ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-16-2014, 07:52 PM   #1
rogerdodger OP
Studly Adventurer
 
rogerdodger's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Currently in Australia
Oddometer: 532
Garmin problems

My old Garmin 60SCx is acting up. Everything seems to work, but when I try to connect it to a computer (menu, set up, interface) It still shows USB not connected. It beeps when I pull the USB cord out, and beeps when I plug it back in, but the display says, (not connected) I've exhausted my limited knowledge of what to do. (Removed sim, restored defaults.)

anyone got any advice?

thanks
__________________
Ride reports
India

Malaysia and Thailand

Nepal

Back home Georgia to Florida

its not what I do, its the way that I do it.
rogerdodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 08:40 PM   #2
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,085
Are you using Mapsource or BaseCamp?

With Mapsource, what happens with the with standard upload/download Icons?

You can always read the data card outside the 60 with a card reader.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 08:58 PM   #3
rogerdodger OP
Studly Adventurer
 
rogerdodger's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Currently in Australia
Oddometer: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
Are you using Mapsource or BaseCamp?

With Mapsource, what happens with the with standard upload/download Icons?

You can always read the data card outside the 60 with a card reader.
I switched to Basecamp some time ago and it had been working fine.

Don't have a micro reader, and it would be nice not to have yet another component to carry around when traveling. Plus I guess I'd like to actually fix the problem. :)
__________________
Ride reports
India

Malaysia and Thailand

Nepal

Back home Georgia to Florida

its not what I do, its the way that I do it.
rogerdodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 09:45 PM   #4
Bajaexplorer
Alien
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Location: Earth
Oddometer: 58
do you have another USB port you can plug into, same puter or another

are you sure the usb plug on gramin is setting good
Bajaexplorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 10:56 PM   #5
rogerdodger OP
Studly Adventurer
 
rogerdodger's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Currently in Australia
Oddometer: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bajaexplorer View Post
do you have another USB port you can plug into, same puter or another

are you sure the usb plug on gramin is setting good

Yup tried all three ports on one computer and tried another computer and all get the same thing, beeps but unit says not connected. I've giggled the plug a fair bit but doesnt make any difference.
__________________
Ride reports
India

Malaysia and Thailand

Nepal

Back home Georgia to Florida

its not what I do, its the way that I do it.
rogerdodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 12:07 AM   #6
Hill Climber
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Kaslo BC summer, Yuma AZ during winter
Oddometer: 237
This might work

On the screen (menu, set up, interface) the second line Serial Data Format should be set to Garmin.
The bottom line should read USB Mass Storage. If it doesn’t, then scroll down to highlight the line and press Enter. Hopefully you get a choice to select USB Mass Storage and click on it. You may have to press Enter a second time if nothing happens. Wait a few minutes, then press and hold the Power On button to reboot the GPS. This may help……

Also, (I’m still on the old Windows XP stuff) if you connect the gps to your computer and if you right click on My Computer, and left click on Manage, then left click on Device Manager, you should see on the right column, GARMIN Devices. Click on the + sign and Garmin USB GPS should be listed. If GARMIN Devices is not there, then you’re missing a Garmin driver. Sometimes you will have a software conflict with other software and Windows will drop a Garmin driver.
You’d be best to give Garmin a phone call and talk to their Tech people about your situation. My past experience has always been positive, and sometimes you get a tech who goes above and beyond to help you. The help is free.

I’ve had a similar problem with my computer not recognizing my gps and wanted me to transfer files with an MTP Media Player. It turns out I was missing a Garmin driver. Garmin couldn't help me on this one, and I eventually found an article with a similar problem, not with a GPS but a Sony Walkman. Going through the article, I substituted Sony Walkman with Garmin GPS and I got everything working again.

If you get it sorted out, I'd be grateful if you posted how it was solved. I'll take notes and put it into my Garmin Solving Problems file.




Quote:
Originally Posted by rogerdodger View Post
My old Garmin 60SCx is acting up. Everything seems to work, but when I try to connect it to a computer (menu, set up, interface) It still shows USB not connected. It beeps when I pull the USB cord out, and beeps when I plug it back in, but the display says, (not connected) I've exhausted my limited knowledge of what to do. (Removed sim, restored defaults.)

anyone got any advice?

thanks
__________________
07 klr650 (for sale 3200ish)
08 ktm530
12 ktm990Adventure
Hill Climber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 05:41 AM   #7
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 636
Is this a new computer, as in usb 3? Or one that has worked with this device in the past?
__________________
SW
Steve W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 06:20 AM   #8
layzrider
Layzrider
 
layzrider's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: vancouver, wa
Oddometer: 116
Good info from Hillclimber and others

I plug my Garmin into the usb port, turn it on and then turn on the computer. Otherwise, the computer will not recognize the Garmin. Sounds like there are some settings I might check to get it to recognize the Garmin plugged in later.
layzrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 07:09 AM   #9
catweasel67
Banned
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Vienna, Austria
Oddometer: 8,104
You tried a different cable? They fail pretty easily.
catweasel67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 07:37 PM   #10
rogerdodger OP
Studly Adventurer
 
rogerdodger's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Currently in Australia
Oddometer: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hill Climber View Post
On the screen (menu, set up, interface) the second line Serial Data Format should be set to Garmin.
The bottom line should read USB Mass Storage. If it doesn’t, then scroll down to highlight the line and press Enter. Hopefully you get a choice to select USB Mass Storage and click on it. You may have to press Enter a second time if nothing happens. Wait a few minutes, then press and hold the Power On button to reboot the GPS. This may help…… Yup its set up the ways its always been with Format line showing GArmin and bottom line showing USB Mass Storage. The top line just continues to say not connected.

Also, (I’m still on the old Windows XP stuff) if you connect the gps to your computer and if you right click on My Computer, and left click on Manage, then left click on Device Manager, you should see on the right column, GARMIN Devices. Click on the + sign and Garmin USB GPS should be listed. If GARMIN Devices is not there, then you’re missing a Garmin driver. Sometimes you will have a software conflict with other software and Windows will drop a Garmin driver.It doesnt show on the device manager, as its not connecting
You’d be best to give Garmin a phone call and talk to their Tech people about your situation. My past experience has always been positive, and sometimes you get a tech who goes above and beyond to help you. The help is free. Not sure how calling them would work out, since Im in Australia

I’ve had a similar problem with my computer not recognizing my gps and wanted me to transfer files with an MTP Media Player. It turns out I was missing a Garmin driver. Garmin couldn't help me on this one, and I eventually found an article with a similar problem, not with a GPS but a Sony Walkman. Going through the article, I substituted Sony Walkman with Garmin GPS and I got everything working again. possibly ,but seems strange than nothing has been changed and it should suddenly not have the correct driver

If you get it sorted out, I'd be grateful if you posted how it was solved. I'll take notes and put it into my Garmin Solving Problems file. will do
Thanks
__________________
Ride reports
India

Malaysia and Thailand

Nepal

Back home Georgia to Florida

its not what I do, its the way that I do it.
rogerdodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 07:39 PM   #11
rogerdodger OP
Studly Adventurer
 
rogerdodger's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Currently in Australia
Oddometer: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve W View Post
Is this a new computer, as in usb 3? Or one that has worked with this device in the past?

Nothing has been changed and I had been using it and then was going to change maps and wouldnt connect.
__________________
Ride reports
India

Malaysia and Thailand

Nepal

Back home Georgia to Florida

its not what I do, its the way that I do it.
rogerdodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 07:40 PM   #12
rogerdodger OP
Studly Adventurer
 
rogerdodger's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Currently in Australia
Oddometer: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by layzrider View Post
I plug my Garmin into the usb port, turn it on and then turn on the computer. Otherwise, the computer will not recognize the Garmin. Sounds like there are some settings I might check to get it to recognize the Garmin plugged in later.

Tried that and every other combination and still wont connect.
__________________
Ride reports
India

Malaysia and Thailand

Nepal

Back home Georgia to Florida

its not what I do, its the way that I do it.
rogerdodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 07:42 PM   #13
rogerdodger OP
Studly Adventurer
 
rogerdodger's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Currently in Australia
Oddometer: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by catweasel67 View Post
You tried a different cable? They fail pretty easily.
That sounds like the most likely problem at this point, but not sure where Im going to find a replacement cable to just try. I now live at the end of the world and it seems we dont even have a nearby Garmin dealer.
__________________
Ride reports
India

Malaysia and Thailand

Nepal

Back home Georgia to Florida

its not what I do, its the way that I do it.
rogerdodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 08:15 PM   #14
renogeorge
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Reno
Oddometer: 1,157
The cable is a generic--usb-mini usb?

Try reloading usb driver on computer

Good luck
__________________
KTMs--300, 518, 990
renogeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 10:31 PM   #15
Hill Climber
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Kaslo BC summer, Yuma AZ during winter
Oddometer: 237
Garmin Australia Tech Support

Try this number....
Australia Customer Support: 1800 235 822

http://www.garmin.com/au/support/contact-support
__________________
07 klr650 (for sale 3200ish)
08 ktm530
12 ktm990Adventure

Hill Climber screwed with this post 05-17-2014 at 11:00 PM
Hill Climber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014