ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 248 votes, 4.89 average. Display Modes
Old 10-16-2012, 04:54 PM   #5581
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmmEff View Post
A simple little software bug like this reflects poorly on Garmin. They should care more...
It's very minor so it doesn't bother me in the least. I'm sure it'll be taken care of sometime. The important stuff is working perfectly for me and that's what I care about.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 05:05 PM   #5582
brainfreeze
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Oddometer: 24
Map view "setup map"/ "restore defaults"

Is there a way to "lock" a map and/or profile setup? The setup map and restore default buttons on the map menu are really close together. If you spend the time to set up custom profile with a custom map dashboard for example and by accident hit the restore defaults button, all your work is gone. A lock feature is needed or they need to move the restore button.. Hopefully there is a answer.
brainfreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 05:25 PM   #5583
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by brainfreeze View Post
...or they need to move the restore button.. Hopefully there is a answer.
This is the easiest to do - hold your finger for a couple of seconds on the icon you want to move then drag it where you want it to go and drop it.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 06:46 PM   #5584
brainfreeze
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Oddometer: 24
To clarify, I am talking about the 3 bar menu in a map view. Pressing the 3 bar "menu" brings up the options of 'setup map' and 'restore defaults'. You cannot move those by press and hold.
brainfreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 06:58 PM   #5585
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by brainfreeze View Post
To clarify, I am talking about the 3 bar menu in a map view. Pressing the 3 bar "menu" brings up the options of 'setup map' and 'restore defaults'. You cannot move those by press and hold.
I see. No way I know of to lock a configuration or move those menu items... But are you pushing those while wearing boxing gloves?

I've never once hit "Restore Defaults" by accident in the 18 months I've owned it.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 06:59 PM   #5586
scotty69
Studly Adventurer
 
scotty69's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Ozark Mountain Highlands
Oddometer: 903
Currently I'm loving my Montana. No problems at the time! I still bring a spare with me...60csx. The old stand by!
__________________
Orchestrated Chaos
arkansas500.com
scotty69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 07:12 PM   #5587
TowPro
Getting there
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 2,999
So I made a couple routes in Basecamp. first I had them set to motorcycle, then saved them as a track.
Then I changed these routes to "direct", then sent them to the GPS.

on motorcycle sunday, If I opened these routes in the auto profile, the worked find. If I opened them with my ADV profile, they would get up to around 24% calculation and the GPS would stop calculating any higher.

So we rode them as Auto profile. I was 2 up with the Wife and we had fun anyway.
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 07:53 PM   #5588
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by TowPro View Post
So I made a couple routes in Basecamp. first I had them set to motorcycle, then saved them as a track.
Then I changed these routes to "direct", then sent them to the GPS.

on motorcycle sunday, If I opened these routes in the auto profile, the worked find. If I opened them with my ADV profile, they would get up to around 24% calculation and the GPS would stop calculating any higher.

So we rode them as Auto profile. I was 2 up with the Wife and we had fun anyway.
Maybe avoidances set in the ADV profile were causing the problem?
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 08:10 PM   #5589
TowPro
Getting there
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 2,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Maybe avoidances set in the ADV profile were causing the problem?
Must be. I think anything above state roads is set to avoid in the adv profile.

I do know I need to go back into basecamp and setup profiles to match my ADV profile that i use in the montana (I think I can do that).

I need to check this out tomorrow. This weekend I have 3 routes that are all stone road we plan on doing. If ADV profile don't work I will end up following Tracks, which don't Feature Miss Montana giving me directions inside my helmet.
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 06:52 AM   #5590
Yossarian™
Deputy Cultural Attaché
 
Yossarian™'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: the 'Ha
Oddometer: 9,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by brainfreeze View Post
Is there a way to "lock" a map and/or profile setup? The setup map and restore default buttons on the map menu are really close together. If you spend the time to set up custom profile with a custom map dashboard for example and by accident hit the restore defaults button, all your work is gone. A lock feature is needed or they need to move the restore button.. Hopefully there is a answer.
You might want to make a backup of your profiles, just in case you mess one or more up.

It's very easy to do if you just connect the Montana to your computer and let it go into USB drive mode. Look in the root Montana drive (not the microSD card, if installed) and copy the items in /Garmin/Profiles/ to a destination on your computer.
__________________
Successfully surviving motorcycling since 1976.
Yossarian™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 07:41 AM   #5591
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 681
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
I see. No way I know of to lock a configuration or move those menu items... But are you pushing those while wearing boxing gloves?

I've never once hit "Restore Defaults" by accident in the 18 months I've owned it.

I've "restored defaults" a couple times while riding. I don't really do it anymore since you can change from track up to north up by pressing the North Arrow. That's the reason I did it most of the time.

I also recently changed gloves and had to figure out where to press with the new gloves.
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 07:59 AM   #5592
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit View Post
I've "restored defaults" a couple times while riding.
Going into the Menu system while riding can be bad for your health.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 08:02 AM   #5593
brainfreeze
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Oddometer: 24
I will just backup the profiles to the pc- Dropbox as a safeguard to my sausage fingers. This is a great GPS and I have it very customized for me. May put in a request to be able to lock the profiles from accidental changes.
brainfreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 12:52 PM   #5594
bighopper
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Central Alberta Canada
Oddometer: 184
Difference In Trip Log & Track kilometers/Miles

Don't know if anyone else has noticed this, but the distance reported by the 'Trip Distance' & a 'Track' file seem to be approx. 6% different. The 'Track Log' & 'Trip Log' zeroed, the 'Track Distance' (current) shows eg; Trip = 173.4kl 7 Tack = 163!

Anyone else see this difference? Does anyone know why this would be?
__________________
I Just Like To Ride
'03 BMW R1150GSA
'06 BMW K1200LT
bighopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 01:06 PM   #5595
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by bighopper View Post
Don't know if anyone else has noticed this, but the distance reported by the 'Trip Distance' & a 'Track' file seem to be approx. 6% different. The 'Track Log' & 'Trip Log' zeroed, the 'Track Distance' (current) shows eg; Trip = 173.4kl 7 Tack = 163!

Anyone else see this difference? Does anyone know why this would be?
This is a very commonly reported non issue.

The Trip Computer records track length at a rate of one waypoint per second.

If you have your Track Log set to record more often, your recorded track length will likely be longer than the Trip Computer Odometer reports.

Similarly, if you have it set to record less often, it will likely be shorter than the Trip Computer Odometer.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014