ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 231 votes, 4.88 average. Display Modes
Old 04-21-2013, 05:52 PM   #7606
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by EduardoMas View Post
Giveaway? I like to be on the receiving end of one of them!. If you can wait for the 2013RR I'll have a crisp C$20 for it... or... a Perez Cruz Cabernet Sauvignon delivered to the start...

I'll put the second on standby for the KTM300...
Interesting offer; I'll give it some thought. Is it June yet?
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 01:32 AM   #7607
EduardoMas
Spartan Overlander
 
EduardoMas's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Of No Fixed Address
Oddometer: 399
Question Routing Setup

Esteemed Montanologists,

When navigating a route trough mostly open field trails with some (mapped) roads, I don’t want any messaging or prompts of any type. I just want to “follow the magenta line” the organizers set up for the ride. Think of it as a Non physically Arrowed enduro ROUTE (not a GPS track).

Please excuse the Montana noob question:

How do I set up the Routing options?

Setup > Routing
Activity: Motorcycling (any really, as the choices below dictate what goes on… right??)
Calculation Method: PROMPTED? (I don’t want to be prompted, but the other choices seem bad)
Lock On Road: NO
Avoidance setup: CHOOSE ALL, or NONE?
Off Roure Recalculation: OFF.

Thanks in advance, I need to hit the trails w/o much GPS prep time and have to get it right.

Cheers!
__________________
Eduardo
XR650R
KTM300


Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.
EduardoMas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 02:13 AM   #7608
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by EduardoMas View Post
Esteemed Montanologists,

When navigating a route trough mostly open field trails with some (mapped) roads, I don’t want any messaging or prompts of any type. I just want to “follow the magenta line” the organizers set up for the ride. Think of it as a Non physically Arrowed enduro ROUTE (not a GPS track).

Please excuse the Montana noob question:

How do I set up the Routing options?

Setup > Routing
Activity: Motorcycling (any really, as the choices below dictate what goes on… right??)
Calculation Method: PROMPTED? (I don’t want to be prompted, but the other choices seem bad)
Lock On Road: NO
Avoidance setup: CHOOSE ALL, or NONE?
Off Roure Recalculation: OFF.

Thanks in advance, I need to hit the trails w/o much GPS prep time and have to get it right.

Cheers!
Route Calculation will not matter if you are following a track, otherwise I choose shortest distance.

Avoidance's will not matter if you are following a track, otherwise select any avoidance's you desire. If you are following a pre-made route, these shouldn't matter.

To get rid of the on screen prompts: [Setup > Map > Guidance Text > Never]
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 02:13 PM   #7609
EduardoMas
Spartan Overlander
 
EduardoMas's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Of No Fixed Address
Oddometer: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
Route Calculation will not matter if you are following a track, otherwise I choose shortest distance.

Avoidance's will not matter if you are following a track, otherwise select any avoidance's you desire. If you are following a pre-made route, these shouldn't matter.

To get rid of the on screen prompts: [Setup > Map > Guidance Text > Never]
Thanks Atlas,

I am following a GPS ROUTE, not a GPS track. ,


Cheers!
__________________
Eduardo
XR650R
KTM300


Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.
EduardoMas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 02:22 PM   #7610
iustin
n00b
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Oddometer: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by EduardoMas View Post
Thanks Atlas,

I am following a GPS ROUTE, not a GPS track. ,


Cheers!
If you just want to follow a fixed line, then I think as well that a track would be much better (unless I misunderstand your issue)…

regards,
iustin
iustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 03:28 PM   #7611
EduardoMas
Spartan Overlander
 
EduardoMas's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Of No Fixed Address
Oddometer: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by iustin View Post
If you just want to follow a fixed line, then I think as well that a track would be much better (unless I misunderstand your issue)…

regards,
iustin
Hi iustin,

We agree, GPS tracks are better and easier. If there was a choice I rather follow a track.

In these events I get ROUTES loaded (no other choice) on the GPS and I take off. No time for file manipulation on a laptop, etc. It was easy on my 76CS as I did not have any maps even loaded.

When navigating a GPS ROUTE through mostly open field trails crossing some (mapped) roads, I don’t want any messaging or prompts of any type (like redirecting, recalculating, hey look just take a road! ! etc). I just want to “follow the magenta ROUTE line” the organizers set up for the ride. Think of it as a Non physically Arrowed enduro ROUTE (not a GPS track).

I have ridden with savvy techies that just followed the wrong route the smarter-than-my-76CS showed them. Now that my 76 is gone, I too have one of the smart ones .

Please excuse the Montana noob question:

How do I set up the ROUTING options to avoid any and all prompting while navigating a GPS ROUTE?

Setup > Routing
Activity: Motorcycling (any really, as the choices below dictate what goes on… right??)
Calculation Method: PROMPTED? (I don’t want to be prompted, but the other choices seem bad)
Lock On Road: NO
Avoidance setup: CHOOSE ALL, or NONE?
Off Roure Recalculation: OFF.

Thanks in advance, I need to hit the trails w/o much GPS prep time and have to get it right.
__________________
Eduardo
XR650R
KTM300


Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.
EduardoMas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 06:31 PM   #7612
EduardoMas
Spartan Overlander
 
EduardoMas's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Of No Fixed Address
Oddometer: 399
Simplest Offroad Route Navigation

So, I created a profile for “Offroad routes”

The idea is to have BARE BONES navigation of ROUTES with minimal information displayed.

I'll use this profile for events like the RALLY CONNEX DACRE, http://www.rallyconnex.com/ and many of the local rides with the ODSC http://www.odsc.on.ca

Map Settings:
Orientation: Track Up
Dashboard: Small data fields (Speed-Distance to next-Pointer-Trip odometer)
Map speed: Fast
Guidance text: Never
Map Points: None
Street Label: Medium… just because
User Waypoints: Medium
Land Cover: Small
Detail: Less
Auto Zoom: On
Zoom Levels: All is Auto (I don’t know enough to change them w/o using them first)

Routing: Motorcycle driving (but will change to a simple arrow when I find how)
Lock On Road: No
Off route recalculation: Off
Calculation Method: Prompted… but it does not matter.
Avoidance setup: All avoided (but like Atlas said it should not matter)

Tracks:
Track Log: Show on map.
Color: Green (actually any Non Magenta is good)
Distance: 50meters... Good enough to nav. back if way off route.

Shortcuts:
Track Log On
Track Log Off
Stop Navigation.
## I would like to find a way to have a “Next Route” short cut: You know, you reach the end of one route, press “Next Route” the choices come up, choose , navigate. Don’t know how to do that yet. The less presses the better. All is done with the left hand while still riding and looking part time.


I have not even ridden with the Montana so this is all just theory


If in trouble and need to street it, I’ll go to automotive profile to nav to the end , go to POIs… or recreation to see how much daylight I have left
If exploring, bushwacking, I’ll go full detail on the Topo maps.

Anyways, this is just a start, I’ll know how practical this is by mid Summer.

Thanks to all who sent me good tips on how to set up the Montana. If any inmate has tips for minimal and useful setups please share.
__________________
Eduardo
XR650R
KTM300


Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.
EduardoMas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 07:35 PM   #7613
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by EduardoMas View Post
Zoom Levels: All is Auto (I don’t know enough to change them w/o using them first)
You may find this information on the subject informative. Should be applicable to the Montana.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 11:06 AM   #7614
USAIR
picking and riding
 
USAIR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Northern Kentucky
Oddometer: 1,397
Low disk space

This is more a Basecamp issue then Montana.

Just pickup my Montana went to load maps on it and the "low c drive space" error came up and would not let me load any maps.
This error comes up only using MapInstall.

This has been a issue for me for a while.
I have a solid state drive for "C" has just windows 7 on it but with windows updates the drive space keeps getting smaller and smaller.
Only operating system is on the ssd.

I have a new 120g ssd on the way twice as big as I have now that should take care of it.

I did get maps onto my Montana by moving a folder called "ProgramData"
Went to move the folder back and other issues came up with doing that.

What a pain in the ass...

Just thought I would post in case someone has a similar problem.

Fred
__________________
2013 WR250R 2007 Wee
www.riverbendphotos.com
YouTube feed
Wallpaper for Montana GPSr
Beware of the Wallnut
USAIR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 11:21 AM   #7615
lmychajluk
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Meadowlands, NJ (just east of the USA)
Oddometer: 1,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by USAIR View Post
...I have a new 120g ssd on the way twice as big as I have now that should take care of it.
...
Fred
60GB should be plenty for just the OS and some map files. Unless you find what's filling up your drive, that's only going to prolong the time until you see the problem. A few things to try:

1) Right-click the drive icon in Explorer and select Properties. Run the Disk Cleanup. Don't bother compressing anything, but it's usually safe to go ahead and check off all the options for delete.

2) When done, click the "More Options" tab in that dialog box and Clean Up the System Restore Points (as long as you're happy with how your PC is currently running and won't need to do a system restore).

3) Manually delete anyting in C:\temp and C:\Windows\temp, especially older files. You may be denied access to any in-use files, but just ignore them (or just select files that haven't been modified 'today').

4) Check your '\Downloads' folder under your User Name. You may have copies of downloaded files here. Delete any you don't need (i.e., old versions of downloaded map files, etc...).
__________________
-Lee
2013 Triumph Tiger 800
2008 Suzuki SV650n (Sold... I miss that bike...)
lmychajluk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 12:27 PM   #7616
USAIR
picking and riding
 
USAIR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Northern Kentucky
Oddometer: 1,397
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmychajluk View Post
60GB should be plenty for just the OS and some map files. Unless you find what's filling up your drive, that's only going to prolong the time until you see the problem. A few things to try:

1) Right-click the drive icon in Explorer and select Properties. Run the Disk Cleanup. Don't bother compressing anything, but it's usually safe to go ahead and check off all the options for delete.

2) When done, click the "More Options" tab in that dialog box and Clean Up the System Restore Points (as long as you're happy with how your PC is currently running and won't need to do a system restore).

3) Manually delete anyting in C:\temp and C:\Windows\temp, especially older files. You may be denied access to any in-use files, but just ignore them (or just select files that haven't been modified 'today').

4) Check your '\Downloads' folder under your User Name. You may have copies of downloaded files here. Delete any you don't need (i.e., old versions of downloaded map files, etc...).

I have done all of the above so many times I can't count.
I keep my drive as clean as I can.
Just keep losing space on my "c" drive.

I must be missing something here.

Thanks for the try.

Fred
__________________
2013 WR250R 2007 Wee
www.riverbendphotos.com
YouTube feed
Wallpaper for Montana GPSr
Beware of the Wallnut
USAIR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 02:59 PM   #7617
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmychajluk View Post
60GB should be plenty for just the OS and some map files...).
No kidding. My work computers were always 40 gig drives and I eventually ran out of space but it was adequate for a couple of years.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 04:38 PM   #7618
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by USAIR View Post
This is more a Basecamp issue then Montana.

I have a solid state drive for "C" has just windows 7 on it but with windows updates the drive space keeps getting smaller and smaller.
Only operating system is on the ssd.

Fred
It may have something to do with the write leveling algorithm on the SSD.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 05:10 PM   #7619
SteveAZ
Beastly Adventurer
 
SteveAZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: AZ
Oddometer: 1,163
Might just be applications taking up space, particularly with their data. Some insist on the system drive to put a lot of data. These days eating up 60GB on a system [only] drive is pretty easy, particularly if there are a lot of applications.....
SteveAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 06:43 PM   #7620
USAIR
picking and riding
 
USAIR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Northern Kentucky
Oddometer: 1,397
I use my system for Lightroom and Photoshop.

24g ram i7cpu 960 @ 3.20 ghz 64 bit
2 ssd
One for operating system and one for Lightroom and Photoshop.
And other standard hard drives for storage.

Really worked very nice till my "C" drive started filling up.
I think I will be back in business with the new drive and by the time this drive fills up it will be time for a new PC.

I think.

Fred
__________________
2013 WR250R 2007 Wee
www.riverbendphotos.com
YouTube feed
Wallpaper for Montana GPSr
Beware of the Wallnut
USAIR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014