ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 67 votes, 4.60 average. Display Modes
Old 05-22-2013, 05:42 AM   #7936
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
Problem is, if the Tempe is exposed to the sun, you're temp readings will be hella off.
It's a crapshoot anyway. It's not like I'm taking scientific readings. Where is the best place for it, anyway? In a tank bag? In a pocket getting warm from body heat? In a fairing, getting warm from the bike? There is no easy answer, but at least this means I have it with me.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 06:12 AM   #7937
Yossarian™
Deputy Cultural Attaché
 
Yossarian™'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: the 'Ha
Oddometer: 8,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
It's a crapshoot anyway. It's not like I'm taking scientific readings. Where is the best place for it, anyway? In a tank bag? In a pocket getting warm from body heat? In a fairing, getting warm from the bike? There is no easy answer, but at least this means I have it with me.
When moving, at least the forward part of the fairing should be getting clean, ambient temperature air. I'd certainly place the unit out of the sun and ahead of any engine, radiator, or oil cooler.
__________________
Successfully surviving motorcycling since 1976.
Yossarian™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 07:10 AM   #7938
Rocky TFS
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Rocky TFS's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Hailey, Idaho
Oddometer: 466
!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
I think we have a winner. I bought "The Classic Case - Camera / Hard Drive / GPS Case" by HandStands on Amazon.
That's what I got too. It's perfect.

Re: Emmbeedee's caution, I just haven't ever put anything in the pockets...
__________________
2010 Yamaha TW200
2011 BMW F650GS Twin (traded)
2014 BMW R1200 GS WC
Rocky TFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 07:47 AM   #7939
FatChance
Road Captain
 
FatChance's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Durango, Colorado, USA
Oddometer: 9,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpet View Post
My source data is Tracks. I plan to navigate using those, so as not to be led astray by the GPS's routing calculations. I believe I've read a few times in this thread and others, that following a Track is the safest way to stay 100% true to the intended path.
A track consists of multiple points and each point is connected by a straight line. It does not necessarily follow the intended path 100%. It is only as good as the points that are in it, the spacing and the accuracy of the device locating those points on the trail when you are using the track. If the points are too far apart (or were not placed properly if the track was made in Basecamp or Mapsource), it is easy to imagine that the track will not exactly follow the intended path on the ground. I think when you understand what a track is, how they were made and to some extent, the gps's accuracty, you will see that it can be very useful navigation tool. However, it is not necessarily 100% true to the intended path, but is instead a good approximation. A route, on the other hand, does more exactly follow the intended path if the routing data in the map is properly produced.

Edit: However, tracks are more accurately transportable between different GPS units because they are not calculated. Since a track is just a consecutive list of points, each GPS unit should see the same set of points with a straight line from one point to the next and they will all be equally as accurate or inaccurate on each unit.

Quote:
Is it correct that the Montana won't do Turn-By-Turn directions when following a Track? (So, in effect, there is no "routing" when applied to a Track downloaded onto the Montana.)
Only routes do turn-by-turn directions. Tracks do not.
__________________
Pain in the Butte Ranch
Durango, Colorado

- Calculated risk or forbidden fruit?

FatChance screwed with this post 05-22-2013 at 08:29 AM
FatChance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 08:00 AM   #7940
FatChance
Road Captain
 
FatChance's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Durango, Colorado, USA
Oddometer: 9,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adventure Addict View Post
When navigating a track, what is the Montana basing the "distance to next" information on? Usually the distance just clicks off to zero, then it throws up another seemingly arbitrary "distance to next"

I can see no obvious pattern to what it is choosing... The tracks being navigated are continuous tracks that I had logged in the GPS on previous rides without making any stops, so where it is getting these "next" points??
A track consists of multiple points (lat/long) with an "imaginary" straight line connecting each consecutive point. It is not "continuous" like a route but is instead made up of discreet points separated by a distance determined by the rate at which the points are captured by the device and the speed at which you are moving when the track is created.
__________________
Pain in the Butte Ranch
Durango, Colorado

- Calculated risk or forbidden fruit?
FatChance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 08:17 AM   #7941
MizzouRider
Beastly Adventurer
 
MizzouRider's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Fly over zone
Oddometer: 1,660
I should have noted it at the time, and now I can't find it.
On my Alaska trip I have tracks of the whole trip going up in purple/pink, coming back in the bright green.
Then I'm going to run the routes (daily) over them.
What are the best colors to run, so I can see both clearly? (Routes and tracks)
Sorry for my poor searching abilities.
Jeff
__________________
IBA#32778 2008 R1200GSA 2007 G650XChallenge
No man is as good as he ought to be, and few men are as bad as they seem.. (from a early 1900s post card found in Perry, Missouri..)
MizzouRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 08:21 AM   #7942
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by MizzouRider View Post
I should have noted it at the time, and now I can't find it.
On my Alaska trip I have tracks of the whole trip going up in purple/pink, coming back in the bright green.
Then I'm going to run the routes (daily) over them.
What are the best colors to run, so I can see both clearly? (Routes and tracks)
Sorry for my poor searching abilities.
Jeff
Routes are always displayed in Magenta, and can not be changed.

Routes will always display over tracks below, effectively hiding all portions of a track along the route. This makes it easy to see where the route is not following the track, however.

Track color can be changed, and I suggest using a color not common on the map you will be using, not too dark, not too bright, and not Magenta :)
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 09:07 AM   #7943
trampaslake
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Texas
Oddometer: 241
Is it possible to have more than four icons on the main menu?
trampaslake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 09:12 AM   #7944
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post

Routes will always display over tracks below, effectively hiding all portions of a track along the route. This makes it easy to see where the route is not following the track, however.

Nope. Change your track to black and when the magenta route is on top of it you will see the thinner black track inside the magenta route line.
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 09:15 AM   #7945
MizzouRider
Beastly Adventurer
 
MizzouRider's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Fly over zone
Oddometer: 1,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlas cached View Post
Routes are always displayed in Magenta, and can not be changed.

Routes will always display over tracks below, effectively hiding all portions of a track along the route. This makes it easy to see where the route is not following the track, however.

Track color can be changed, and I suggest using a color not common on the map you will be using, not too dark, not too bright, and not Magenta :)
Thanks. Maybe the bright green? That should show up against Magenta.
My plan is to follow the track (if/when) when they differ. Then elect not to recalculate the route when prompted.
Hopefully I'll still end up where I've planned each night.
Thanks again
__________________
IBA#32778 2008 R1200GSA 2007 G650XChallenge
No man is as good as he ought to be, and few men are as bad as they seem.. (from a early 1900s post card found in Perry, Missouri..)
MizzouRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 09:18 AM   #7946
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 660


Note the black TRACK is visible on the magenta ROUTE. It's easy to see where they deviate.
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 09:20 AM   #7947
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by trampaslake View Post
Is it possible to have more than four icons on the main menu?

Yes. Under the Setup -> Main Menu then just hit the + to add more icons.


http://garminmontanagpsr.wikispaces.com/Setup
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 09:22 AM   #7948
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by trampaslake View Post
Is it possible to have more than four icons on the main menu?
Of course - go to Setup/Main Menu and click the +. And if you want multiple menus click the right arrow at the bottom of the screen and create more screens for the Main Menu.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 09:43 AM   #7949
MizzouRider
Beastly Adventurer
 
MizzouRider's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Fly over zone
Oddometer: 1,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit View Post
Nope. Change your track to black and when the magenta route is on top of it you will see the thinner black track inside the magenta route line.
Ok.. Sounds even better.
Thanks
__________________
IBA#32778 2008 R1200GSA 2007 G650XChallenge
No man is as good as he ought to be, and few men are as bad as they seem.. (from a early 1900s post card found in Perry, Missouri..)
MizzouRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 11:06 AM   #7950
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by trampaslake View Post
Is it possible to have more than four icons on the main menu?

Read Up! Lots of reading to do!
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014