from Yzerfontein to Elandsbay from there gravel and tweespoor to Lutzville and then attempyt the dreaded coastal route to Hondeklipbay.

I haven't had a long ride since last December going to Nam...so 5 bells Sunday I left Yzerfontein in the dark and mist to Elands on tar. Took the railway road to Lamberts and refueled here.

Even spotted the sissen train as I stood at the tollbooth sheesh she is long.

after lamberts I took the first sandy road turnoff to Strandfontein....

I took the road to Lutville where I started to create a mobile BOMB.......
14l in my tank
7.5 in fuel bladder
2x 2l bottles in tankbag
2 x 2l bottles in backpack
so 30 liters of fuel to hopefully make Hondeklip as I hear the sand is hectic and I am loaded with my drybag and tubes compressor, bombs, tyre levers, spare bolts, jumpers, camera and my maps

My loaded scooter.

Most of the ride are these tweespoor and farely easy to ride.
I checked in on the route at about 8:30 and phoned Weskus for some last minute advice. I also booked lodging at the Skulpiesbaai lodge for the nights accommodation.

The coast here is stunning with people camping around everybend and under every overhang.
I was loving the tweespoor and sand everynow and then. I decided to drop my tyre pressure down to 1.3 front and 1 bar rear this helped plenty’s with the sand surprising every so often.