User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-22-2011, 09:37 PM   #1
Haywood OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 356
BAJA-Cold weekend ride to Mike's Sky Ranch

SoCalPhil and I had been talking for a few months about taking our first trip to Mike's Sky Ranch. With a three day weekend looming, 2-19 through 2-21, we decided we're going. Now, the previous 2 or 3 weekends have been very nice here. Would the weather hold for us??? Hell no! Well, the plans have been made, the bikes are ready, Mike's has our reservations. Damn the torpedoes, and the rain, and the snow, and the cold, point them south and twist that throttle!

Final preparations. It's Saturday morning, with showers moving through the area.

SoCalPhil. Ready.

Haywood. Ready.

We left Chula Vista and headed for highway 94 to the Tecate border crossing. It was raining off and on on the way out. I had just put a new D606 front tire on. On the XRL in the dirt, the 606 works pretty good, but a BF new knobbie on wet twisty mountain roads, NOT! So, it was slow going. We stopped at the mini mart on the CA side of Tecate to top off the gas. It was there, at the gas pumps, that SCP's bike decided to take a pavement nap, after bouncing off the side of my bike with me on it of course. It seems his side stand is tweaked and dose not allow the bike to lean over to the left as far as it shoud. Broken right mirror and bent the left one. No other damage, and no damage to me or my bike as it was a glancing blow. Sorry, didn't get the foto. A perfect start! I'm glad to say that despite the conditions, there were no other "bike naps" or get offs. Onward.
Haywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 10:05 PM   #2
SoCalPhil
Pata' De Perro

Oddometer: 53
Damn, Mirrors Broke!