ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 246 votes, 4.89 average. Display Modes
Old 05-08-2013, 07:59 AM   #7726
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,311
BMW Motorrad finally releases the Navigator Adventure GPS: aka the Montana 600.

The BMW unit comes with Lifetime Maps and the AMPS Rugged Mount with RAM Mount. I'm guessing that it also has a BMW Dealers POI database - which most likely can't be accessed by the user if they keep to previous Navigator implementations.

Interesting, if you're a BMW rider, per BMW's press release:
"It can be used as an alternative to the Navigator IV on all BMW motorcycles except the new R 1200 GS, the K 1600 GT and the K 1600 GTL."
If I were BMW Marketing, I might have worded that a bit different. I think what they meant to say was that the Navigator Adventure does not interface with the bikes Trip Computer in the same way as the Navigator IV does on those bikes.

Anyway, maybe us poor stepchildren will get Lifetime Maps included with the next firmware update...
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 09:00 AM   #7727
Spinalcracker
former redriderofma
 
Spinalcracker's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Western MA
Oddometer: 1,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Did you transfer the Route to the Montana internal storage or the µSD Card?
I did the transfer from Basecamp so wherever that sends it too. Is there a difference?
__________________
Unless we change direction, we are likely to end up where we are headed.
It's county Fair time in New England
TET MA to NC
Vermont Covered Bridges
Spinalcracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 09:29 AM   #7728
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spinalcracker View Post
I did the transfer from Basecamp so wherever that sends it too. Is there a difference?
Yes, if the Route is sent to the Garmin internal storage, the route should remain as-was in BaseCamp (not recalculated). If it was sent to the µSD Card it was recalculated.

It would be interesting to look at where the changes are in the Route compared to the Track since you have them both on the Montana and try to figure out why it was recalculated if it actually was transferred to internal storage.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 01:37 PM   #7729
iustin
n00b
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Oddometer: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Yes, if the Route is sent to the Garmin internal storage, the route should remain as-was in BaseCamp (not recalculated). If it was sent to the µSD Card it was recalculated.
Wow, really? Thank you so much, this is really useful information. It would also explain some of the behaviours I've seen and couldn't explain, even after reading may wikis and threads…

If you have a link explaining this kind of differences in more detail I'd be (even more) grateful.

thanks,
iustin
iustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 02:36 PM   #7730
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by iustin View Post
Wow, really? Thank you so much, this is really useful information. It would also explain some of the behaviours I've seen and couldn't explain, even after reading may wikis and threads…

If you have a link explaining this kind of differences in more detail I'd be (even more) grateful.

thanks,
iustin
There are a several good sources to keep up with:
  1. Emmbeedee's Wisdom Thread for the Montana
  2. altas cache's Wiki for the Montana (see below screen shot)
  3. Here of course...
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 04:49 PM   #7731
snooker
AttitudeIsEverything
 
snooker's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Loveland, Colorado
Oddometer: 1,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Yes, if the Route is sent to the Garmin internal storage, the route should remain as-was in BaseCamp (not recalculated). If it was sent to the µSD Card it was recalculated.

It would be interesting to look at where the changes are in the Route compared to the Track since you have them both on the Montana and try to figure out why it was recalculated if it actually was transferred to internal storage.
Really! We need to capture this in the Routing thread as well then.
__________________
Baja 2012 Ride Report ~~~ My 07 BMW G650 XCountry Thread | 03 Honda Shadow ACE 750 | 99 Honda XR400 ~~~

FindMeSpot ~~~ Spotwalla Baja Trip ~~~ Neduro Did Dakar!
snooker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 08:33 PM   #7732
Aanarchy
Beastly Adventurer
 
Aanarchy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Limbo
Oddometer: 1,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowpoke View Post
Montana Fail. Went to use it for the first time going to baja. After about 30 minutes of working fine, the screen goes crazy. Side ways, upside down, right side up, then it shuts off. Happend every hour andore frequent as the days went by.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Sounds like two common issues: you need to lock the screen orientation through Setup/Display/Orientation, and you need an earplug in the battery case to stop the shutdowns.
I figured this out on the trail, and locked the orientation. Still had crazy, momentary "blurps" where the screen turened 90 degrees, then flipped back.
__________________
Maybe it was Utah. - H.I. McDunnough
Aanarchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 08:41 PM   #7733
Aanarchy
Beastly Adventurer
 
Aanarchy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Limbo
Oddometer: 1,055
Street Name display?

I have North American City Nav on my MT, got into a smallish town outside Dallas, couldn't get local street names to display. Do I have a "Settings" fail, or is it a limitation of City Nav?

Or have I failed to properly activate City Nav on the unit? The lines for the streets appeared, just no names.
__________________
Maybe it was Utah. - H.I. McDunnough
Aanarchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 10:18 PM   #7734
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aanarchy View Post
I have North American City Nav on my MT, got into a smallish town outside Dallas, couldn't get local street names to display. Do I have a "Settings" fail, or is it a limitation of City Nav?

Or have I failed to properly activate City Nav on the unit? The lines for the streets appeared, just no names.
You mus be running a very recent firmware on your Montana.

Garmin has tweaked the firmware recently in favor of map drawing performance at the cost of some map detail, including street names.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 04:47 AM   #7735
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
Garmin has tweaked the firmware recently in favor of map drawing performance at the cost of some map detail, including street names.

__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 06:16 AM   #7736
beck49
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Western New York
Oddometer: 95
Got a 600 recently after months of following this thread. This is such a great resource. But for some of us more tech challenged, it can raise as many questions as it answers. Here's one I'm still wrestling with. The 600 came with 4.6 and works fine so far. Should I just stay with 4.6, or upgrade to 4.9? Thanks.
beck49 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 07:08 AM   #7737
Rocky TFS
Studly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by beck49 View Post
The 600 came with 4.6 and works fine so far. Should I just stay with 4.6, or upgrade to 4.9? Thanks.
I'm sticking with 4.7 for the reasons posted above. Garmin has an unfortunate track record of breaking more than they fix with firmware upgrades, so when I get a good one, I keep it until the community here thoroughly vets the newer one. I'm sick of being a Beta tester for Garmin.

You can get earlier versions, (I forget the link, but someone here will have it) and I usually keep the *.exe file on my computer so I can revert to a known good version. I've had no problems with 4.7.
__________________
2010 Yamaha TW200
2014 BMW R1200 GS WC
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 07:11 AM   #7738
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 681
Try out 4.9 and see how it works for you. I had some initial issues but after a master reset everything has worked just fine for a few thousand miles.

You can always rollback to 4.6. I've done it a few times since 4.6 is the last rock solid stable release for me. Although 4.9 is treating me well at this point.
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 07:54 AM   #7739
Chip Stevens
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Yucaipa, Ca
Oddometer: 113
Mac vs PC

I just purchased a Montana 650t. I have worked with mapsource in the past with a older serial port Garmins. Now I have to learn Basecamp which is new to me. I have a Mac with Mountain Lion and Windows 7 on it. Is there substantial advantages of one system over the other? I have read this forum up to page 374. I get the feeling with Windows I can do more but Apple might be easier to use. Which system would be best to start with. chip
Chip Stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 12:45 PM   #7740
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chip Stevens View Post
I just purchased a Montana 650t. I have worked with mapsource in the past with a older serial port Garmins. Now I have to learn Basecamp which is new to me. I have a Mac with Mountain Lion and Windows 7 on it. Is there substantial advantages of one system over the other? I have read this forum up to page 374. I get the feeling with Windows I can do more but Apple might be easier to use. Which system would be best to start with. chip
You should plan to spend some time with BaseCamp. It is not a follow-on to MapSource so don't go into it thinking it should just work the same way. The workflow is much more intuitive once you've learned the basics of the application. There are big changes coming to BC on both OS's in v4.2. Oh, and I personally prefer the Mac version of BC over Windows.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014