User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-29-2011, 10:16 AM   #1
Broken Record OP
Biscuit Eater

Oddometer: 26
Cherohala Skyway in March A virgin adventurer no more

Just a little bit of background. I live in Knoxville, TN. Ive been riding a Burgman 400 for a few years, but a few months ago bought a 2007 Yamaha FZ1. Weekend before last, I decided to take the Yamaha up the Tail of the Dragon to Deals Gap. While hanging out up there, I met Klaviator and talked to him a bit about this forum. I went home and started checking it out. You could say I got bit by the adventure bug and youd be right. I immediately started planning my first trip. Im no pro photographer, Im no pro rider, Im no pro anything, but I do have one trip under my belt now and am planning my second one for a couple of weeks from now.

As soon as I made up my mind and got permission from my boss (the wife) to try it out, I started making a checklist of things I would need. I also started checking out luggage options. The FZ1 is seriously lacking in that department. I dont think it even has a place to store your gloves (at least not one that Ive found).

Due to budget constraints, I decided Id go with a $15 duffel bag, an $8 bungee net and a few more bungee cords I had in the garage. Im surprised this worked as well as it did. I was able to fit my bivy sack tent, a 40 degree sleeping bag, camp pad mattress, battery powered lantern, and a tripod camp stool in the duffel bag.

I packed a change of clothes, a book to read, camera, mp3 player and some high-class rations (beef jerky, sunflower seeds, and a mountain dew) in the backpack.

I planned to leave out around lunch time on Thursday. I strapped the duffel bag down to the passenger seat on the FZ1, suited up and strapped on the backpack. I noticed two things very quickly.

1. Bringing your leg over a duffel bag isnt as easy as it might seem.
2. A backpack is a terrible idea.