Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2011, 07:31 PM   #1
TRZ Charlie OP
That's MR. Asshole

Oddometer: 14,225
MapSource Basic Familiarization - Tutorial - Draw Routes - Part 5

DISCLAIMER: I am not an expert, nor is this tutorial for experts. I am just trying to help those new to MapSource

You have now completed Part 4 and are ready to learn the basics of drawing a route.

I find drawing routes easier and much more intuitive than building tracks. It's sort of the same process but different. It takes much less time to build a route.

So what is the difference between a "Track" and a "Route"?

A "Track", simply put is a line that you follow on your GPS. It may also contain points to denote places along the way (Waypoints). It is very basic but very accurate. It is most often with the terrain is tough such as one track that is technical with a lot of turns. In this instance you don't want pop ups on your screen telling you where to turn.

A "Route" on the other hand gives your GPS the ability to display pop ups with turn by turn information. It will tell you when to turn and how far that turn is up ahead. It still follows a line but gives you turn by turn directions.

We will begin by opening a blank page of MapSource

Next choose where you will be starting and ending your proposed route. Once you have that information, drop two waypoints. One at the start of the route and one and the end. So go ahead and choose the waypoint tool and drop a beginning and ending waypoint. When finished you should have a screen that looks similar to this one.

Now that you have your route waypointed at beginning and at the end on your new map project we will complete the route.

To do this you will need to look in the left pane of MapSource. Find the "Waypoints" tab and click it open

This is what you will see