ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 171 votes, 4.84 average. Display Modes
Old 12-23-2012, 05:17 PM   #6376
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drif10 View Post
Another difference from the 478:

You lose one level of detailed zoom. Now, the 478 was unique that way, all other garmins topped out at the same level, only the 478 went one more step. So... not a big, but a diff.
You need the Canada Enhanced Basemap.

You get road detail out to the 5k zoom level.

__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 06:47 PM   #6377
snooker
AttitudeIsEverything
 
snooker's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Loveland, Colorado
Oddometer: 1,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Do you even need to have the gps plugged in as you install to the new PC? I think the issue is that your gps has newer maps than the dvd so if the gps with newer maps is plugged into the target computer, it will try to match the serial number on the dvd to the updated maps and fail because of it.

Have you tried installing without the gps plugged in?

And there is a forum you could ask the question on. forums.garmin.com.
Inserting the CNNANT 2012 DVD will autorun and then Garmin Map Setup shows the following screen. The Continue key is greyed out until you either connect your GPSr or you click on "Have a device you cannot connect?" and then enter the serial number of it. This happened the very first time I ever popped in the DVD on my first PC. So I think it has to know what device you are "tying" your single device license to before it continues, as far as I can tell. That kind of makes sense to me since it is licensed only to a single GPSr.



On my first WinXP PC I installed CNNANT from DVD with its product key and did the Lifetime Update as well with its product key. So I have different 2 sets of CNNANT installed on my PC, but I have never used MapInstall (or anything else) to install any maps onto the Montana.

But the problem is, Now on my new Win8 notebook whether I connect the Montana or enter the serial number of it, it will go the next screen asking for the product key, and if I enter the product key from the DVD it says:
"The Product Key is not valid for this Map Update".



It does seem like it knows I have installed and updated with the latest version once and won't let me do it again, maybe thinking I should already have the latest for the GPSr I have specified. But it should be able to tell I am on a different computer (MAC Address or whatever). I wanted to get this installed for a present but guess I will have to wait until Garmin is open again, haven't found anything helpful in Garmin forum yet either.
__________________
Baja 2012 Ride Report ~~~ My 07 BMW G650 XCountry Thread | 03 Honda Shadow ACE 750 | 99 Honda XR400 ~~~

FindMeSpot ~~~ Spotwalla Baja Trip ~~~ Neduro Did Dakar!
snooker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 07:13 PM   #6378
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by snooker View Post
But the problem is, Now on my new Win8 notebook whether I connect the Montana or enter the serial number of it, it will go the next screen asking for the product key, and if I enter the product key from the DVD it says:
"The Product Key is not valid for this Map Update".
.
What about going to your MyGarmin account online, downloading the map update to the new computer then installing that?

Check this FAQ in the Garmin Forums.

There is a section dealing with getting the maps onto a second computer.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.

Emmbeedee screwed with this post 12-23-2012 at 07:18 PM
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 02:50 AM   #6379
Drif10
Accredited Jackass
 
Drif10's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Gates of Moscow
Oddometer: 45,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
You need the Canada Enhanced Basemap.

You get road detail out to the 5k zoom level.

Yeah, been using that trick for years.

Could get 8k zoom on a 478, which was totally useless.

Metroguide Can V4 is damn near the backroads mapbook. All the old crown road allowances and abandoned railbeds are on it.
__________________
I guess your get up and go needs a coffee. - Drif5
Drif10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 02:55 AM   #6380
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,093
Regarding installing maps on computers and unlocking them......

I have my CN installed on more than on computer (Windows and MAC). I ran the installs off the CD's without the GPS connected and the installs went fine. Just like installing anything else.

Were I ALWAYS run into issues is with the product keys to unlock the maps. It seems like I have to try multiple times before I get the correct key to unlock the maps. Sometimes I get the correct key from the My Garmin site on the first try and other times I have to search through their menu system under my account to find the correct key for the product I wish to unlock because for some reason they seem to list more than one key for some of my maps.

Either that or I'm getting old and confused when I look for stuff in my account at their site

Eventually it does work and I think I finally got the correct keys backed up on my system now.

But it sure was a hassle the last time I had to do it.

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 05:28 AM   #6381
johnpitts01
Studly Adventurer
 
johnpitts01's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Philly
Oddometer: 856
Thank you thank you thank you Emmbeedee

I've had my Montana now for more than a month. I loaded all the maps on the SD card a couple weeks ago. Due to a heavy International travel schedule I havent even turned the Montana on...... until yesterday.

I am now back at home and needed to take a short trip to a place I'd never been before. Turned the unit on. Let me see, I need to find a place. Why isn't there a choice for recreation, community, etc. Oh I know, I probably dont have the CN map active. Find the wrench, easy, find maps, ok. Hmmmmmm, no CN map and 5 versions of Topo 100k. WTF?!?!?!

OK, go to this thread. And there like magic is someone else with the same problem and the solution from Emmbeedee.

Thanks again.

BUT, why is this damned thing so complicated?
I know the answer already. It is so powerful and can be configured to do exactly what YOU want it to do, no matter what that may be.
Which means it aint for everybody.
But if you take the time to figure it out, or follow the lead of others on this thread it is a great device.

Now I need to start working this thing and getting it configured for my needs: Adventure Motorcycling, Mountain biking, Geocaching, On road car and motorcycling.

JB





Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
You're on a Mac, right? My most recent install to 2013.30 also didn't work. It kept telling me it was installed and the update was applied but it wasn't so I complained to Garmin. A nice young lady phoned me and I shared my computer with her, and she navigated to the place on my drive where the update resided, ran it from there and all was well from then on.

This screen shot shows where the update was found on my computer - yours should be similar.

Never mind the red arrows at the top left.

johnpitts01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 11:13 PM   #6382
snooker
AttitudeIsEverything
 
snooker's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Loveland, Colorado
Oddometer: 1,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by snooker View Post
Inserting the CNNANT 2012 DVD will autorun and then Garmin Map Setup shows the following screen. The Continue key is greyed out until you either connect your GPSr or you click on "Have a device you cannot connect?" and then enter the serial number of it. This happened the very first time I ever popped in the DVD on my first PC. So I think it has to know what device you are "tying" your single device license to before it continues, as far as I can tell. That kind of makes sense to me since it is licensed only to a single GPSr.



On my first WinXP PC I installed CNNANT from DVD with its product key and did the Lifetime Update as well with its product key. So I have different 2 sets of CNNANT installed on my PC, but I have never used MapInstall (or anything else) to install any maps onto the Montana.

But the problem is, Now on my new Win8 notebook whether I connect the Montana or enter the serial number of it, it will go the next screen asking for the product key, and if I enter the product key from the DVD it says:
"The Product Key is not valid for this Map Update".



It does seem like it knows I have installed and updated with the latest version once and won't let me do it again, maybe thinking I should already have the latest for the GPSr I have specified. But it should be able to tell I am on a different computer (MAC Address or whatever). I wanted to get this installed for a present but guess I will have to wait until Garmin is open again, haven't found anything helpful in Garmin forum yet either.
Well MBD gave me a good tip and I figured this out, thanks!

The solution was to go my.garmin.com, login and go to the My Maps tab. There it showed CNNANT 2013.30 and had a Download link. This is the latest version which is a result of my installing the nuMaps Lifetime Update earlier. Clicking on the Download link goes to a new page and a link to Download Map Updater, and when you click on that it downloads this executable called Map Updater. Note when you run it that it is a different program from the one above launched from the DVD. Instead it is running "Map Updater v3.1.20".

At this point it wants you to connect your GPSr but it does not ask you for a Product Key. Again note below it is Map Updater and not Map Setup which is running if you try an install from the DVD:



I think what I have learned here is that because CNNANT has the posssibility of a Lifetime Update, once you activate the Lifetime Update online and download a new update, then Garmin knows that fact and you can not use the (older) DVD version and install it, not even on a different PC. I am guessing the reason is that it knows you have already downloaded a newer update so the DVD is an older version.

For comparison, I *WAS* able to install the latest Topo US 24k Southwest onto my 2nd PC from the DVD, and it was able to install fine using the Product Key in the DVD cover. I'm guessing the reason is that there is no update available so this is still the latest one and it accepted the product key.
__________________
Baja 2012 Ride Report ~~~ My 07 BMW G650 XCountry Thread | 03 Honda Shadow ACE 750 | 99 Honda XR400 ~~~

FindMeSpot ~~~ Spotwalla Baja Trip ~~~ Neduro Did Dakar!
snooker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 12:15 AM   #6383
GSXR
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Sunshine Coast
Oddometer: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drif10 View Post
http://garminmontanagpsr.wikispaces.com/

First thing I read.

Well, after wading through a bunch of this thread until I found the wiki.
Thanks Drif. That's a brilliant link.

Smithy
GSXR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 03:21 AM   #6384
Drif10
Accredited Jackass
 
Drif10's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Gates of Moscow
Oddometer: 45,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithy69 View Post
Thanks Drif. That's a brilliant link.

Smithy
I'm just passing it on, I got it here. Somebody else did the work.
__________________
I guess your get up and go needs a coffee. - Drif5
Drif10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 05:11 PM   #6385
BergDonk
Beastly Adventurer
 
BergDonk's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Snowy Mountains Oz
Oddometer: 2,994
So I unpacked my new Montana 600 yesterday, thanks Santa, and have a had a bit of a play, and I seem to have one major problem that someone may be able to assist with.

It won't switch on with the supplied LiIon battery pack.

I installed the battery as per the instructions and plugged the GPS into the supplied mains charger. I did remove the packaging from the battery. Once the AC was on, it booted up, so I had a bit of a play and then switched it off to get the battery charged up for a few hours, a max of 4.5 hrs if flat according to the manual.

It won't turn on unless the mains charger is connected. It will however work OK with 3 AA Alkaline batteries fitted instead of the LiIon pack.

When I plug it into the computer, a W7 PC, It boots into a 'comms' state with a USB symbol on the screen and it won't allow anything else to happen.

My questions then are:
  1. Should there be some sort of charging indication on the screen when an external power supply is connected via the USB cable?
  2. Is it possible to use the Montana when its connected to a PC or is it purely a 'slave'? My 60CSX allows me to use it when its connected to the PC, so I expected the Montana would too.
  3. What voltage should the LiIon battery pack have available at its various pins? The 2 outers measure 3.77 v and I get other voltages when measuring across other combinations, so I'm not sure what is right or wrong. The pack is rated at 3.7 v so I'm guessing that its the GPS itself that isn't connecting to the battery. All the connectors look OK as far as I can tell.
Thanks
Steve
__________________
shed time IS quality time
BergDonk's DR650 BergDonk's XT1200Z
BergDonk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 05:46 PM   #6386
Yossarian™
Deputy Cultural Attaché
 
Yossarian™'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: the 'Ha
Oddometer: 9,411
Quote:
Originally Posted by BergDonk View Post
Should there be some sort of charging indication on the screen when an external power supply is connected via the USB cable?
Yes, you should get a battery symbol on the screen if the Li-Ion pack is installed and charging.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BergDonk View Post
Is it possible to use the Montana when its connected to a PC or is it purely a 'slave'? My 60CSX allows me to use it when its connected to the PC, so I expected the Montana would too.
The Montana is different; when in USB storage mode, that's all it can do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BergDonk View Post
What voltage should the LiIon battery pack have available at its various pins?
I have no idea.

My guess is that you have a bad battery pack.
__________________
Successfully surviving motorcycling since 1976.
Yossarian™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 05:51 PM   #6387
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by BergDonk View Post
So I unpacked my new Montana 600 yesterday, thanks Santa, and have a had a bit of a play, and I seem to have one major problem that someone may be able to assist with.

It won't switch on with the supplied LiIon battery pack.

I installed the battery as per the instructions and plugged the GPS into the supplied mains charger. I did remove the packaging from the battery. Once the AC was on, it booted up, so I had a bit of a play and then switched it off to get the battery charged up for a few hours, a max of 4.5 hrs if flat according to the manual.

It won't turn on unless the mains charger is connected. It will however work OK with 3 AA Alkaline batteries fitted instead of the LiIon pack.

When I plug it into the computer, a W7 PC, It boots into a 'comms' state with a USB symbol on the screen and it won't allow anything else to happen.

My questions then are:
  1. Should there be some sort of charging indication on the screen when an external power supply is connected via the USB cable?
  2. Is it possible to use the Montana when its connected to a PC or is it purely a 'slave'? My 60CSX allows me to use it when its connected to the PC, so I expected the Montana would too.
  3. What voltage should the LiIon battery pack have available at its various pins? The 2 outers measure 3.77 v and I get other voltages when measuring across other combinations, so I'm not sure what is right or wrong. The pack is rated at 3.7 v so I'm guessing that its the GPS itself that isn't connecting to the battery. All the connectors look OK as far as I can tell.
Thanks
Steve
Tons of good information to answer all these questions available from the Montana wiki, including how to USE the Montana while connected to your computer!

Are you absolutely certain you are inserting the li-ion battery in the Montana correctly?
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 06:46 PM   #6388
BergDonk
Beastly Adventurer
 
BergDonk's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Snowy Mountains Oz
Oddometer: 2,994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yossarian™ View Post
Yes, you should get a battery symbol on the screen if the Li-Ion pack is installed and charging.



The Montana is different; when in USB storage mode, that's all it can do.



I have no idea.

My guess is that you have a bad battery pack.
Thanks. I was initally suspicious of the battery pack, but it could also be the unit itself not connecting to the pack. I expect it'll be a warranty replacement, just gotta wait for the vendor to come back on line.
__________________
shed time IS quality time
BergDonk's DR650 BergDonk's XT1200Z
BergDonk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 06:53 PM   #6389
BergDonk
Beastly Adventurer
 
BergDonk's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Snowy Mountains Oz
Oddometer: 2,994
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
Tons of good information to answer all these questions available from the Montana wiki, including how to USE the Montana while connected to your computer!

Are you absolutely certain you are inserting the li-ion battery in the Montana correctly?
Thanks for this. I have previously had a look at the Wiki, and I guess I should have mentioned that too. I guess I'm just thick, but I can't find the answers to the questions that I've asked, and that's why I thought I'd try the ever helpful ADV community.

As far as using the Montana when connected to the PC, the Wiki explains how to get it to remain in USB mode which seems to have been an issue for some, but not that it can be used normally when connected to a PC. I note that Yossarian states that it can't, which is consistent with the evidence I have.

As far as fitting the battery, I did it as per the manual. Lined up the connections, put that end in first and then press the other end down. Removal is the reverse, with the non pin end being the power switch end.

FWIW this is not my first GPS device, I've been using them since about 1987.

I have got it visible in BaseCamp, and updated the firmware OK. And I can see the maps in BaseCamp OK too. I've been able to upload a couple of routes, although not tracks for some reason, but I want to sort the battery out before I get too far into it.
__________________
shed time IS quality time
BergDonk's DR650 BergDonk's XT1200Z
BergDonk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 10:15 PM   #6390
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by BergDonk View Post
Thanks for this. I have previously had a look at the Wiki, and I guess I should have mentioned that too. I guess I'm just thick, but I can't find the answers to the questions that I've asked, and that's why I thought I'd try the ever helpful ADV community.
They certainly are a very friendly and helpful bunch!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BergDonk View Post
As far as using the Montana when connected to the PC, the Wiki explains how to get it to remain in USB mode which seems to have been an issue for some, but not that it can be used normally when connected to a PC. I note that Yossarian states that it can't, which is consistent with the evidence I have.
Setup -> System -> Interface -> Garmin Spanner

When you connect your Montana via USB, it will ask if you wish to enter Mass Storage Mode.

Select 'No'.

The Montana will finish booting as if it were not connected to the computer, and you can continue to use it as such. If you have nRoute installed, it will read location information in real time from your Montana.

Very last line of the Mass Storage page in the wiki.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BergDonk View Post
As far as fitting the battery, I did it as per the manual. Lined up the connections, put that end in first and then press the other end down. Removal is the reverse, with the non pin end being the power switch end.

FWIW this is not my first GPS device, I've been using them since about 1987.

I have got it visible in BaseCamp, and updated the firmware OK. And I can see the maps in BaseCamp OK too. I've been able to upload a couple of routes, although not tracks for some reason, but I want to sort the battery out before I get too far into it.
I agree, get the battery issue resolved ASAP, then move on.

If I can be of any further assistance, please let me know.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014