ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 169 votes, 4.84 average. Display Modes
Old 05-06-2013, 09:58 PM   #7726
sintax
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: So.Cal
Oddometer: 495
I've been having some issues getting the WEST 24k topo maps onto my Montana. I was able to install the south east, south central, south west, but the West is giving me issues.

It appears to install, it says it completed successfully, shows up on the card, basecamp says its there, but when i go into the map setup on the device, every map is there EXCEPT the West. SE,SC,SW, and the base map. You can enable and disable all of them, but the West is no where to be found.

I've deleted the West off the card 2 times and readded it without issues from Basecamp.

Basecamp sees the maps correctly in its system as well, you can view the full topo maps just like the other areas.

I'm kind of out of ideas.

Anyone have any?
sintax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 10:17 PM   #7727
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by sintax View Post
I've been having some issues getting the WEST 24k topo maps onto my Montana. I was able to install the south east, south central, south west, but the West is giving me issues.

It appears to install, it says it completed successfully, shows up on the card, basecamp says its there, but when i go into the map setup on the device, every map is there EXCEPT the West. SE,SC,SW, and the base map. You can enable and disable all of them, but the West is no where to be found.

I've deleted the West off the card 2 times and readded it without issues from Basecamp.

Basecamp sees the maps correctly in its system as well, you can view the full topo maps just like the other areas.

I'm kind of out of ideas.

Anyone have any?
You can experiment without having to wait to delete and add maps back. Simply change the extension from *.img to something like *.zip and they will be ignored, just as if you had removed them. Simply replace the *.img extension to re-enable them after testing is complete.


I suspect you may have exceeded the 4000 map segment limit with all those maps installed.

Try changing the extension of one or two of the other maps, and see if the West map is now available.
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 10:24 PM   #7728
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCflyer View Post
In a time crunch, have the TAT tracks from SAM but just noticed one of the Oklahoma and Colorado sections are viewable. I go to the track and no matter what I select...view, delete whatever it's like it's stuck. I can download easy enough and says it's successful but can't view...or delete.

Suggestions? Thanks
You most likely have some bad data. Try removing all of the tracks on the unit using Windows Explorer or Finder (Win/Mac). Then open BaseCamp and view the tracks there (I assume you have Imported Sam's GDB file into BaseCamp?). If they show on the map in BaseCamp, Export each of the offending tracks separately to a GPX file and just drag/drop that GPX file to the Montana\Garmin\GPX folder.

Then give it a try on the Montana.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 05:11 AM   #7729
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
You most likely have some bad data. Try removing all of the tracks on the unit using Windows Explorer or Finder (Win/Mac). Then open BaseCamp and view the tracks there (I assume you have Imported Sam's GDB file into BaseCamp?). If they show on the map in BaseCamp, Export each of the offending tracks separately to a GPX file and just drag/drop that GPX file to the Montana\Garmin\GPX folder.

Then give it a try on the Montana.
How are files identified as tracks (or routes, for that matter) when viewed through Windows Explorer?
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 05:31 AM   #7730
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
How are files identified as tracks (or routes, for that matter) when viewed through Windows Explorer?
They are just .gpx files. I find the best way to check them for corruption is to run JaVaWa and it might report this kind of thing:

__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 07:34 AM   #7731
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
How are files identified as tracks (or routes, for that matter) when viewed through Windows Explorer?
If they were transfered by BaseCamp each track would be named Track.gpx, track1.gpx, track2.gpx, etc. Same for Routes.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 07:37 AM   #7732
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,898
Thanks, Dan.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 09:01 AM   #7733
sintax
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: So.Cal
Oddometer: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
You can experiment without having to wait to delete and add maps back. Simply change the extension from *.img to something like *.zip and they will be ignored, just as if you had removed them. Simply replace the *.img extension to re-enable them after testing is complete.


I suspect you may have exceeded the 4000 map segment limit with all those maps installed.

Try changing the extension of one or two of the other maps, and see if the West map is now available.

You fixed it man!

You rock


I'll adjust my maps to not deploy all the segments per map
sintax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 03:42 PM   #7734
Spinalcracker
former redriderofma
 
Spinalcracker's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Western MA
Oddometer: 1,078
I made a route in Basecamp on a Mac and I kept the waypoints under 50. The route in base camp is 263 miles. I also converted it to a track.

I then sent it to the Montana and when I select the route it is now 272 miles. The tracks milage still matches the route I made in the computer.

Any idea on how to keep the milage the same ?

Both the computer and Montana have the same version of CNNA 2013.1
__________________
Unless we change direction, we are likely to end up where we are headed.
It's county Fair time in New England
TET MA to NC
Vermont Covered Bridges
Spinalcracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 04:35 PM   #7735
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spinalcracker View Post
I made a route in Basecamp on a Mac and I kept the waypoints under 50. The route in base camp is 263 miles. I also converted it to a track.

I then sent it to the Montana and when I select the route it is now 272 miles. The tracks milage still matches the route I made in the computer.

Any idea on how to keep the milage the same ?

Both the computer and Montana have the same version of CNNA 2013.1
Did you transfer the Route to the Montana internal storage or the µSD Card?
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 05:35 PM   #7736
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Did you transfer the Route to the Montana internal storage or the µSD Card?
Is it farther from the uSD card?
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 07:48 PM   #7737
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Is it farther from the uSD card?
. . . uh...yes.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 08:30 PM   #7738
KTMInduro
Off Road Montster
 
KTMInduro's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Bali, Indonesia
Oddometer: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Not on the Montana but you can in BaseCamp.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlh62c View Post
In BC you can set the proximity radius in feet or miles, a red circle will appear around the waypoint. Keep in mind, you will be prompted twice, once when you enter the radius point and again when you ride out of it.
Thanks guys !
KTMInduro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 01:47 AM   #7739
dlh62c
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 1,600
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
If they were transfered by BaseCamp each track would be named Track.gpx, track1.gpx, track2.gpx, etc. Same for Routes.
Using BC, I perfer to 'Export' my routes, tracks and waypoints to the gps. When a list is exported, it takes on the list name with a .gpx file extension. The routes, tracks and waypoints are all in a single file with a descriptive name when viewed through Windows Explorer.
dlh62c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 05:40 AM   #7740
MizzouRider
Beastly Adventurer
 
MizzouRider's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Fly over zone
Oddometer: 1,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Take lots of pictures. I like the sound of the 'plastic press on thumb cap' idea.
+1. I'd like to see this too..
__________________
IBA#32778 2008 R1200GSA 2007 G650XChallenge
No man is as good as he ought to be, and few men are as bad as they seem.. (from a early 1900s post card found in Perry, Missouri..)
MizzouRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014