User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-17-2011, 03:30 PM   #1
Kytann OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 177
How to waterproof my leather jacket

I'm asking. I've never done it before, and I've been caught in a few rainstorms where the jacket seems to soak up the water, not repel it.

It's a First Gear, not that that detail matters much, that I got used several years ago, so it's probably 10 years old now.

I know the best waterproof gear is Aerostitch stuff, but I'd really rather just spend $20 on some waterproof oil or something for my jacket than buy another jacket. Not to mention Aerostitch stuff is really expensive..
Kytann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 03:34 PM   #2
T
Yippee Ki Yay

Oddometer: 5,072
I've used the Nikwax for leather on boots and gloves; works quite well. Never tried it on an entire jacket but it should work...
Old 05-17-2011, 03:35 PM   #3
P B G
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 9,999
Variety of products are available, I've used a nikwax product before on leather boots. You basically cannot waterproof the seams and zippers if they are not designed to be so, but you can overall reduce the amount of water that gets into the leather in brief drizzle.

Get a rain suit to throw over your jacket.
P B G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 03:40 PM   #4
Kytann OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Quote:
Originally Posted by P B G View Post
Variety of products are available, I've used a nikwax product before on leather boots. You basically cannot waterproof the seams and zippers if they are not designed to be so, but you can overall reduce the amount of water that gets into the leather in brief drizzle.

Get a rain suit to throw over your jacket.
Yeah I actually own a rainsuit, for when there is an actual deluge of water.