ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2011, 01:43 PM   #1
GS_Jay OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
GS_Jay's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Western North Carolina
Oddometer: 189
BackOFF xp

Anyone put one of these on their F800GS? I have a buddy who has a R1150GSA that blinks when he stops, and wondered if this would work since it is compatible with LED's (which the '11 has)... Just wondering, and search came up with no results...
GS_Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 11:28 PM   #2
sorebutt
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Lewiston,ID
Oddometer: 1,762
I have a set of Hyper-lites on my ST1300 and they work great at keeping drivers off your butt when you slow down. I thought about a set for my 800 GS, but I also wonder if they will work with the Canbus system.

I'm guessing it will because the Hyper-lites wire to the battery and only use a wire to the brake light as a signal to trigger the lights to blink, kind of like a relay switch. That shouldn't draw enough power to screw up the computer into thinking there is a problem.
sorebutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 12:37 PM   #3
GS_Jay OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
GS_Jay's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Western North Carolina
Oddometer: 189
Yeah I know the xp is supposed to work with LED's but I just wondered if it'd fault the CAN-bus on the lights with the flasher... Might call to find out
__________________
Lots o toys
Guns, motorbikes and fast cars 'n sheit...
GS_Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 04:02 PM   #4
GS_Jay OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
GS_Jay's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Western North Carolina
Oddometer: 189
Spoke with a BMW tech today, and it WILL NOT work... Since the computer sends a check signal to the brake light every once and a while, with those modulators it makes it think that the light is either out or messed up somehow. So if one had it on it'd throw warnings and possibly make the tail light go on solid until it is removed. Maybe they'll come up with a new one shortly for the led / CAN-bus but we'll just have to flash our brakes like the MSF says until we get something.
__________________
Lots o toys
Guns, motorbikes and fast cars 'n sheit...
GS_Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 07:02 PM   #5
SCflyer
Beastly Adventurer
 
SCflyer's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Back in NC
Oddometer: 1,590
More $$ but another option...

http://www.lights.skenedesign.com/

I don't have any issues with CANBUS on my R12GSA. I have it set-up to where the extra lights work as turn signals/hazards as well.
__________________
"Not all those who wander are lost" J.R.R. Tolkien
SCflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 01:25 AM   #6
aaronrkelly
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: southern Iowa
Oddometer: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by GS_Jay View Post
Spoke with a BMW tech today, and it WILL NOT work... Since the computer sends a check signal to the brake light every once and a while, with those modulators it makes it think that the light is either out or messed up somehow. So if one had it on it'd throw warnings and possibly make the tail light go on solid until it is removed. Maybe they'll come up with a new one shortly for the led / CAN-bus but we'll just have to flash our brakes like the MSF says until we get something.
Kisan makes the tailBlazer.....same type of product.

They have a specific version that works WITH the BMW CAN-bus.

Heres the link.

https://kisantech.com/index.php?cat_...ame=tailBlazer
__________________
Iowa to Grand Canyon....and back
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=615692

a quick run to the Black Hills
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showt...8#post14248448
aaronrkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 06:52 AM   #7
GS_Jay OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
GS_Jay's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Western North Carolina
Oddometer: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronrkelly View Post
Kisan makes the tailBlazer.....same type of product.

They have a specific version that works WITH the BMW CAN-bus.

Heres the link.

https://kisantech.com/index.php?cat_...ame=tailBlazer
Thanks, that is what I've been looking for!!
__________________
Lots o toys
Guns, motorbikes and fast cars 'n sheit...
GS_Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 11:59 AM   #8
Manventure
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: PacNorthWet
Oddometer: 136
I have been looking at the hyper's and this is from their FAQ:

Are Hyper-Lites CANBUS compatible?

Yes! Our system doesn't draw power from the brake light circuit, and we only use a sensot to detect extra voltage in the system!

Will Hyper-Lites cause ABS errors?

NO! We're just too effecient. Our low amp draw, 280 miliamps, coupled with our brake sensor makes us invisible to ABS sensors!
Manventure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 09:20 PM   #9
exotesthrasouden
Adventurer
 
exotesthrasouden's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 77
Germany

does anyone know if any of these are legal in Germany. Moving there shortly.
__________________
Only those who will risk going too far can possibly find out how far one can go. ~T.S. Eliot

- 2009 BMW F800GS
exotesthrasouden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 10:32 PM   #10
Captain Excellent
+ll+
 
Captain Excellent's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: North Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by GS_Jay View Post
Spoke with a BMW tech today, and it WILL NOT work... Since the computer sends a check signal to the brake light every once and a while, with those modulators it makes it think that the light is either out or messed up somehow. So if one had it on it'd throw warnings and possibly make the tail light go on solid until it is removed. Maybe they'll come up with a new one shortly for the led / CAN-bus but we'll just have to flash our brakes like the MSF says until we get something.
So murphey's law would have it that I don't see this thread until after I install the BackOFF xp modulator on a '13 F800GS
I spoke with a Signal Dynamics rep (BackOFF manufacturer) because I installed the system just as instructed and all I get is the modulation and brake light, no running light. I explained that the light circuit works at 30% voltage normally, and jumps to 100% (12v) only when brake circuit is engaged.
Long dead silence on the other end and then he says, "our system doesn't work with variable voltage."
Well shouldn't it say something like that on the package? Doh!
I tried to suggest some work arounds like a resister by-pass to allow the 30% to connect all the time, but tech says it don't work.
So if you have a "simple" bike, go for it! If you have a fancy new Beamer, don't bother.
__________________
!
Captain Excellent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014