ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-13-2011, 02:14 PM   #1
PhotoBiker OP
Please insert title here
 
PhotoBiker's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Southern Maine
Oddometer: 1,436
2010 R1200GS - Under the seat

So I finally got the GS home (long day yesterday down to Razee's Motorcycles in Rhode Island to pick up the bike).

I have a lot of things to do to this bike (nothing that NEEDS to be done, just a metric boatload of WANTS) and it all pretty much starts with the addition of a Fuseblock. Without a doubt, I am going with Eastern Beaver's PC-8 Fuseblock as I've used this on my Strom and had great success with it.

I had to actually see the bike to figure out where to mount the thing. I'd seen someone mount a fuseblock here on the manual holder somewhere on ADV and thought it might be a good idea:

P1020292.jpg

Seemed to fit OK, but I'm thinking I might be painting myself into a corner when I have to pull the tank and have to find a place for the Fuseblock to rest for a while.

That got me thinking as I have another item that is self-contained (sort of) and can be moved around a bit. My Autocom intercom:

P1020308.jpg

I think I am sold on this spot for the intercom, there is plenty of room for the cables to hang out (I will need to clean them up a bit as they are too long at the moment) and it doesn't seem to interfere with the seat at all.

P1020306.jpg

So now I am left with the question of where to put the PC-8. The tool tray is the next logical place:

P1020304-Edit.jpg

It looks like it will fit, in fact, I am sure I've seen photos of other putting their PC-8 in this same place. However, I have to ask if anyone has:

1) Mounted a PC-8 (or any other Fuseblock) anywhere else, and why?

2) Can I remove the tool tray in order to pick up a little more depth to take up some of the wiring slack that will ensue?
__________________
-=Glen=-
[Current]
'10 R1200GS
'06 Ninja 250
Check out my Gallery
PhotoBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 02:24 PM   #2
MikeinSA
.
 
MikeinSA's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX
Oddometer: 3,666
I've got both my Starcom & Fuzblock in the tool tray area. I pulled the try out, and just have them sitting sideways in the compartment and it works fine. You do get a bit of over spray here, nothing much but there will be a few muddy drops from time to time. I just stuck everything in a zip lock bag.
MikeinSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 02:30 PM   #3
sblaylock
Explorer
 
sblaylock's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Oddometer: 119
In the Tray

Hi Glen,

I started out putting my Autocom in the same place you have yours, but I noticed when the bike was parked in the rain the water would flow off the fuel tank right on to the Autocom box. I decided to move it to where the tray is and built a small shelf to hold it. I also added a fuse block as well.



Here is a link to the rest of the pictures for the project.


Scott.
__________________
Scott
06 - BMW R1200GS
28 - BMW R62
36 - BMW R12
07 - BMW G650X Challenge - Gone

sblaylock screwed with this post 02-13-2011 at 06:45 PM
sblaylock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 02:33 PM   #4
PhotoBiker OP
Please insert title here
 
PhotoBiker's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Southern Maine
Oddometer: 1,436
I think the Starcom is smaller than the Autocom. I've been checking out the Starcom in the Aerostich catalog since Autocom beat feet out of the US (I'm still waiting on another set of earbuds & mic for a new helmet that I ordered in August or September).

Good thing to know about the overspray back there, I do ride rain or shine.

Wherever I put the PC-8, I am going to use this "Super Velcro Stuff" as it simply rocks. That's how I mounted the Autocom & the PC-8 on the strom.

__________________
-=Glen=-
[Current]
'10 R1200GS
'06 Ninja 250
Check out my Gallery
PhotoBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 02:38 PM   #5
PhotoBiker OP
Please insert title here
 
PhotoBiker's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Southern Maine
Oddometer: 1,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by sblaylock View Post
Hi Glen,

I started out putting my Autocom in the same place you have yours, but I noticed when the bike was parked in the rain the water would flow off the fuel tank right on to the Autocom box. I decided to move it to where the tray is and built a small shelf to hold it. I also add a fuse block as well.



Here is a link to the rest of the pictures for the project.


Scott.
Scott,

Thanks. I remember seeing your install photo somewhere and then couldn't find the damn link again. I ordered a bunch of that braided cable after seeing your photo(s), it really makes the install look very neat.

Do you have a standard seat? I forgot to mention that I have the Low Suspension and thus a low seat. I'm not sure if the low seat means the seat pan has any less clearance or not though.
__________________
-=Glen=-
[Current]
'10 R1200GS
'06 Ninja 250
Check out my Gallery
PhotoBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 03:03 PM   #6
sblaylock
Explorer
 
sblaylock's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Oddometer: 119
Standard seat

I have the standard seat in the high position, but I run it in the low setting when I'm riding difficult offroad and there's no issue with clearance.

I'm not 100% sure about the low seat as to how it's made lower. Is the seat pan different, or do they just shave the foam?

You probably saw the install from fuzeblocks.com. Curt added a link from his site to the SmugMug gallery.

Jim from Eastern Beaver and Curt from fuzeblocks.com are both great to deal with. I've bought a ton of stuff from Jim over the years and both he and Curt are always happy to answer questions about motorcycle electrics.

Scott.
__________________
Scott
06 - BMW R1200GS
28 - BMW R62
36 - BMW R12
07 - BMW G650X Challenge - Gone
sblaylock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 03:09 PM   #7
Jamming
Desert RAT
 
Jamming's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Buckeye AZ.
Oddometer: 2,788
Very Nice!! PB, could you please update the thread with the final install? I'll be watching as a GS Low is in my near future

Big +1 on Eastern Beaver...I keep his link on my desktop. I know I'll order something as soon as a project comes up so I make it easy on myself.
__________________
My Native American name is "plays in traffic"
Triumph 1050 Tiger
WWW.Motorcyclistcafe.com
Jamming is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 05:54 PM   #8
PhotoBiker OP
Please insert title here
 
PhotoBiker's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Southern Maine
Oddometer: 1,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamming View Post
Very Nice!! PB, could you please update the thread with the final install? I'll be watching as a GS Low is in my near future

Big +1 on Eastern Beaver...I keep his link on my desktop. I know I'll order something as soon as a project comes up so I make it easy on myself.
I will. I like to photograph what I do not only to share the info, but in case I get sidetracked and need to remind myself of something during the process.

I just placed my order with Eastern Beaver. In addition to the Fuseblock, I've ordered another wiring harness for my Stebel (for this bike, I will tap into the existing Beemer horn and allow both horns to work). I also picked up another Powerlet to run my compressor. I've not figured out where the Powerlet is going, but I ordered it with a long enough lead to not really care.
__________________
-=Glen=-
[Current]
'10 R1200GS
'06 Ninja 250
Check out my Gallery
PhotoBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 06:44 PM   #9
sblaylock
Explorer
 
sblaylock's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Oddometer: 119
Switched Lead

Glen,

Be careful where you take your switched source from. With the Canbus system on the 1200, it can cause a problem if you tie into a wire that is monitored by the Canbus. I wanted the switched side of my fuse block to activate on engine start. The only thing on my 2006 that triggers with engine start is the front lamp. It worked fine for about six months, but then I started to get "LAMPF!" warnings and the lamp wouldn't come on. I had to move the trigger to tie into the power from the charcoal canister as it's not monitored by the Canbus. The only difference is my switched power activates with the key rather than on engine start. No big deal.

What I was told is as relays get older they require a little more juice to open/close and the extra power requirement was enough for the Canbus to fail the front lamp.

Scott.
__________________
Scott
06 - BMW R1200GS
28 - BMW R62
36 - BMW R12
07 - BMW G650X Challenge - Gone
sblaylock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 10:15 AM   #10
Northlondoncookie
Beaver hunter
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: London, UK
Oddometer: 36
I got rid of the shelf in the tool tray and stack things in the box. Be careful not to remove the rubber dampner otherwise you will go bounce bounce bounce. Depending on whether you have a low or regular seat running wires on top of the frame will be a problem. More room under the low seat if you can believe it.
Northlondoncookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 12:12 PM   #11
BogeyMan
Gnarly Adventurer
 
BogeyMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: North Bay Area, CA
Oddometer: 425
Question

@PhotoBiker - Couple of quick questions...

1. Where did you get that wire protection/sheath from. I'd like to do that with some of my projects.
2. What gauge wire do you commonly use?

Thanks.
BogeyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 03:34 PM   #12
Northlondoncookie
Beaver hunter
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: London, UK
Oddometer: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoBiker View Post
Scott,

Thanks. I remember seeing your install photo somewhere and then couldn't find the damn link again. I ordered a bunch of that braided cable after seeing your photo(s), it really makes the install look very neat.

Do you have a standard seat? I forgot to mention that I have the Low Suspension and thus a low seat. I'm not sure if the low seat means the seat pan has any less clearance or not though.
Scott noticed that you took out the rubber dampner from the tool tray that keeps the seat from bottoming out on the lock brackets. Any problems?
Northlondoncookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 04:12 PM   #13
Callisto224
Studly Adventurer
 
Callisto224's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 606
I mounted my Eastern Beaver fuseblock in the tool tray. I use the room underneath for my relays. There is a little splash that gets under the tray once in awhile but it's not too bad.
__________________
Callisto224


2009 1200GS
Callisto224 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 05:04 PM   #14
PhotoBiker OP
Please insert title here
 
PhotoBiker's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Southern Maine
Oddometer: 1,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by BogeyMan View Post
@PhotoBiker - Couple of quick questions...

1. Where did you get that wire protection/sheath from. I'd like to do that with some of my projects.
2. What gauge wire do you commonly use?

Thanks.
I got the Braided Sleeving from here.

If you can wait a couple of weeks, you can get my report on what worked and didn't. I expect my Eastern Beaver stuff won't come in until after the long weekend so I won't get to it until the following weekend at the earliest.

Without knowing which size would work, I bought lengths of 1/8", 1/4", & 3/8" (possibly even 1/2" too). Its the shipping & handling that is the expensive part so I bought extras so I wouldn't find myself needing a foot or wishing I'd gone the next size up.

Wiring size is completely dependent on the application. For the most part, all the items I've bought come with lengths of wire already.

I've been receiving boxes of "GS Stuff" each day now for the past three days. Some of it is going to wait on the Fuse Block, though I can mount and run the wires back to under the seat to save me some time later.
__________________
-=Glen=-
[Current]
'10 R1200GS
'06 Ninja 250
Check out my Gallery
PhotoBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 05:06 PM   #15
PhotoBiker OP
Please insert title here
 
PhotoBiker's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Southern Maine
Oddometer: 1,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Northlondoncookie View Post
More room under the low seat if you can believe it.
An odd fact, but I do have the Low Seat...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Callisto224 View Post
I mounted my Eastern Beaver fuseblock in the tool tray. I use the room underneath for my relays. There is a little splash that gets under the tray once in awhile but it's not too bad.
I like the idea for the Relays under the tray.
__________________
-=Glen=-
[Current]
'10 R1200GS
'06 Ninja 250
Check out my Gallery
PhotoBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014