ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 184 votes, 4.85 average. Display Modes
Old 12-04-2012, 03:33 AM   #6121
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,874
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky TFS View Post
Try this: Setup-> Shortcuts-> Create shortcut-> Name="Reset ODO", You will find a red 180 turn Icon to use, No change to Profile, Setup->Page down to Reset, "Reset Trip Data-> ON, back to shortcut page, No Where to?, Application to "Map". Then "Add to Menu". Move it to Drawer later if you want.
I have a similar one I called "Reset Trip and Track" and it's accessible through a single push on the power button. Each morning before I go for a ride, it only takes a second to get ready using that Shortcut.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 07:09 AM   #6122
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Windrock View Post
Good stuff, Thanks, Got anymore handy shortcuts?
Sure:

Go Home (because of the aggravation of the Montana making multiples of Home, I set another waypoint called Home1, which is NEVER used in any route I build in Basecamp. Otherwise, as soon as you get multiple routes with Home in them, the shortcut ceases to work.)

Track log ON

Track log OFF

Gas Services (finds nearest gas)

Topo (changes map and profile to Topo)

Pavement (changes map to CNNA, profile to BMW Paved)

The last two basically switch back and forth between avoid and don't avoid unpaved with a different icon and background, as well as between the two maps. For me, my Topo maps don't support routing, so they also change between Direct and Automotive Activity.

Shortcuts are one of the coolest things about the Montana!
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:04 AM   #6123
number9
Gnarly Adventurer
 
number9's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky TFS View Post


Don't do that again!!!

Try this: Setup-> Shortcuts-> Create shortcut-> Name="Reset ODO", You will find a red 180 turn Icon to use, No change to Profile, Setup->Page down to Reset, "Reset Trip Data-> ON, back to shortcut page, No Where to?, Application to "Map". Then "Add to Menu". Move it to Drawer later if you want.

This does not change anything except resets just the odo, times, speeds, etc., and returns you to the map in one second! I use it all the time. Put it in all profiles.
NICE!!! Thanks for that!

...
__________________
2000 Yamaha YZ250
2009 Yamaha YZ250
2013 Kawasaki Ninja 1000
number9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:10 AM   #6124
number9
Gnarly Adventurer
 
number9's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravellingStrom View Post
It would be nice if on the map screen when navigating and you select the triple bar menu option that the bottom option restore defaults was removed

I hate trying to use SETUP MAP and hitting RESTORE DEFAULTS it is a stupid place for it and should have a confirmation query before doing so at least
I agree!! Someone should submit this to the Montana dev team

...
__________________
2000 Yamaha YZ250
2009 Yamaha YZ250
2013 Kawasaki Ninja 1000
number9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:14 AM   #6125
Windrock
Adventurer
 
Windrock's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Oddometer: 21
Shortcuts would be even cooler if Garmin would implement some kind of Macro Language so you could have complete control of some of the functions. You could then build Custom Shortcuts exactly the way you would want them to work. Seems like maybe a simple thing to do.
__________________
Trail Maintenance Supevisor - Windrock Park Trails
Oliver Springs, Tn

Trail Machine: 2013 Polaris RzR 570 LE
Windrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:23 AM   #6126
gots_a_sol
Gnarly Adventurer
 
gots_a_sol's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Charles Town, WV
Oddometer: 408
I highly doubt this, but is there a way to make your current speed not light up red when going above the speed limit? I feel like it is judging me
__________________
11 Husky TXC250
09 Husky WR165 - VCHSS #79L
gots_a_sol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:58 AM   #6127
SKINNY
Studly Adventurer
 
SKINNY's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: West Texas
Oddometer: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by gots_a_sol View Post
I highly doubt this, but is there a way to make your current speed not light up red when going above the speed limit? I feel like it is judging me
The legal speed limit in Texas is 70/75/80 depending on where you are, but Garmin/Navtech apparently thinks the speed limit is 65 mph, so I'm always in the red...
SKINNY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:59 AM   #6128
number9
Gnarly Adventurer
 
number9's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by gots_a_sol View Post
I highly doubt this, but is there a way to make your current speed not light up red when going above the speed limit? I feel like it is judging me
It doesn't do that with the Small Data Fields dashboard, but does in the Nuvi dashboard.

.....
__________________
2000 Yamaha YZ250
2009 Yamaha YZ250
2013 Kawasaki Ninja 1000
number9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:30 AM   #6129
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by gots_a_sol View Post
I highly doubt this, but is there a way to make your current speed not light up red when going above the speed limit? I feel like it is judging me
If you are going above the speed limit you should be looking for cops instead of at the GPS!

And no, you can't, not if you are using the Nuvi dashboard.
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:39 AM   #6130
TowPro
Getting there
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 2,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Windrock View Post
Shortcuts would be even cooler if Garmin would implement some kind of Macro Language so you could have complete control of some of the functions. You could then build Custom Shortcuts exactly the way you would want them to work. Seems like maybe a simple thing to do.
Go into the unit storage, view the XML code file named the same as your current shortcut. This might get you pointed in the right direction.

EDIT: Add the Id-10T disclaimer.
Please backup your shortcuts and profiles first.
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:48 AM   #6131
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyborg View Post
My guess what works is the Nite Ize Backbone Case Size #20 Medium/Tall

http://www.amazon.com/Nite-Ize-Unive...f=pd_sbs_cps_5

http://www.niteize.com/product/Backb...se-Size-20.asp




I ordered the Small too from GPS City at the recommended link and haven't gotten it yet, and it was too cheap to bother returning, so I'll use it for something else.
Sorry for the confusion...I just grabbed a link to the NiteIze product.

The one I have is the: NiteIze Black Backbone Case Medium Tall, Model: NBB-03-20BLK

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:58 AM   #6132
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Sorry for the confusion...I just grabbed a link to the NiteIze product.

The one I have is the: NiteIze Black Backbone Case Medium Tall, Model: NBB-03-20BLK

Cheers,
Hey, that's what we get for believing something we read on the internet...
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:44 AM   #6133
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by TowPro View Post
Go into the unit storage, view the XML code file named the same as your current shortcut. This might get you pointed in the right direction.

EDIT: Add the Id-10T disclaimer.
Please backup your shortcuts and profiles first.
The Shortcut simply calls "Profile-tags". And you would need to know the integer range for a given Profile-tag. Then of course you would find that all of the features you may want to "code" in your custom Shortcut were not available settings in the Profile (no Tag). Example: Camera ON/OFF - here is no Profile-tag for Camera.

Profile's appear to be "lookup tables" that the configuration code on the Montana uses to "setup" the unit.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:39 PM   #6134
number9
Gnarly Adventurer
 
number9's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky TFS View Post


Don't do that again!!!

Try this: Setup-> Shortcuts-> Create shortcut-> Name="Reset ODO", You will find a red 180 turn Icon to use, No change to Profile, Setup->Page down to Reset, "Reset Trip Data-> ON, back to shortcut page, No Where to?, Application to "Map". Then "Add to Menu". Move it to Drawer later if you want.

This does not change anything except resets just the odo, times, speeds, etc., and returns you to the map in one second! I use it all the time. Put it in all profiles.
I just did your shortcut except I made the Trip Computer the app to launch instead of the map. I figured I'd be in the Main Menu when I launch the shortcut anyway, and I'd like the Trip Computer to launch so I can confirm it was reset.

Thanks again for this!!!

...
__________________
2000 Yamaha YZ250
2009 Yamaha YZ250
2013 Kawasaki Ninja 1000
number9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:51 PM   #6135
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
For those who want an overview of which options are currently available when creating Shortcuts on Montana, you can see that here.

atlas cached screwed with this post 12-04-2012 at 02:56 PM
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014