ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-28-2011, 09:04 PM   #1
ktm33b OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
ktm33b's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: West Coast wasteland
Oddometer: 166
I need more ac plugs on my dash

Anyone got a good source. The 990 single small cigarette type doesn't make a lot of sense. Id like to have 2 maybe even three. I'm no electrician but I'm gonna give it a shot. Of course I know I need waterproof plugs. Do I just direct wire into the battery with separate leads for each plug. Converter?
ktm33b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:15 PM   #2
AdvGa
Beastly Adventurer
 
AdvGa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Atlanta Metro
Oddometer: 1,320
If you get one of these BMW accessory plugs, you can wire 2 or possibly 3 devices to the plug.

http://www.powerlet.com/product/basic-plug/275
AdvGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:27 PM   #3
ktm33b OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
ktm33b's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: West Coast wasteland
Oddometer: 166
Thanks. That's what I'm after. Do you use them?
ktm33b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:33 PM   #4
jamesbrown
Lefty tighty.
 
jamesbrown's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Gone
Oddometer: 6,413
Geek has a nice set-up:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...8&postcount=75
jamesbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:40 PM   #5
Infracaninophile
Finding My Way..
 
Infracaninophile's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2001
Location: New England, USA
Oddometer: 7,511
Better get 12V DC plugs. Not sure what you would do with AC on the bike.

Tom
Infracaninophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 10:10 PM   #6
Toddwmac
ADV addict
 
Toddwmac's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle,WA
Oddometer: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Infracaninophile View Post
Better get 12V DC plugs. Not sure what you would do with AC on the bike.

Tom

I love it when people pay attention to the little things.
__________________
KTM 08 990 ADV
HD Duece
WR 250R
Lost but don't care!
Toddwmac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 10:21 PM   #7
AdvGa
Beastly Adventurer
 
AdvGa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Atlanta Metro
Oddometer: 1,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktm33b View Post
Thanks. That's what I'm after. Do you use them?
Ktm,

Yes I do. Currently I have 1 Set of Wires for the GPS and the other Set of Wires for the R-Detector.

Works fine with 2... may be able to squeeze 3...
AdvGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 11:13 PM   #8
ktm33b OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
ktm33b's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: West Coast wasteland
Oddometer: 166
Ac/dc
ktm33b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 06:54 AM   #9
AdvGa
Beastly Adventurer
 
AdvGa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Atlanta Metro
Oddometer: 1,320
DC --- If you want AC you need to get a DC-AC Inverter.

http://www.dcacpowerinverters.com/12...inverters.html
AdvGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 07:04 AM   #10
charlie264
Beastly Adventurer
 
charlie264's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Blighty
Oddometer: 7,091
Whats wrong with the 3 faze AC from the generator...
__________________
Beauty is truth and truth is beauty.
Charlie's Side Stand Relocator.
charlie264 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 07:32 PM   #11
JUNAC
Straight Shooter
 
JUNAC's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Tecumseh, Ontario
Oddometer: 656
I plan on installing this slick little unit to power up the accessories.

http://www.blackdogcw.com/Fuzeblock.html
__________________
IF THERE'S A HOLE, SOMETHINGS GOING IN IT

KTM 950 ADVENTURE MUSCLE BIKE

XR650L WITH THE ARMY BOXES...R.I.P.
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=640254

JUNAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 10:31 PM   #12
Infracaninophile
Finding My Way..
 
Infracaninophile's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2001
Location: New England, USA
Oddometer: 7,511
Quote:
Originally Posted by JUNAC View Post
I plan on installing this slick little unit to power up the accessories.

http://www.blackdogcw.com/Fuzeblock.html
Junac:

Interesting. I am reading all I can find on fuseblocks and relays. Have you considered:

http://www.aerostich.com/powerpak-po...ule-pdm60.html

Thread here about it. Except for the price, it's perfect for what I want, i.e. solid state, no fuses:

Link: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=638076

Tom
Infracaninophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 06:15 PM   #13
JUNAC
Straight Shooter
 
JUNAC's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Tecumseh, Ontario
Oddometer: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Infracaninophile View Post
Junac:

Interesting. I am reading all I can find on fuseblocks and relays. Have you considered:

http://www.aerostich.com/powerpak-po...ule-pdm60.html

Thread here about it. Except for the price, it's perfect for what I want, i.e. solid state, no fuses:

Link: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=638076

Tom
Black Boxes scare me. I don't like electronics. The one from BDCW is simple. One 12v relay and some simple circuitry. The price is reasonable as well.
__________________
IF THERE'S A HOLE, SOMETHINGS GOING IN IT

KTM 950 ADVENTURE MUSCLE BIKE

XR650L WITH THE ARMY BOXES...R.I.P.
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=640254

JUNAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 07:33 AM   #14
jay71
Farklin' Poser
 
jay71's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Fairview, NC
Oddometer: 316
I just received an Eastern Beaver PC-8. Ordered a 50A fused, longer harness than the one used in the attached thread to enable mounting it in the under seat tool box along with my Autocom. This has a built in relay but besides that good old-fashioned fuses, so no black box hocus pocus; I think it's a nice option. I'll probably add to the thread with my install when I have a chance to get to it.

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=672682
__________________
2006 KTM 950 Adventure
jay71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 08:04 AM   #15
Infracaninophile
Finding My Way..
 
Infracaninophile's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2001
Location: New England, USA
Oddometer: 7,511
Quote:
Originally Posted by JUNAC View Post
Black Boxes scare me. I don't like electronics. The one from BDCW is simple. One 12v relay and some simple circuitry. The price is reasonable as well.
Junac:

Yes, that is one of the 3 contenders for me as well.

Likes: All the wires from your powerded devices are screwed into metal posts on the FZ-1. Nice.

Dislikes: Can only handle 30 amps and still has fuses. Meaning, I need to mount it somewhere on my 950 Adventure where I can get my hands on it. Not too many spots for this and I don't want to mount it in the glove box so maybe under the seat.

Thanks for the input. Still deciding.

Tom
Infracaninophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014